We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“genuine and warm family restaurant”

Big Nanny's Caribbean Restaurant
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Newly opened.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“genuine and warm family restaurant”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have lunch here on occasion when in the jewellery quarter. The family team are genuinely warn and nice people and very welcoming and accommodating. And the bacon sarnies are of the home made type. It is a lovely 'set back in time' environment and a nice change to all the modern fast food alternatives.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    61
    18
    13
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best restaurant!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

big nannys is a fantastic Caribbean Restaurant! the food is amazing, the atmosphere is chilled, the staff are so friendly its a fantastic restaurant! and you have to try coffee and rum! I will definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank richie151072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handsworth
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“shocking!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I had decent meal, the waiter was great & I was enjoying it, until shockingly! a fight broke out & escalated which involved the cook or manager of big nannys. I seen her hit a young lady & she reacted pretty bad which led to her raising her voice; she looked quit young so she couldn't do much, she looked confused & upset! I did not like the look of this as it is outrageous & looked really bad for business, I would not recommend this place if there is this type of behaviour going on. Never again, sorry folks!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dee_847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hidden away”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

After a little trouble finding it, we eventually arrived. We were about an hour late and were met with a very polite and genuine welcome.
The restaurant is very different and almost feels like you're in some sort of outside courtyard, although it's not at all cold.

There was 7 of us including children and we all arrived at different times. We are quite a difficult group to deal with when we're together as people order drinks at random times and make alterations to dishes, add sides etc. All of which was dealt with confidently and politely.
Some of us were on the groupon deal and some chose off the menu.

The selection on the menu is concise and varied. Each meal is described very well and there is nothing that sounds the same as another one. The problem is choosing which one to go for as they all look lovely.
The groupon deal is great and you get a really good meal and mixed starter than samples a lot of the other starters.
I personally recommend the jerk chicken pie with a side of coco bread and plantain. The sweet potato dessert is something else!!
My wife had the mango and pineapple crumble and that was lovely too.
The food has a very authentic Caribbean home cooked look and taste. It is very filling but not at all bloating.
The drinks are varied and the cocktail selection is good.

The staff were extremely polite and in control even though they were understaffed due to a member of staff phoning in sick.

It really is a special place they have there. However, my only criticisms would be that due to the fact it's an off-street restaurant, it is rather tricky to find and the sign outside is not very clear. My recommendation to them would be to make the sign clearer with big writing and put a big arrow on the sign saying "Caribbean food this way!!"
The music could be slightly louder too as they play some good reggae tracks and it wouldn't hurt for them to enhance the Caribbean look and feel to the decor so that you really feel like you're somewhere different.
Other than that faultless.
Will definitely be going again soon!!

Helpful?
Thank Maxipeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Big Nannys”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had wanted to try Caribbean food for a while then saw the Groupon voucher. Well what a delicious meal. We had a shared platter of jerk chicken wings, patties, salt fish fritters with salad. Then jerk pie with potatoes and vegs
I had a hurricane cocktail too. Great rum selection
Fabulous food. Brilliant service.
I never been made so welcome in a restaurant at home.
We definitely go back , next on the menu will be goat curry.
Big Nannys thank you for a lovely night.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phill q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Nanny's Caribbean Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Sheldon, Birmingham
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing