We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality at a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich
Ranked #79 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed last night ready for a trip to the NEC today.
Literally just next to the M6.
Had booked a room on the quiet side of the hotel and on the ground floor as we have an old dog.
Receptionist was very friendly and polite upon our arrival.
The room was clean, a good size and modern, although we found the bed a bit soft and bouncy!
The pub next door - one minute walk - served good food and wine - not expensive.
Will definitely stay there again on future trips to Birmingham / NEC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quiet side of the hotel. We did and we heard no road noise during the night. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 176 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arrived early afternoon, to be greeted by a human version of "Tigger" a very pleasant young lady called Rachel.

Despite booking 2 x 3 persons, rooms were set for 2s, quickly rectified by Rachel and the team.

The hotel is modern but basic. Very clean rooms with a hair drier wired in to prevent theft. A 24 hour bar for residents, and you can get a continental breakfast for a modest price.

We soon ran out of the complimentary teas and coffees and these were replaced not once but TWICE.

Location guide was spot on at just 200 hundred yards off junction 5 of the M6.

Will definatly use on my next flight from Birminghan and you never know may use for a concert.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I booked for 3 nights,but left the first morning.I got to the hotel at 3.30 am,had a few drinks with my wife in the bar.Went to bed at 6am,put the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door handle.At 11am house keeping not only knocked on the door,but came in.Saw we were there in bed then left the room.I spoke to the manageress evenualy,as the receptonist said she had popted out,only to be told.That althoe the reception know we are here,house keeping may not know.I asked if there was anything she could do,by way of compesation.She said no,i told her i was leaveing and could she waver the 7 and a half houres i was in the hotel.She said unfurtunatly its now 1205 and you should check out at 11,in order for me to waver the night.I asked about being woken up and she just said sorry.Do not disturb means just that,first and last time we stay there.

Room Tip: Say in your car in the car park,at least you will get some sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank moggy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I booked this hotel as my mom was coming over from Eastbourne and this hotel isn't too far from where I live. Majority of reviews wasn't good but decided to try it. They traveled as a family and stated the staff was polite and helpful from the minute they arrived. Check in was efficient the room was clean, tidy spare towels bought up. My mom and dad are elderly and left their walking stick in their room, a member of staff overheard and offered to go and get it. Mom mentioned she was hot again staff returned with a fan. The 2 kids travelling was 8 and 9 they loved the continental breakfast helping themselves. They don't do a full English but this hotel is located nest to a pub/restaurant which has good menu. There is also a wacky warehouse and outside play area for those travelling with families which was great. It is not a pub that has music in so no problem with noise. Overall they stated they had fantastic stay are already thinking about returning next year , so a big THANK YOU to all staff (including cleaning staff) who contributed to making my mom and dad stay in Brum a good one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliecW1857VK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

stayed in this hotel the night before going on holiday, the room was basic but nice enough. the hotel advertises on its website that the hotel is 5/6 miles from the airport and should cost you £13 in a taxi..this is not true as road signs state it is 10 miles from the airport and cost us £22 there and £22 back again. if you are thinking of staying in this hotel for convenience to the airport I would advise staying in one closer to the airport and paying a little bit more money because although it is cheap the taxi fares make it a more expensive stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Recently spent 3 nights at CBI and never again. During our stay the outside temperatures were 25-28 degrees Celsius during the day.
We arrived and took up residence on the 2nd floor. 2 of the light bulbs in the room didn't work so the first night was pretty dark. In the morning we found that the shower tray continued filled up whilst in use and took over 30 minutes to drain afterwards.
The good news is that the maintenance man arrived within an hour and fixed all 3 problems.
We noticed this morning that the room temperature was starting to feel uncomfortably hot.
By the time we returned that evening the room was like a furnace.The windows only open 6 inches (probably to stop people jumping out) and so there is no fresh cool air getting into the room. The rooms do not have air con.
In the morning after hardly sleeping at all we asked about moving rooms and the lady offered us a fan which we agreed to try. Again by 4pm the room was like a sauna. The heat on the 2nd floor hit us when we exited the lift and was even hotter in our room despite the window being 'open' all day.
We were offered 2 other rooms at this point. The one on the 1st floor on the same side of the building as our current 2nd floor room was a couple of degrees cooler but still not pleasant. They also had a room on the ground floor which was lovely and cool.
The downside of this room was that it was next to the car park and was a disabled room with twin beds rather than the double we had booked.
Whilst this room was able to stay cool it did mean that my wife and I ended up in a twin room rather than a double room.
The staff did what they could with what they had available in my opinion. The problem is the hotel is just incorrectly built and keeps the heat in during warm days. We spoke with numerous members of staff who all advised that the opposite is true in winter when the rooms are always too cold.
I would recommend choosing a hotel elsewhere because until they can sort out the cooling (and heating) in this hotel then staying and sleeping there can be very uncomfortable if the outside weather is quite hot.

One final note if you do dare to try this hotel, turning left onto the main road outside can add 5 minutes to your journey.

Room Tip: Only the ground floor is cool when the outside weather is hot. Floors 1 - 4 are uncomfortably hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveS73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Booked for one night after attending a concert in nearby NEC. Good position but we drove past as unsure whether 'CBI' stood for Castle Bromwich Inn or that other well-known organisation. Then found the motorway junction only had slip road one side so long way to get back to where we went wrong!
Apart from that, hotel great. Pleasant room, well insulated against the adjacent M6. Good food and excellent customer service.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_white_horse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich

Address: 1200 Chester Road | Junction 5, M6, Birmingham B35 7AF, England (Formerly Castle Bromwich Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $58 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern, comfortable hotel offers guests great value just off the M6 and within easy reach of Birmingham city centre. The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich, is situated just 25 minutes from the heart of the city and 8 miles from Birmingham International Airport. Other nearby venues include the NEC Arena and popular family destinations such as Cadbury World, Drayton Manor and Sealife Centre. The hotel features 110 guest rooms, all well-equipped to offer you a most comfortable stay. All rooms feature en-suite bathrooms, free Wi-Fi and digital TV among other amenities. Guests can relax in the hotel's 24 hour lounge bar, enjoying the laid-back atmosphere, a refreshing drink or tasty snack. A Express Start breakfast is served each morning in the Great Room. Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich has a well-appointed meeting room which can host up to 25 delegates. The hotel's skilled team will assist you in planning and hosting your next corporate occasion. Complimentary parking is provided in the hotel's on-site car park. The hotel's friendly team are available 24 hours a day at reception and look forward to welcoming you to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Bromwich Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing