We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eaton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eaton Hotel
Ranked #13 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, Shropshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed overnight at the Eaton as we were attending a works Christmas party. We arrived just after midday and knowing we couldn’t check-in until 2pm I asked at reception if I could leave my car on their car park while we went into the city. Not only did they say no problem to that, they let us check in and drop all of our stuff in the room. That was a really nice start to a great weekend.
The hotel staff were very friendly and efficient and the hotel was well maintained and clean.
The room we had was at the back of the hotel which was nice as some of the reviews I had read mentioned how loud the traffic noise was at the front. The hotel is right on the Hagley Road which is the main route into the city centre and is a very busy road even at night.
The bedroom and bathroom were clean and the bed was really comfy and we both enjoyed a good night’s sleep.
We didn’t eat in the restaurant on the evening as we attended our works party. However, our four course meal was prepared by the hotel kitchen and was gorgeous. Breakfast was also excellent and we were served by very pleasant and friendly staff.
Overall, we enjoyed a great weekend away and I will definitely be returning in the near future as it was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Perfect for city centre trips
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    177
    41
    16
    8
See reviews for
104
210
36
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was about a 10 minute taxi ride from the German market so was quite centrally located. The rooms were clean and nicely presented but the best thing about this hotel was the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was done with a smile. The reception staff were knowledgeable about the local area and went out of their way to be helpful. Breakfast was superb with good quality produce and a wide selection of breakfast choices to suit everyone. There is a good selection of restaurants locally within walking distance too. The price was VERY competitive and I would definitely come back here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel whilst working away, the room was very nice and cosy, the shower is amazingly powerful, the bed was really comfy with a array of pillows, staff really friendly. The breakfast was lovely before going on to work too.
Highly recommended must stay

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ThornleyGroupUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Last Sunday we took our Mother for a special birthday lunch. She loves The Eaton! However on this occasion there was a singer with a backing tape. He was a decent singer but the music was so loud we could not hear ourselves talk. Other people asked to move and we did not stay for coffee.
I left with a headache!
We were not the only ones to complain but nothing was done.
Please reconsider this option.
The food was good by the way but the event ruined.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaO116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

What a brilliant place to stay: excellent location, superb spacious bedroom ( very comfortable bed, sofa, easy chair, desk, brilliant ensuite large shower). Very welcoming, friendly staff, fantastic breakfast fare. Tops most of the higher priced hotels I have stayed in. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone for business or pleasure purposes.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 119 first floor at the rear of the hotel; very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northumbrianbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights for a visit to the Frankfurt Xmas market in Birmingham.
The Eaton Hotel is easily found on Hagly road ,yet convenient for events in the city..
A clean modernised hotel ,comfortable rooms and charming staff.
We. Only ate breakfast in the hotel,and thoroughly enjoyed the combination of buffet
And full range of cooked breakfasts, everything was superb.
You should not hesitate to book this delightful and affordable hotel

Room Tip: Not all rooms have baths,some whilst having lovely modern bathrooms,are only fitted with a shower,so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronald s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Booked after reading reviews.Just returned from a one night stay to visit the German Christmas fair.We had room 131 which faced the quieter rear of the hotel.The room we had was tidy enough and nice big bed comfortable but the carpet had quite a number of stains over it and could do with a proper carpet shampoo clean .Looks to me that a good "service" is needed to this room as a hole in shower wall and bits of furniture seen better days.Yes the staff are very attentive and helpful generally although we did have to "find" someone to take our Breakfast order as we seemed to have been forgotten.Re the German fair ......well,not really impressed at all and disappointing .The one memory i have of it is that every-other stall sold either food to eat on the spot or was a beer stall and not really anything else worth buying that you cant get in the high anyway.And to cap it all,you just cant move freely as so overcrowded.Dont take children or wheelchairs/pushchairs.

Room Tip: front facing rooms are noisy due to continues traffic through the night.get a rear facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton Hotel

Property: Eaton Hotel
Address: 279 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eaton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eaton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing