We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, superb value and attention to detail”
Review of Restaurant VMF - CLOSED

Restaurant VMF
Price range: $29 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In October 2010, Aston Villa Football Club launched a new training restaurant concept, Restaurant VMF. Our restaurant offers a totally unique dining experience - award-winning food, with spectacular views of the Villa Park pitch. Set in the luxurious surroundings of the Directors Suite, relax in Restaurant VMF and sample our delicious menu, offering locally-sourced dishes which have been cooked and served by our VMF apprentices. In fact, some of the produce used travels from our very own allotment plot, just half a mile away from Villa Park. The allotment is another way the club works with the local community, with young people at the heart of this project. In conjunction with Roots and Renewal, young people grow the produce on an allotment which is now larger than a football pitch! Not only that, our own Aston Villa bees produce honey on the allotment site which is also used in our recipes within Restaurant VMF. In January 2015 Restaurant VMF was proud to be awarded a 2 star rating by the Sustainable Restaurant Association.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I've been to VMF on a number of occasions over the last two years and have never failed to be impressed with the place. The setting is unique, the quality of the food as good as any top class establishment and the service from the young trainees is excellent. Attention to detail from the food right through to the shining cutlery and sparkling clean glasses is spot on.

Top class performance all round. A real winner - As an avid Aston Villa supporter, I only wish I could say the same about the team!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 316 of 330 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Villa team may not be doing so well at the moment but this restaurant really does deserve to stay in the Premiership. What a great place! We arrived at the football ground and was greeted by a lovely guy on reception/security who told us where to go to find the restaurant. We were greeted warmly by front of house told a little bit about VMF and then looked after by four great young people. They were friendly, professional and showed a high level of customer service and waiting skill. The food was a truimph. My husband and I both thought the food was better than Simpsons in Edgbaston and dare I say it Purnells in Birmingham! We had a lovely night, great value for money, we must support this venue and what it is trying to achieve, if you visit it and enjoyed it pass the message on to your friends and family - we will. Can't wait to return, plan to take a group of friends with us next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JanetC58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The service, the quality of the food, the setting are all just superb. This is the finest dining you can ever experience. We had a totally wonderful time, thank you to everyone at VMF for our Sunday lunch on the 27th of January 2013. Looking forward to our next visit. Gary, Sue, Bernie and Roger.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I surprised my husband with a meal here for his birthday on the 16th, and as the title say's, for us a Michelin star worthy experience. We are not season ticket holders to Aston Villa as one of the other reviewers but can claim that we have eaten at hundreds if not thousands of restaurants all over the world, even some very bad ones which this one is far from. The moment you step through the doors of the stadium and the security guard explain the way up to the restaurant you know you are in for a treat...You are not disappointed when you are greeted by an immaculately dressed well spoken young person at the door forgetting that this is a student and not an experienced mai·tre d' at some swanky place in the city. We opt to have a seat in the "lounge" area first for a pre lunch drink and look at the menu. The restaurant was full and a few tables had large parties. We where very well looked after by the Manager, Andries that explained the menu and suggested wine with our meal choices. Our table was at the window, stadium side and had a un interrupted view of the pitch. Ordering food and drink was quick and easy with no waiting and the high quality, well prepared and excellently presented food came out hot every time. We though it might be a problem with the large groups but it was not. We had cod as pre starters soon followed by an amazing and inventive goats cheese platter with beetroot as starter. This is not the deep fried goats cheese dish (my favourite) that's the trend at the moment but a culinary experience in itself with the different textures and tastes on one plate. The mains of beef for my husband and lamb for me were out of this world. Soft succulent and full of flavour and ample vegetables and potatoes that we could not finish. Dessert is usually the highlight of the meal for me but on this occasion a continuation as we where presented with a pre dessert drink called "dom pedro" from Andries's native South-Africa and chocolaty end to a suburb sunday lunch. Well done and a big thank you to Andries and "crew" for orchestrating a symphony of good service and especially to Tim and his trainees for turning out amazing food. We can recommend this as a fine dinning restaurant but with very affordable pricing....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Altyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Took a group of ten people from work for my birthday in early May 2012 on the Indian Food Champions Evening, the feedback from all was that the venue (has a billionaire's touch) is fantastic and the food was to boot. If you look at Villa's performance at the Football Hospitality Awards in 2012 it doesn't really come as surprise. My only gripe was the corporate speeches throughout the evening but I have been on a normal night and this does not occur at all.

Would highly recommend this restaurant on value, venue, food and ethical approach. It's also good to see some often very nervous young people really giving it their best. Don't be put off by the fact it's a football club, this place stands on it's own two feet.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant VMF also viewed

Sheldon, Birmingham
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing