We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
Ranked #30 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Booked here as dining in marco Pierre white restaurant on #level25.. Room bright and colourful
Bed too soft
Air on would not go cold enough no window to open so woke up rather stuffy in middle of night
Used the hair dryer which was in drawer where there was also a pair of past customers socks left!
Staff very pleasant and welcoming
Shower great

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, I am happy to read you had a good stay and for letting us know where we could do better, this is very important to us. Please allow us to rectify it on your next stay., we really care about your special moments!

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    299
    143
    67
    42
See reviews for
48
487
15
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stayed at the hotel on a Thursday night with two friends after a night out in the hotel's champagne bar. The room was great with floor to ceiling views of the city, pretty impressive especially at night. The bed was comfy and room service at 1am went down a treat! We have stayed in most hotels in Birmingham and this is by far the best. It was great being out in the bar and only having to stumble a few feet to bed. The staff were lovely and I must give a special shout out to the manager of the hotel - during the night at the bar I lost the diamond out of my engagement ring and happened to mention it the morning after to the staff at breakfast. An hour later as I was leaving the hotel, the manager contacted me and told me he had found the diamond! An absolute miracle. Says a lot about the service (and integrity) of the staff there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly19812014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, I am very happy you had such a successful stay and that we have managed to reunite you with your diamond! I will pass on your comments to the Bar Manager and let him know how grateful you are.

Please come and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly member of staff; as we were staying on a Friday we were also given a complementary Crunchie to eat; this put us in really good mood and was a really quirky touch. The lift was a bit frustrating as when you entered the lift you had to swipe your room card to access the 24th floor where the rooms were; the card reader didn't recognise the card we were using and we ended up going to the spa floor, up to the 25th floor and back down to the ground floor while other people were requesting the lift. Eventually the card reader recognised our room card and we got to the 24th floor. The stay was for my fiancé's birthday and I loved the colour theming of the rooms because they were very modern and unisex in atmosphere and really to his taste; I had purposely not wanted a hotel that was feminine because he's fed up of me picking girly hotels. The room itself was clean and tidy and had a floor-to-ceiling window overlooking the whole of Birmingham; it looked amazing, I have seen these city scape rooms in adverts and on TV but I've never actually had the pleasure of one myself (we had an executive room). The bed was THE COMFIEST bed I have ever slept in - we sunk into the mattress and while I appreciate this isn't everyone's cup of tea; to us it was great. We both barely moved all night because we were both in such deep sleep. The breakfast was included in our room rate and I can say was well worth the money. The restaurant was very 'posh' and has fabulous views. We both opted for a sausage ciabatta and it was delicious! If we ever travel to Birmingham again, we will definitely be staying here again. *one thing worth mentioning - go through the mailbox shopping centre to get to this hotel, it's the best way! We followed our phone Satnav and it took us through a very compromising estate*

Room Tip: Executive rooms are worth the extra spend for the cityscape views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BekLouC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to read you had such a comfy stay! Please make sure you explore our neighbourhood next time you’re in town and rest assured that Hotel Indigo will always be here when you need somewhere to rest.

Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I asked for a king sized bed and was given a "king room" which had a double bed. The bed was horribly soft, so uncomfortable! The hotel advertised as a boutique but it was nothing more than a colourful premier inn at a hugely inflated cost. Our room was near staff accommodation, it smelt of chlorine and bleach in the corridor. There are plenty of hotels which offer much better value for money in the same location. The only saving grace was the friendly staff. Other than this, and awful waste of money!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback, it is very important to us, to me. I would like to express my disappointment with the inconveniences you have faced and would like to assure you we take all feedback very seriously. We strive to deliver not just good service but great service so you letting us know where we can do better is very helpful, thank you.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to change your mind very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stopped here again for BH weekend treat, as always the hotel and rooms offer excellent value and location. Couple of disappointing points...the cassette car park is no longer in use by the hotel so parking is in the Mailbox which is a bit of a trek. Check in was slow in what could be best described as a communal area and even though we arrived early the reception staff seemed very quick to inform us that the rooms where not ready ( without checking) no worries returned at just past 3pm for the room still not ready..waited a couple on minutes then the room was sorted. We used the pool and gym area which excellent but when I enquired with gym reception staff regarding membership they seemed little vague with membership cost .
All in all still good but need to pay attention to detail.

Room Tip: Upgrade room and ensure breakfast is included in rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, I am happy to read you had a good stay. Thank you for drawing our attention to detail, this is very important to us. We hope that upon your next visit we will be able to prove that we have understood your point.

I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

One night stay at Hotel Indigo, with friends. Sleep was out of the question as we could hear the lyrics and beat to athe songs in the above bar. Awful! Dirty shower drain, previous guests hair visible. Room was generally clean but basic. Great views, but not worth the cost we paid for the room. Won't be returning!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, I am disappointed you did not have the experience we had in mind for you and I would like to apologise, this was not our intention. We understand mistakes happen but we are here for you and we are always open to correcting them.

I hope you will give us the chance to change your mind about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Room was fab. Water pressure in shower was great. Breakfast ok. Serving staff fab. Cleaned rooms and Gd decor. But utterly ruined by two things. First they seem to lack a second bed for children. And second......My room on floor 24 was under the bar and at midnight on Saturday when I have paid for a decent nights sleep.....forget it. Rumbling, banging bass budding into my room. An utter let down. If you want to sleep or have kids......find some where cheaper. Or bring your own blow up bed and ear plugs. Big ear plugs. Massive ear plugs.

Room Tip: Room on 23. Or not at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sezbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, I am happy you liked our facilities and cannot help feeling disappointed about the disturbance with the noise. We strive to enhance your experience and we are currently tackling the issue we have caused you. Please rest assured we will find a solution which is most suitable for you.

I hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,922 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
910 reviews
AC Hotel Birmingham
#17 of 117 in Birmingham
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
2,228 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,389 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#37 of 117 in Birmingham
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Birmingham

Property: Hotel Indigo Birmingham
Address: 200 Wharfside Street | The Cube, Birmingham B1 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Indigo Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing