We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast ever”

Browns Brasserie & Bar
Ranked #83 of 2,309 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $40
Cuisines: British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Set against the elegant backdrop of St Martin’s Square, Browns Birmingham is part of the thriving new restaurant scene at Spiceal Street. Where better to begin sampling the Second City’s eating-out revolution?.Whether at work or play, Browns offers a uniquely relaxing atmosphere. Unwind over a plate of freshly cooked, modern food. Start your weekend in style with one of our expertly mixed cocktails. Or reward the day’s efforts with a glass of what you fancy from our well-chosen wine and beer range
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great breakfast - good choices (i had bubble and squeek the wife had a full english) and reasonable prices - if we ever come back to birmingham we will be back
Thank you

2  Thank lee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Browns B, General Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear lee m,
Best Breakfast Ever! That really is great to read so thank you so much. Make sure next time you're in town you come in for one of our Champagne breakfasts which wil really set you up for the day!
Regards,
Elizabeth Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,037 - 1,041 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Popped in here for a drink and stayed longer than expected! The cocktail menu drew the wife in and we sampled a fair few, as well as some pink champage.

Obviously a popular place among many age groups, being forced to sit in the central section on bar stools was a bit annoying as the outer tables were reserved for those eating, but not a major issue.

Bar staff were friendly and the service was quick. Cocktails were made with a practised flourish and it was a nice place to pass a couple of hours with great views of the bustle of the Bullring.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank dan_w77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Browns B, General Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear dan_w77,
Great to read that you enjoyed your cocktails, but next time you must try my favourite - Apple & Lychee Martini. Thanks too for your comments regarding our bar team. Hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Elizabeth Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

From the minute we walked in we were welcomed and attended to! First impressions are lasting impressions! The drinks have been flowing with no delay, and the food beautiful! We've had 3 courses and the wait between was minimal! Our waiter has been great - Daniel, checking on us, making sure we were happy, you can't ask for much more from a restaurant! And all this on a Saturday night too!! Will definitely come back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Natty2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Browns B, Restaurant Team Leader at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Natty2002,
Thank you very much and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your evening last night. I really appreciate you writing this review and that you mentioned me by name. Hopefully when you return from your trip in a few weeks, i'll see you here again.
Best regards,
Daniel Mocanu
Restaurant Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We popped in for a drink and a bite to eat after work. Despite there being a number of tables available we were placed at a table in the back corner. Initial service was reasonably quick as it was a busy time of day. The waitress didn't seem to be particularly engaged with the task. Food was OK but it took a while to catch someone's eye so that we could get the bill.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rainstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Browns B, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Rainstone,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Browns Birmingham. We value and appreciate you taking the time to share your comments, and I can assure you that they are taken seriously. I'm sorry you weren't satisfied with the table you were given, and I only wish you had mentioned it to a staff member as they would have been happy to move you. Please let me know next time you plan to visit on 01216438708 and I will ensure you have a more suitable table.
Regards,
Laura Godridge
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very pleased with our waitress who helped us to get on to the free wifi because we didn't have a British mobile number. Food was good but not amazing....my scrambled eggs were a little dry and definitely not cooked the French way. But a pleasant experience that I would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Browns B, General Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Christelle M,
Many thanks for your comments regarding your visit recently and I'm happy to read such a great review of your service and that you managed to make the most of our free Wi-Fi. Please do pay us another visit next time you're back in the UK.
Regards
Elizabeth Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Browns Brasserie & Bar also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Browns Brasserie & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing