We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”

Hajees Spices Buffet Restaurant
Ranked #1,380 of 2,206 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Been here a few times. Nice welcoming interior, the food is fantastic along with the desserts. Been coming here for years.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Babar-BBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    32
    15
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lively decor, food nothing to write home for!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I tried this restaurant, having used it as the Antelope Public house for many years, even taking my parents there on a holiday from Mexico ten years ago on their Golden Anniversary, I was curious to see how the usage has changed and etcetera. As a member of Birmingham History Forum, and as an architectural artist, I had hand-drawn the beautiful Victorian beautiful way back on 1981, taken from a very old photograph, and had executed a precise line drawing showing literally every single brick.
It is one of a very few Victorian buildings with custom-built galvanic down pipes from the roof guttering.
Anyway, that all aside, and despite being relatively subdued as far as Asian restaurants go, the food is unstimulating, to say the least, but a great place to take your family and young children, which I assume was the original plan! Wouldn't go again myself on a romantic or business meal, but would take grandchildren et!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mexidiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly Lunch”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had lunch with friends at Hajees. The atmosphere was nice and friendly. We trio had a good tasty lunch, the food looked well presented and tasted very delicious. the portions were of good size and price was good value too. Although the service could have been faster, we had to wait a while to be served, but i guess they had a group lunch booking at the time we went in.
Overall i would pay another visit because the food tasted really good. keep up the service :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amazing_Sunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible Service, Defiantly Avoid”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Turned up with a friend on Thursday night at about 11 pm, walked in and asked the waiter what time you close to make sure we had enough time to eat. The waiter turns around and say "WHY"...out of surprise we told him we wish to eat. He was brushing the Floor at the time and then arrogantly says "SIT ON THIS TABLE"...at first i wanted to walk straight back out, but not to spoil the evening we decided to stay.
After we eat, the same waiter came to pick up the plates, and we asked do you have any deserts, and he replied "YEAH, WHAT DO YOU WANT", at this point i could not take anymore and said, why don"t you have a menu with deserts on it. He replied "YEAH I WILL GO AND GET IT".
Terrible, arrogant service, avoid this place, the waiters seem to have a stick stuck up there ****.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Classic decor, delicious food”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I love Hajees Spices because it has every element of classic Indian restaurant in the decor - flocked wall-paper, animal print, bling galore.... and it all works somehow and it's a fun and bright feel.

I've been a few times here so knew exactly what to order - the Chicken Achari is to die for! All of the food was very well presented and the staff are polite and helpful.

And the toilets..... definitely worth a visit even if you don't want to go!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hajees Spices Buffet Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Hajees Spices Buffet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing