We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tooooo busy.”

Ed's Easy Diner Birmingham - Selfridges
Ranked #575 of 2,206 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tooooo busy.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

As this eatery is in Selfridges, it gets verrrrry busy - we had to wait for about 15 mins for a table.

When inside, it was clear that the staff had been rushed off their feet. As a result, speed of service and cleanliness had taken a massive hit. And unfortunately this let it down for us.

I would return, as I enjoy the American themed dining experience. The food and drinks are also quite tasty. Be prepared for high prices for what is essentially no more than fast food!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2shots3089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    119
    83
    48
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very good lunch”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had the chilli dog with cheese with chips on the side which was excellent. Chips were hot and crispy and remained so. Also had my first ever coke float which was lovely. Great value for money and excellent service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhimsicalTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very disappointing indeed”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We took the girls here as a treat, because they had walked past so many times and we gave in. We had to wait half an hour, with a buzzer, which wasn't so bad because we were able to look around selfridges food hall at the same time. When we got to our table though the wait wasn't over we waited for our drinks for ages then even longer for our food - One of the quirky things the waiters like to do is memorise your order and not write it down - this is all fair and well if they actually remember the order - when ours arrived it was wrong and luke warm - the portion sizes were poor, considering the price and weren't anything to write home about. The milkshakes were the only thing out of the ordinary - and there is a special milkshake counter I should get these from instead - to avoid the restaurant altogether - They are do keen to pack them in and as fast as you can the customer service, quality of food and atmosphere along with customer service leave a lot to be desired. We were so disappointed and will not be going there again - save your money your better off at pizza express or somewhere similar - Eds Diner let us down!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmawIlkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, Cumbria
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice pleasant lunch”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Visited here last sunday for a late lunch whilst shopping, there was a party of three of us and the table although wasn't cramped we could have done with a little more room. Food was excellent cheap and plentiful. The vanilla malt milkshake was lush, but more than enough for one. (I couldn't finish it) I had the chicken and some sweet potato fries the other two party members had burgers.
Only thing that spoilt it was the loos (yuk!!! stinky, dirty and very unpleasant! - sort it out selfridges!)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank livy1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Whilst shopping in Selfridges we decided to have lunch in Eds. We ordered Burgers and Fries. They were really tasty. Good size portion. The milk shakes were the best I could easily have ordered another! Good value for money. Great place for a casual lunch without being expensive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jangus55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ed's Easy Diner Birmingham - Selfridges also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Ed's Easy Diner Birmingham - Selfridges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing