We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great way to spend Saturday lunch time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Arco Lounge

Arco Lounge
Ranked #282 of 2,198 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Arco Lounge is an informal, neighbourhood food led cafe/bar open all-day everyday where families, friends, and locals can come for a coffee, a drink, or something to eat in a relaxed comfortable environment.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“A great way to spend Saturday lunch time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My friend took me here for a drink and a bite to eat on Saturday lunchtime - she is a regular who loves it. We ordered tea and coffee and a selection of three tapas between us. The tea and coffee came reasonably quickly, but the food did take longer than I would have liked (not that I was clock watching - I was just very hungry! - so it could only have been twenty minutes).

There was plenty of veggie food to choose from on the blackboard as well as a specials menu on the table with some very tempting offerings. We only stopped in for a snack this time, but I would like to return another time to try something else.

It was very busy, being a Saturday lunchtime and I had to wait a while at the bar to order. Given the style of the cafe, it looks as though it's somewhere that would have table service and I think that it would certainly benefit from this to save customers having to queue at the bar. My bar server was very friendly but there was another lady there who was serving someone else whilst I was waiting, who didn't return my smile and ignored me when she had finished serving and started folding napkins - which when there is a queue is very rude! I would have preferred my order being taken at the table for that reason alone.

So the lack of table service lets it down some, but isn't a deal breaker and I do look forward to returning to try out other dishes next time I am visiting my friend in the area. It's the kind of place I could see me spending a few hours in on a Saturday afternoon with friends. Overall, very nice indeed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank winter-st*r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    90
    27
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great all-rounder!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Perfect for a morning coffee, light lunch, romantic dinner or evening drinks. The drinks list is brilliant for coffee, alcohol and non-alcoholic drinks so everyone should be happy. Yummy wines and beers. Very friendly staff and lovely atmosphere. The food is good but not amazing, thats the most negative thing I can say!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleGems30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Not a bad option for brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently went here for brunch. Staff were friendly and the atmosphere relaxed. We arrived fairly early (about 09:15am) but despite this, our order took about 40mins to arrive.
The coffee was good. We had the poached eggs with smoked salmon (looked good - apparently tasted good too), the vege breakfast (again reasonably good reports), and I had the "champion breakfast". I love restaurants that do breakfast - not many have the imagination to do anything a bit different and the "champion breakfast" was not something I had seen before. The ingredients included chorizo and BBQ beans as well as smoked bacon - sounded delicious. Unfortunately most tof the ingredients were all mixed together in a "hotpot" concoction which meant everything just tasted rather sweet from the tomato sauce and all the other interesting flavours were overpowered by the chorizo. I still like the idea, but I think some thought needs to go into how to maximise the potential from all the different flavours etc.
Anyway - a pleasant start to the day at the weekend and a bit of a treat. A good option for brunch and nice to serve something a bit different.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bourgeois_Hedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great local space for quality food, drink, and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

A very relaxed atmosphere and decor with friendly and efficient service is complemented by a menu ranging from breakfast and light lunches to tapas, all good value and clearly why the place is buzzing most of the time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RJD62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Have been here many times for a Sunday morning full English and have never been dissapointed. Staff are friendly, attentive and obliging. The coffee's great and the breakfast is tasty and massive. A little pricey but definitely worth it.
Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pravmisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arco Lounge also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Arco Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing