We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venue is fine”
Review of Barclaycard Arena

Barclaycard Arena
Ranked #36 of 280 things to do in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Venue is fine”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Venue itself is great. I've seen Cirque, Elton John and Dr Who here.

The downside is the parking, the toilets and the food and drink for sale is overpriced to the max.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    315
    179
    91
    83
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Impressive Venue let Down by bad Bathroom Planning”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The NIA is centrally located in Birmingham and we went to enjoy the Strictly Come Dancing Tour. The performance area for this show was amazing - bright, flashy and with stunning lights everything you would expect from Strictly.

We paid for what were supposed to be better tickets (£45PP) and although our seats were not bad, I had expected better. The area seats have very steep stairs which could be an issue for some people, and leg room is small even I at only 5ft4 was a bit squeezed.

The biggest area of disappointment was the interval when it seemed like the whole arena had to wait in the longest lines I have ever seen for the toilets. People with small children were forced to use disabled toilets, or even sneak into the men's because of the length of time it would take to use the facilities. In fact, we did not make it back to our seats before the interval was over.

Money is tight these days and if you are going to attract people to spend quite a bit to come for events you need to provide appropriate facilities - get more women's bathrooms sorted the situation I saw today was unacceptable.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank evadark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Appalling Customer Service”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This venue has no regard for the health and safety of its customers. The venue is not very clean and staff unhelpful. They put profit above everything else.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“BBL Final”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We went to the NIA for the BBL Final. We had to collect our tickets from the Box Office but then had to queue again to get in. There was only two entrances which meant the queues got a little large. Staff were helpful, my husband doesn't have good mobility so we had a backpack full of medical stuff, drinks etc but they were fine with that and checked his backpack on his back to save undoing it all. They also agreed to open the bottom gates to allow us to leave so not in the crowds but the crowds cleared before they got to the gate to undo it so we left the usual way, unsure if they'd forgotten about us but we met the steward you had just asked for a colleague to help us.

Food not too expensive and of a standard quality you would expect from Arena food.

The BBL Final was a full afternoons entertainment so we were there from 11.30am til 6pm and the toilets etc held up the number of people there and a member of staff was always in sight.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“easy to review”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Parking - 100% worst parking ever, bad management overpriced
seating in venue - way too cramped and uncomfortable
staff 98% unhelpfull... a couple of them very helpfull... luck of the draw
drinks etc average arena/venue prices
toilets - clean but not enough

advise alternative parking to the venue, and ask about your seats befor you go.. if your tall or wide you need an a seat on the end!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank amw01827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barclaycard Arena also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Barclaycard Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing