We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”

The Black Eagle Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #305 of 2,252 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Black Eagle serves good food for very reasonable prices. At every visit you will receive a warm welcome from friendly staff.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dawncardiff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    36
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 876 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We used to frequent this establishment regularly as an annual 'Father and sons' Christmas night out as a large group and many of us (used) to visit on a far more regular basis. Previously we have been very pleased. I would love to leave a review for previous visits but the Trip Advisor date range will not allow me to. Suffice to say on this occasion it left a lot to be desired. The bar area we had paid for in advance to be reserved was packed. The service all night was atrocious and the real ales were well below par. The food we had again paid for in advance had not been supplied and we had a hastily prepared chili to eat. Previous visits had an extensive, quality buffet, great service and a wide selection of ales but this time every element of the night was farcical. So where do we go this year? I think we're voting with our feet as the manager did not even have the courtesy to apologise for his oversight. Errors can be made, but to ignore them is unforgivable.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank LeeBakerLegion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Meal and Service”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had a lovely pub meal in the black eagle on Saturday evening. The meal is very good pub grub. Welcome and service were excellent. Will certainly be going back in the future.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great ale and food!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

The black eagle continues to be one of the best pubs in Brum, and for a combination of fine real ale, quality food in a pleasant atmosphere it is almost impossible to beat!
Lovely garden, friendly landlord and staff, and only a few minutes from the metro, be warned though can get very busy when West Brom are playing at home!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andythebaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Lovely homely, cosy pub with great food and ales. We visited one evening for food and had an excellent tasty meal at a great price. The rump steak I had was the tastiest I've ever eaten and my husband's steak and ale pie was also very good. We went again the following evening for their Beer Festival, which was great fun with an outdoor barbecue. Will visit this pub whenever we're in Birmingham, as the food, ales and staff are all excellent.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OSCAR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Eagle Pub & Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Black Eagle Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing