We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, lovely food and most of all, you're made to feel very welcome and special”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ju Ju's Cafe

Ju Ju's Cafe
Ranked #18 of 2,195 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Quality, freshly prepared British food from local ingredients. Cooked to order in a relaxed canal side setting. Dine 'al fresco' and make the most of the superb canal side views. Great selection of evening dishes and a hearty week end breakfast & brunch menu with all your favourites! Fancy a fab Sunday roast? Then ju ju's is the place for you. Special, dietary requirements? No problem, we can adapt most of our dishes to suit you. Big thanks for checking us out and look forward to seeing you soon.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, lovely food and most of all, you're made to feel very welcome and special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Lovely setting overlooking the canal. Being greeted by ultra warm and welcoming JuJu herself ensured a brilliant start to the evening. What was really special and in my view really sets this place apart from the rest is the creativity, attention to detail and the love that has gone into the beautiful writings on the walls and mirrors.

The warmth of the owner, Julia, shines through these writings and they permeate through the whole dining experience. This was well accompanied by a great choice of music.

The food was delicious and there was a reasonably priced and tasty wine list too.

This is a little gem well worth a vist.

Ken of Southampton, UK

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fredsmith6515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia P, Owner at Ju Ju's Cafe, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Fab review and thank you so very much. Regards, Ju Ju
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    837
    166
    46
    20
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We love Jujus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our Sunday Roast and will definitely be back for more! Lovely meal for all 10 of us, nice family day out!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank e-louise12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia P, Owner at Ju Ju's Cafe, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
And we love you. Thanks a million for your review. Regards, Ju Ju
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ok but a little pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I ate here with my wife and on the whole is was decent enough, the atmosphere and services was good, the starters were nice, my wife really enjoyed her meal which she said was cooked beautifully.

However I felt that my rib eye steak was extremely over priced at £20 considering it was pretty fatty it was the kind of steak you would expect to get in your local pub for a less than a tenner. Also another thing that let it down, ordered a side of greens, and just received some cauliflower and carrotts in a bowl which had just been boiled, it just seemed very lazy and not thought out at all.

So all in all, even though in majority it was good, these two things left me feeling disappointed on leaving the restaurant so I would be unlikely to return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roadoftrinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia P, Owner at Ju Ju's Cafe, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. Regards, Ju Ju
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, great food, lovely setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My partner and I went to Ju Ju's on a Friday evening to celebrate our anniversary. It was in a lovely location just by the canal and we were seated by the window.

We had some delicious olives and bread to start. The best bread I've ever tasted!! For mains we had the paella and fish and chips and these were just as delicious!

Julie was so accommodating, and helpful. The whole experience was wonderful, the restaurant was so cosy and romantic, we loved all the little special touches; even in the toilet!

Would definitely recommend, it's our new favourite restaurant. We can't wait to go back and try the Sunday Roast!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jweigham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia P, Owner at Ju Ju's Cafe, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Fab review, many, many thanks. Regards, Ju Ju
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent little resteraunt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Was a lovely place to go. The service was fantastic and all the staff were welcoming. Makes a nice change to go somewhere original with good food at reasonable prices. I highly recommend it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dannng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ju Ju's Cafe also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Ju Ju's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing