We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of The Karczma

The Karczma
Ranked #20 of 2,217 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Karczma is a traditional Polish restaurant, bar and grill located in the heart of Birmingham, just 5min walk from both the Bull Ring Shopping Centre and Moor Street Rail Station. Restaurant is decorated in the style of an old Polish country cottage seating 85 people across 2 rooms. The menu is designed to reflect a homely, hearty and rustic food that's quintessentially Polish, and prepared using only the very best quality ingredients. The menu contains numerous Polish classics including Pierogi (stuffed dumplings), Berszcz (Beetroot soup), Pickled Herring, Zurek (Pickled Rye Flour Soup) served from a hollowed out loaf of bread, as well as a whole host of grilled meats and fish. We wish you a pleasant stay and Enjoy !!!
Wales UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

excellent service, great food- not for the fainthearted. The hock was huge and we could barely manage another course. Mixed dumplings were very interesting. Puddings worth leaving room for- the apple cake was superb. and try the range of flavoured vodkas at the end- we were arguing over which was best, though my favourite was the waiter's recommendation- the herbal vodka- nothing like the vodka you find in a pub, like an excellent liqueur but not so heavy. Easy to find and free to park right outside after 8pm. £75 including drinks for four of us. We will return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller123159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the k, Owner at The Karczma, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your expression of your opinion on our restaurant. We promise and we will do our best to maintain a higher standard served most desired and waiter service
Sebastian Meller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    147
    39
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service. Really nice lunch”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We visited The Karczma today for lunch to celebrate my son's graduation. We chose this restaurant because of the good reviews it received and wanted to see if it lived up to them. The waiter asked if we wanted help in choosing our food and as we had never eaten Polish food before, we accepted. He pointed out the dishes that were traditional Polish food which turned out to be a great choice. My husband, son and father in law had the soup served in the loaf of bread which they said was delicious. I had sheep's cheese wrapped in bacon which was superb and for mains we had chicken stuffed with cheese and mushroom, beef olives and the pork hock cooked in beer. All was delicious and served very hot. The portions are enormous so don't overdo the starters or bread. I found room for the cheesecake which like no cheesecake I had tried before. It was wonderfully light and creamy. The bill came to £106 for five of us with starter, main, dessert/coffee and beers. The only fault, which is very minor, is that the toilet could do with a bit of sprucing up. Other than that, I loved it and will return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank toothfairy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the k, Owner at The Karczma, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your expression of your opinion on our restaurant. We promise and we will do our best to maintain a higher standard served most desired and waiter service
Sebastian Meller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hearty, Tasty, Inexpensive and Fab!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Went here for a birthday meal, first time visit. Had honey vodka, pierogi to start and ham hock for main. Food huge portions and absolutely delicious. Great fun.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the k, Owner at The Karczma, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting our restaurant. We hope that we have fulfilled the requirements of your Polish food. Looking to the futur
Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good restaurant without pretension”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This place is ever so slightly off the beaten track but only a 5 minute walk from Selfridges in Birmingham. It is worth making the minor effort to reach this restaurant. The staff are friendly and effective. The food is very nice. I know very little about Polish cuisine but based on the food served here, I love it! The food is tasty, hearty and is served in generous portions. Prices are very good value. We took our 8-week old baby along which was the right thing to do, this seems like a very family friendly restaurant. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the k, Owner at The Karczma, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your expression of your opinion on our restaurant. We promise and we will do our best to maintain a higher standard served most desired and waiter service
Sebastian Meller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food,atmosphere and value”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have visited this resaurant five times and have enjoyed working through the menu. The soups are outstanding and almost a meal on their own. Excellent service even when the restaurant is very busy. Very good value. The only problem is putting on weight as the portions are generous.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the k, Owner at The Karczma, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your expression of your opinion on our restaurant. We promise and we will do our best to maintain a higher standard served most desired and waiter service
Sebastian Meller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Karczma also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Karczma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing