We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does the job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Birmingham Yardley Hotel
Ranked #71 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Does the job”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Difficult to find as hidden behind a pub. Small entrance a little bit intimidating. Lovely staff very welcoming and friendly. Very clean tidy rooms. Comfy beds and surprising quiet. For the price very impressed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    77
    28
    11
    18
See reviews for
97
59
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

First impressions from the outside was not good. The main entrance is quite small and there were men (about 4 if my memory serves me right) standing right at the doorstep smoking. Being a woman, I instantly felt intimidated (luckily I traveled with my husband). There was nothing hostile about the people but maybe a proper smoking area could be allocated for smokers? I mean we were only there for a day and maybe it does not happen all the time but imagine if it was a single lady or someone with kids? It was not a nice sight for any business I think (not that I think smokers are not a nice sight but at the entrance is really off putting).

The receptionist was a very friendly young lady who efficiently checked us in and took our payments.

Our room was at the first floor. It was bigger than what I anticipated, clean (apart from a lone tissue near the bin, probably from the previous occupants?) and the bed was comfortable. The duvet was not the warmest but hey, it was not very cold and there is heating in the room where you can adjust the temperature (not that we used it as I don't like heating). Surprisingly, it was not noisy at all even though there are cars parked right outside our window.

The toilet was clean, although the tissue paper was not new, there were 2 rolls in there, 1 was halfway gone and the other had about a third left in it, so not very much left, probably altogether it wouldn't even constitute a whole new roll. Even though we specified in the booking that it was for 2 adults, there was only 1 set of towels in the bath. My husband had to go to the reception to ask for another set, which we got without any problems at all. Talk about good service.

We did encounter one problem which I personally failed to mention to the receptionist the next day when we were asked if everything was alright. The handle bar was located near the taps for the bath, as my husband got in, he slammed his knee and cut himself badly because of the impact. It could be just a one off accident as I did not have any problems with it, but it could be a problem for taller people. I'm 5'8 and got in ok whereas my husband is 6'1. So future customers, watch out as it can be a problem.

The reception staff should get a pay rise as they deal with all the problems with a very efficient and apologetic way.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-on-sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

A comfortable stay. There was some noise from inside, but surprisingly little noise from outside given that it is on the A45. Unfortunate that the only options for breakfast are a breakfast bag or McDonalds.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed at Travelodge Yardley.There is a Travelodge at Birmingham Airport.Stayed for one night.Reception very customer service oriented ;).Rooms very big could have space to put in an sofa bed.Hotel off the main road so little traffic noise.
Internet first 30 minutes free then £3 for 24 hours.
Hair dryer had to ask at reception.Free parking outside.Check out no bad moments like some places to check room if I had taken the TV ;).
Will come back !
Did not try the breakfast but ate at big M outside.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fungshuiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Not usually much to say about a Travelodge, but I feel this one deserves a little extra credit for the friendliness of the staff.

The check in lady was great and even almost convinced me to go for one of those horrible looking breakfast boxes!

Good clean room, tv, usual tea and coffee. Enough said.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diabl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

A great 2 night booking - although next to a busy restaurant and busy road, we didn't hear any outside noise. Had a great nights sleep. Rooms smelt clean and fresh. The price was excellent, definitely stay here again.


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Debi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed here on Good Friday as we had tickets booked for cbeebies live at the lg arena. We had a family room for us and our twin toddlers. The room was very clean and fresh with everything you need for a stop-over, including tea and coffee of which we were offered more at reception if needed. There is a McDonald's next door and a world buffet restaurant on site, we ate there in the evening. We actually drove down to the new morrisons for breakfast, just 5 mins down the road. Our only issue was the fact there were no bed guards for our toddlers beds (which for the price, is unsurprising!) so we used all manner of furniture to keep them safe! I found the bed a bit uncomfortable but the pillows were great. Check out isn't until 12pm which is great if you don't want to rush off! We paid £30 advance booking for this room and would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank mel_gary21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
1.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC
3.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Yardley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Yardley Hotel

Property: Travelodge Birmingham Yardley Hotel
Address: 1741 Coventry Road | A45 Off Steyning Road, Birmingham B26 1DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#44 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Birmingham Yardley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Yardley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Yardley Hotel Birmingham
Travel Lodge Birmingham
Birmingham Travel Lodge
Birmingham Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing