We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COUPLES WORST NIGHTMARE”
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #41 of 52 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“COUPLES WORST NIGHTMARE”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Trouble getting into the car park had to go and ask a woman at the bar to let me in which she wasnt best pleased about, arrived on car park to find bar packed with football fans which was no problem considering a match day, however after taking our stuff to the room in the very noisy lift we returned for a pint of beer which seemed like it had been scraped off the floor and put in my glass. I then decided to go for a cigarette to my amazement two young teenage boys taking what looked like cocaine on the car park they then were spitting all over the floor and talking about fighting fellow football teams. The room itself was cold, lacked a remote control, and the "power shower" was a lot to be desired. On return from our outing with a takeaway we were greeted by drunk old men asking if they could share my takeaway with us. Breakfast was the only perk to our stay. Wont be going again!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danny t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    24
    20
    52
See reviews for
17
34
10
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night in early December. The first thing to mention is that it is really just a pub with rooms above for guests. The second thing to mention is that it is a stone's throw from Birmingham City football ground; not a problem in itself, although on match days (as was the case on our stay) the pub gets absolutely packed both before and after the game. In fact, the bar was so crowded on our arrival that we had to sit in our car to wait until kick off for the pub car park to empty of drinkers, so that we could park up and check in.

Rooms: very poor. A long list of things that were at fault including only 1 bedside light working, no plug in the sink, shower door hanging off, no tea bags, no information pack for guests, including no fire escape directions (which may contravene fire regulations). There appears to be no heating available late at night; we came back late from a night out and felt a little chilly so I turned the radiator on. Absolutely nothing - so we remained cold. The following morning, there was no hot water in the shower, so had to have a freezing cold shower. The lighting in the room was extremely poor, to such an extent that at night I struggled to apply my make up. There is no electric point near to any mirror, which makes drying your hair complete guesswork! The hotel website advertises "wide screen TVs" - these were standard 19" TVs. They also advertise "retro teasmade" - if that means a bog standard kettle, two cups, one teaspoon and no tea bags, then I guess I must have misunderstood the definition of "retro". They also mention "broadband access". At no point were we made aware of this and consequently were unable to log on to any sort of wifi during our stay. The "wall mounted power shower" kept falling off the wall. Lastly, we discovered that the lock on our room was not working. We only found this out when we pushed the door on exiting to find that it opened at the touch of one finger. Admittedly, someone did come to fix it, but it was just something else on a long list of things which left a bad taste in the mouth.

The hotel advertises a private car park for guests. While there is a car park, it is locked at night so if you go out for the evening and come back late, don't expect to be able to access the car park - we had to park on the road, which I wasn't particularly happy about, bearing in mind that this hotel is in one of the less salubrious parts of the city.

Lastly, beware of staying on match days. After checking in, we thought we would go and have a drink at the bar. It was very busy with people having left the football (not a problem in itself), but due to the fact that, to our astonishment, there was no security whatsoever, a fight broke out in the main bar. This could have got quite nasty since all drinks were being sold in proper glasses, not, as in our experience, in plastic, which is the case at all pubs near football grounds that we have ever visited.

In all, it appeared that the people running this establishment either don't have a clue about what people expect for £55 a night (with NO breakfast), or don't care. Definitely give a wide berth, especially if you are a family or looking for a decent room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the bar as possible, or the music from the speakers will disturb you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadgirluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I came here for the weekend but stayed 6 days ...it was brilliant ,fun friendly helpful bar staff made it a pleasure to stay good food and beer and the customers were great and izzy must be seen very helpful girl thanks for the stay you lot x

Room Tip: all rooms clean and guests are quiet goodnights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
89 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

me and my girlfriend stayed here for a night in birmingham in october. the hotel has a car park and is about 300 yards from the football ground (you can pretty much see the pitch from the window) the room was lovely and modern and staff very nice. it was a 5 minute taxi drive into town. excellent hotel but can imagine being very busy on match day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I read the reviews on here after I booked the hotel. I was therefore pleasently suprrised on arrival. We were booked in and made very welcome. The room itself was very spacious. It was very clean to the point that we felt we were the first people to stay in there. The hotel does have a car park, although this is probably limited to 6 cars. We stayed on a room only basis for £40.00 for two people for one night. I would definately come back again.

Room Tip: The hotel is next to St Andrews football park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Punkpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Arrived 2.45 Match day. Shock! But once footballers left and saw room it was ok. It's right next to city ground so avoid on match days maybe. Comfy bed and good breakfast. Although the loo did make funny noises! Very basic but served its purpose for one night. 10 mins from bull ring.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missj69_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

As all the other reviews have said Reception is at the side of a sports bar. However the rooms were clean, modern, staff were friendly (if a little over worked). Breakfast was nice and filling and the price was ok. Bed was comfortable, shower hot. Just what was needed for night.

Car park closes at 9pm which was a bit pointless for us as we were going out, however parked for free on the street next to Pub.

Its right next to the football ground, so not sure how busy it will be on match day or what the roads around the pub will be like.

Room Tip: Venue has a lockable car park which is closed off at 9pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darren k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#73 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Park Hotel
#96 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#103 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
The Old Crown
#9 of 52 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
The Moseley Arms
#7 of 52 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Property: Royal George Hotel
Address: 325 Garrison Lane, Birmingham B9 4PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing