We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
Ranked #39 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed staying here, gym was great and free wifi. The Marco Pierre White restaurant on the top floor was great. If you have a car, leave some time to collect as it's an automated garage and took 15 minutes to retrieve on one day. Excellent location and very close to the new city library.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank DBoothey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we are very happy to read you had a great experience. We are very fortunate to be situated in the iconic Cube and part of the second largest city’s city centre. As part of Hotel Indigo Hotels, we strive to take advantage of our neighbourhood and promote the gems all around, one of them being the new City Library.

We are also very glad we have Birmingham’s Canals at our feet and for being so close to everything that matters to our guests. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel is a great choice for a luxury weekend away. Everything from our check-in to check-out was seamless, everything we asked for they obliged with and made our stay very enjoyable. Have stayed in a lot of nice hotels across Europe and in the UK and this does rate highly for me. Ate at the restaurants and enjoyed the spa facilities as well as going to the well located Mailbox shopping centre and the bullring.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F_F27_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate you telling the world about your great experience at Hotel Indigo Birmingham. I am very happy to read you found a hotel that feels so close to your heart and we strive daily to deliver our inspired service.

Please come back again, we love having you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed for one night, First the hotel doesn't have car parking on site but you park overnight in the Mailbox Car Park for £19, and it's a two minute walk to the hotel.

Check in was quick and easy. My room was cool, different to any hotel I've stayed in before. Color for my room was blue so was to over bearing. Especially liked the speaker system in the bathroom for the TV!

We Fi was free and easy to connect too.

Had a few drinks in the roof top bar which gives great views of Birmingham, eat in the Marco Pierre White restaurant. The food and staff were both fantastic.

Bed was really comfy and room was air conditioned, plus they give you complimentary bottles of water, cans of Pepsi and a kit kat, nice touch!

Had eggs Benedict for breakfast, would recommend it as well.

All in all very impressed and will defiantly return

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holmezzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the world. I am most delighted to read you had such a great stay with us. I am disappointed you did not get a chance to see or use The Cube’s Automatic Car Park, it is a true wonder and it is exclusive to our hotel guests.

We hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here one night in October for a business convention. We have stayed at other Hotel Indigo locations before, and this was very similar. We were only here shortly, but we enjoyed the close proximity to many restaurants and bars. We dined at the roof top restaurant MPW and were pleased with the experience. The doors slam loudly to the rooms, so that was the noise we woke up to. Otherwise, the bed was comfortable, the location great, and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iowadds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback, it is very important to us that our future guests have a point of reference. I am disappointed your stay got interrupted by slamming doors but I have been investigating the matter and it is a work in progress. However, I would like to thank you for bring it to my attention, we see this as the perfect opportunity to grow and exceed your expectations next time you stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

11 girls from Oxford came to stay and we were well and truly looked after by all the staff from car park to reception to spa to Marco's. We loved the clean, modern quirky rooms and the inter-connecting rooms worked out well for our pre-drinks party, the showers are amazing, the beds are so comfy and they provide a complimentary mini bar with soft drinks, chocolate and crisps. The spa area was very reaxing and the staff very professional, treatments were worth every penny.
The staff in Marco's bent over backwards to make our stay special, we had afternoon teas and returned for an excellent breakfast the next morning.
The location is perfect for eating out and shopping, all within walking distance.
Can't wait to return, a special thanks goes to Michelle Smith, the Hotel Manager for making the birthday bash so special :))

Room Tip: Ask for inter-connecting rooms if you're in a large group
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DebbieD50th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Hello there!

I am most delighted to hear you had such a good stay! We really like going the distance in order to make a difference. Your special occasions are important to us and we feel privileged when you share them with us.

Our Front of House Manager Michelle is a true inspiration and example of excellent customer service. Just like her, we aim to excel and exceed your expectations every time you stay!

Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you like deep Purple, random poles in your window box room and dank-water emitting unpleasant smells from your bathroom, this is the central Birmingham hotel for you. A centrally controlled air conditioning system simply added to the 'tomato' effect - living in a glass Cube outside the reach of the simple elements in life which go together to make you feel human.
Check-in was efficient, the rooms are clean and ultra modern and the bed comfortable. But internet connect was slow, power points didn't work and then there was THAT pole! Yes, a pole, two feet away from the bed, clearly holding the place up ( thank God), but how strangely placed. Unless you are a dancer of course. Unlikely to return to this spot.

Room Tip: Ask for the one with the pole!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate the time you have taken to write your review! I am most delighted you had a good rest and you found us working efficiently and to your satisfaction.

We are very lucky to be part of such an iconic building, The Cube. The amazing views and unique architecture adds value to the services we can offer to our guests.

I’m disappointed you had experienced issues with your stay but I would encourage you to give us another chance, I’m sure we can turn your experience around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights at Hotel Indigo, and we were generally very impressed. The rooms were modern, clean, and very functional (it makes all the difference when you have sockets in the right place, a good shower etc.)

The spa and gym facilities are good for the space they are in, and provide a welcome addition. On the downside to that though was that they didn't answer their phone at all in the week prior to arrival, and on arrival, there were no treatments left, which is disappointing. They could do something to make that better!

Breakfast was excellent, and the restaurant on the top floor has commanding views over the city.

Our main gripe was the softness of the beds. Now I appreciate that some people like extra soft beds, but these were verging on ridiculously soft, with a tendency to either roll you out if you are on the edge, or roll you in to each other if you are closer together. We checked with housekeeping in case our bed was broken or faulty, but apparently this is just how they are. That did mean that sleep quality wasn't what it should have been, but if you love a very very soft bed, then this won't trouble you.

I also love the car park, with the car lift whisking your car away. Only downside was the slightly tedious process of having to return the garage key card when going to your room, or out for the day, which seemed a bit unnecessary.

Staff were very friendly and welcoming, although the concierge didn't know what a barber was when I asked...

Overall, very good but let down by the spa not answering the phone (and not keeping back any slots for residents) and the bed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guard42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Hello there,

Welcome to the Hotel Indigo Experience. I am very happy to read you experienced all of our hotel’s facilities and our neighbourhood. Every guest adds a story to our neighbourhood and we strive to encourage everyone to share those special stories!

We appreciate the feedback you have given us, we take all comments on board and discuss them further in order to make your stay not just a good one, but an exceptional one.

Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,254 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,403 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#26 of 118 in Birmingham
955 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Birmingham

Address: 200 Wharfside Street | The Cube, Birmingham B1 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $106 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing