We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly hotel, good value for money”
Review of The Eaton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Eaton Hotel
Ranked #12 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My wife and I and 14 month old baby stayed 2 nights. The room was comfortable and quiet. We ate at the restaurant and were impressed with the 3 courses we had and the friendly service. Breakfast was also very good. Nice place and good value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 638 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed at the hotel as a base for a wedding at another location in Birmingham.
They let us get changed for the wedding in our room on arrival mid morning as the room had not been used the night before.
Great nights sleep and a wonderful cooked breakfast. Will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larson200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Only a short stay for a friends wedding that was in the adjoiing function suite. An easy checkin sent us a to a spacious, clean and modern room. Free wireless, good bathroom and shower and comfy bed.

Breakfast was hectic, but most poeple arrived just before it closed as it was a late night.. When it arrived the food was very good and everything as it should be.
Very good value for money when you consider, it's only slightly more than a travel lodge etc.

Safe choice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTr8velBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed here as part of a family trip to see the Test Cricket. I was really happy with my choice of this hotel.

1) The reception team re extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful. When we arrived in the morning, Moonie the receptionist made a special effort to help by giving us all our room keys and paperwork, even thought the rooms were not ready, so we could drop our bags and leave for the cricket. She said she didn't want us to have to wait when we got back in the evening, so nice! Natalie was on reception after that and was also very friendly and helpful, recommending their restaurant when we decided not to go into town due to the riots that were happening in the center that night.

2) The local area is very attractive. Restaurants nearby and lots of large Victorian villas. Taxis to the town center for about £7.

3) The restaurant is great, quite old fashioned with silver service etc but excellent food and very professional staff who can do Steak Diane etc at tableside. The woman in charge is very good.

4) Breakfast is also very good. Small buffet with nice fruits, cereals, meats, etc and cooked breakfast like full English, kippers etc is brought to the table. Quick service as well. The blond girl is very nice but I didn't get her name.

5) Rooms are extremely clean, bathrooms can't be more than a few months old really! Flat screen tvs, comp wifi, everything you could need is there (apart from fridges).

6) Housekeeping is very efficient, you don't really see them, but everything is done, and their boss must be a clean freak because I didn't see a spot anywhere.

7) Public ares are very modern, the restaurant is a bit more old fashioned but still nice, and there is a lovey terrace outside with both smoking and non-smoking seating areas.

Overall a great hotel, I thought it was worth a good deal more than the £70 bb we paid.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahjanelowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I have stayed only once at the Eaton but have hosted lots of business meetings here and I've always been impressed with the service and facilities.
This is a modern and clean, almost home from home type establishment. Not too large or too corporate to be ignored, rather small and cosy with all the mod cons.
Rooms are well equipped with modern furniture and fittings, lovely white linen and flat screen TV etc. Bathroom excellent - power shower, spotlessly clean.
I particularly liked breakfast which was made to order and included items such as smoked haddock with poached eggs - quite rare to see this in the smaller hotels.
All in all they are doing a fantastic job - well priced rooms and just a 10 minute £8 taxi from B'ham New St station.
Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monkeystar861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Fair price, good food & spotless. Bedrooms are immaculate and of a good size. I am very fussy with cleanliness and having stayed 5 times I have never caught them out once on that standard. Only gripe the restaurant needs a freshen up. The food is amazing. I did raise this on my last visit and they said they are doing it this year.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andykal201068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Our room was a good size, clean and quiet. Good selection at Breakfast, was really scrummy too! You can not fault the service of the hotel. The only let down were some parts of the hotel really does need a lick of paint.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
1,003 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,581 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#2 of 118 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eaton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eaton Hotel

Address: 279 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $101 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eaton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Eaton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing