We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel right next to the football ground”
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #40 of 54 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 4, 2013

me and my girlfriend stayed here for a night in birmingham in october. the hotel has a car park and is about 300 yards from the football ground (you can pretty much see the pitch from the window) the room was lovely and modern and staff very nice. it was a 5 minute taxi drive into town. excellent hotel but can imagine being very busy on match day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 137 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

I read the reviews on here after I booked the hotel. I was therefore pleasently suprrised on arrival. We were booked in and made very welcome. The room itself was very spacious. It was very clean to the point that we felt we were the first people to stay in there. The hotel does have a car park, although this is probably limited to 6 cars. We stayed on a room only basis for £40.00 for two people for one night. I would definately come back again.

Room Tip: The hotel is next to St Andrews football park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Punkpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Arrived 2.45 Match day. Shock! But once footballers left and saw room it was ok. It's right next to city ground so avoid on match days maybe. Comfy bed and good breakfast. Although the loo did make funny noises! Very basic but served its purpose for one night. 10 mins from bull ring.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missj69_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

As all the other reviews have said Reception is at the side of a sports bar. However the rooms were clean, modern, staff were friendly (if a little over worked). Breakfast was nice and filling and the price was ok. Bed was comfortable, shower hot. Just what was needed for night.

Car park closes at 9pm which was a bit pointless for us as we were going out, however parked for free on the street next to Pub.

Its right next to the football ground, so not sure how busy it will be on match day or what the roads around the pub will be like.

Room Tip: Venue has a lockable car park which is closed off at 9pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darren k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We arrived at the royal George to find litter all over the flooring the bar, it resembled a football terrace after a match which given the fact it is so close to Birmingham city's ground there is a possibility it could have blown over.
The drinks at the bar had almost ran out there was a Budweiser or two and 1bottle if cider.
The room was very comfortable and overall not too bad but the toilet seat was hanging off, and also the '80's teas made' didn't function properly.
Birmingham itself was a fantastic evening out but we would look more carefully when choosing a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidgeorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was literally the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.
The hotel has one family room which is where I stayed with my family. Upon arrival, we had to walk through a busy pub which I did not feel was appropriate as I had young children. In the second room the light did not work.
The food was terrible and I was unable to eat anything.
The bathroom was dirty and as if that wasn't bad enough, in the morning my family and I were unable to shower due to there being no hot water. When we phoned through to reception, which, I may add, we had to use our Mobile as the phone in the room did not work, we were told that we had to wait 5 minutes for them to put the hot water on. This was an absolute disgrace.
I will NEVER return to this hotel again. You are better off going to a premier inn or holiday inn as you would get better value for money. The only positive I have is the bed was very big.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Booked through LateRooms and made the error of not looking at reviews on here and elsewhere.
4* what can be wrong with it?
Well if it was me on my own at work, no probs but with my wife who looks on any hotel stay as a holiday it just doesn't cut it.
Take a look at street view and it will all become clear, this isn't an area where you want to bring your Wife, kids, mum at night and the reception is 'different' to any other hotel check in I've ever experienced, others have covered it on here quite adequately.
Breakfast guy (chef) came in 'good morning' we said 'might be for some' came the reply, followed by 'we ain't got no bread so there you are!' followed by a slight spit out of the corner of his mouth. Felt this was more for effect and to keep his reputation as the rudest host in Birmingham than anything else, quite a nice guy when he engaged in conversation.
Paid for two nights but changed to the Radisson Blu for the second night - so one happy wife :-)
Not a bad place really, clean comfortable bed, brilliant shower, huge breakfast - apart from no bread! Just needs the * rating adjusting to 2 or 3 at a push.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#67 of 118 in Birmingham
467 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
The Moseley Arms
#7 of 54 in Birmingham
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,209 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
969 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Address: 325 Garrison Lane, Birmingham B9 4PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range: $55 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing