We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff”

Big Nanny's Caribbean Restaurant
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Newly opened.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We first visited here on a Groupon deal. We loved it so much that we have since been back without a voucher and have another trip booked, this time with our parents for birthday celebrations. The most outstanding thing about Big Nannys is the staff. They are so friendly, cheerful and accommodating which makes it a real pleasure to visit hence our third visit coming up! Yes the food can take a while but we are always pleased about this because we enjoy being there and it gives us more time to drink the lovely cocktails! The food is gorgeous, the curried goat is so succulent and the Boozy Pineapple dessert is heaven!
If you are in a rush and want fast food served with a frown, don't go here. If you want a relaxed evening sipping cocktails, eating mouth watering food in the company of staff who genuinely care, make a booking!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AR4002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    61
    18
    13
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I almost want to keep it quiet in case it gets so busy you can't get a table but what a great night we had. The staff are just lovely, the food is fabulous, portions huge, atmosphere is laid back. The cocktails are out of this world as well. Super impressed! We had a Groupon but we will return for certain and happily pay full price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Gem if a place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Wife booked this via Groupon. Took some friends that had never experienced Carribean food, and they thoroughly enjoyed their choices. Had jerk chicken, curried goat and hard food. Would not hesitate in going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elaaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We came here for our 10th wedding anniversary back in September 2012 and we were very impressed! Such a lovely comfortable place. Great food, atmosphere, staff and not to mention cocktails! We had a lovely evening hence booking a table for 13 people for my husband's 40th yesterday. Everything was perfect and every one of our guest's was as happy as we were. Music playing, great service, fantastic food, i wouldn't have changed anything. Thank you to all the staff at Big Nannys for making my hubby's 40th Birthday so special. See you soon x Highly recommended

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Racheal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I admit after reading the reviews before visiting I didn't have high hopes, but once we arrived down the cool little alley and into the restaurant I was sold! The decor is cool and quaint, reggae music is playing and we where greeted by a lovely waiter who really looked after us. The food was lovely and the portions where huge! We where full and content upon leaving the restaurant and would happily recommend this restaurant to our friends :) P.S the cocktails are gorgeous!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurenbirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Nanny's Caribbean Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Sheldon, Birmingham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing