We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant staff brilliant hotel whole package brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
Ranked #31 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant staff brilliant hotel whole package brilliant”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel is excellent in everyway from staff to rooms. Cant fault it in anyway. Would reccomend very highly. You have a wonderful resturant in the hotel, if you dont want to eat in theres plenty around hotel. If your going to a concert at the NIA its on the doorstep. Very nice walks along canal.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen610til
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Hello there.

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We are very happy to hear you had such a great time at Hotel Indigo, we strive to offer an inspired service that is unique to our brand.

I am glad you noticed the parade of restaurants all around the canals and should you return to us do not forget to get on the water bus!

Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    304
    145
    68
    43
See reviews for
48
497
16
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Book this hotel for the 28th of September the occasion was for an anniversary so I requested this on the booking with a nice top floor room with view thinking maybe I may not get this even tho this was booked in advanced but not only did I get the room I wanted I was also greeted with a lovely tasty cake which the other half loved! Brownie points! Lol overall the staff was great very polite and friendly room was nice great location too from the bullring mailbox etc also used the spa facility which was good too no one really talks about the car park facility but I will great idea and design very modern with the garage and storage of car felt very future rustic so yeah hotel indigo def stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vijay9945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Hello there.

We feel extremely privileged to make your special occasions a little more special! There is a lot to offer and we strive to deliver not just good service but great service every time you stay.

We feel that all of our guests are part of the Hotel Indigo family and add value to our neighbourhood story. We will always strive to pamper you with everything we can just so you can feel extra special, the spa is just the start of your delightful journey. I am happy to read you enjoyed our car parking facility, it is a true wonder! We are very fortunate to be amongst the few hotels in City Centre Birmingham that can offer this service.

Please come back again, give us another opportunity to make a difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Wow, we stayed here a few weeks ago when we went to collect our Wedding Rings from the Jewellery Quarter where they were being made and decided to stay here to make it a special weekend. What a place this is, the rooms are amazing up on the 24th floor and just above us is Marco Pierre Whites Restaurant which was also amazing. The Champagne Bar on the 25th floor gives outstanding views across Birmingham especially at night when everywhere is lit up. The staff were all very courteous and even the car park is an amazing experience albeit a little on the pricey side but you will find out why if you look at "The Cube Birmingham Car Park" on you tube. Your car is parked for you, but not by humans :)

There are plenty of restaurants at the back of the hotel and also some lovely walks along the canal running right past the hotel. It is just a few minutes walk into the Centre of Birmingham.

You get access to the Leisure facilities adjoining the hotel which has an amazing pool with jets of water to massage every part of your body.

If you are planning a special trip, plan this one !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_and_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Hello there.

We feel very special when you include us in your special occasions. Great job at discovering our neighbourhood, the Jewellery Quarter is one of our most treasured assets. I am happy to hear you have enjoyed our car parking experience, must not miss the YouTube video!!

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to WOW you! Come back soon, we love to have you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed on the 23rd floor - room was great: view, bed, shower, air-con, noise etc Must say from the moment of walking into the hotel the staff reception was excellent: very warm with an honest interest to make you feel welcome eg 5 mins after entering our room I had a call from the front desk to ensure everything was in order etc (nice touch). The MPW restaurant has a great vibe with 25th floor view and for the size of it the food quality is good and matches prices etc; again staff very helpful etc - not classic silver service - but mostly younger staff doing their best, which was more than good enough. Bar area and outside terrace great, well managed, with good mix that again gave it a good feel. The hotel location is spot on and had on out staff the most difficult and sadly lacking quality of many hotels (good staff who want to be there) well done that's not easy.

Room Tip: The 23rd floor with window view towards the 'mailbox'
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Hello there.

We understand that you take a chance when you are booking a hotel room and we are very happy you have chosen us! Our goal is to make every step of your journey in Birmingham very special.

I am very happy you have enjoyed your time in the Steak House and the MPW Bar, please feel free to review the restaurant on their page! I’m sure they would love to hear your story.

Please allow us to do it again; we love it when our guests have a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

If you want a quite relkaxing hotel, look elseweher, but if you want to stay somewhere vibrant and lively right in the heart of Birmingham then this is for you. Myself and my fiance spent 2 nights here before travelling on hols to the canaries, and have enjoyed it immensely. All of the staff have been friendly and indulgent, unlike so many hotels where the staff scurry about as if guests are a chore to deal with. I've stayed in many hotels in Europe, japan and North America in the last 20 years, and this is one of the more fun places to stay. I'd avoid the champagne bar at the top, it's all a bit footballers wives, plus for £10 a cocktail you'd expect it to be special, and its not. I can make a better Harvey Wallbanger and Long Island Iced tea myself after several pints of Guinness on a Friday night. The whole gas street basin and mailbox is a great place to stay, bit like the Bay in Cardiff, another great example of turning a run down industrial area into somewhere lively and attractive.

Some tips - we stayed in a balcony room on the 23rd floor, and noise on a Saturday night was not an issue, and we had a view overlooking the city. Hotel guests get priority use of the lifts and champagne bar which is helpful on a Saturday night when it is busy.
The car park is not obvious, and two different satnavs couldn't find it (Phone and garmin). It's an underground ramp to the left of the hotel entrance (just before a yellow shuttered roller door). You'll need to call into the hotel first to obtain a fob that allowes access into the park area, and the Box that you are allocated. It's easy to use once your there, but getting there for the first time is not obvious.

Overall, highly recommended, and I'd also recommend eating at The Annexe, a French restaurant in Broad Street. A simple, but elegant place with great food and a truly fabulous wine list!

Room Tip: 23rd Floor with an external balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevefromystrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Hello there.

Thank you for your feedback and for staying at Hotel Indigo and having such a brilliant time as well! We understand that every guest is different and we strive to offer an inspired service that respects this. We are fortunate to be able to offer complimentary access to the Club and Spa facilities with every room standard we have and if it’s a relaxing time you wish to come here for, we will match it.

I am glad you have pointed out the amazing views but also the fact that noise was not an issue and that we offer priority to the lift for our guests. We have been listening to our guests’ feedback and decided to act upon it.

Please come back again, we are looking forward to making it special once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for work back in June. The hotel is not far from the train station and is located in a mall that has numerous restaurants and bars that are literally a stones throw away. I also loved the fact that outside was a canal and as it was summer it was nice to walk the length of it and explore. The room itself was big, bright and airy. The aveda products supplied were a nice touch as were the speakers in the bathroom. Breakfast is on the top floor and has an amazing view. The spa was was ok but the pool was quite small however I would definitely stay in a hotel Indigo again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina123_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Hello there.

Thank you for sharing your story with the world, we are extremely happy you have discovered how great our neighbourhood is. We appreciate it when we discover that our guests understand what we are about. The bright colours are only the beginning and the speaker in the bathroom, well… that’s just in case you like dancing in the shower #hazard

Next time you stay, if you fancy a swim in our pool in the Spa, just turn on the underwater jets! They are strong enough to keep even the most experienced swimmer in their place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel is a failed concept. Half the rooms on the 24th floor ( there are only two floors 23&24) are subject to massive noise disruption from the the lounge bar on the 25th floor. It renders the entire experience valueless if you are stuck in these rooms. I was aware hen I checked in that noise was a potential issue so discussed room choices with the front desk, but the reality of the noise is not to be underestimated, there is no dampening of sound.
Really disappointed, 6 monthly night off from parent duties ruined by bad choice of hotel! Never again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank omange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Hello there.

Thank you for stopping by at our Hotel, we really wanted to get it right for you. I am very disappointed that your stay was not perfect; it is our constant endeavour to ensure it is flawless. It was my pleasure to come and speak to you on the night and as you have noticed, I was very disappointed and strived to make up for it.

We always listen to feedback and we never wanted to underestimate the issues we face in regards to noise. We strive to inform all of our guests upon check in about the Champagne Bar at the top and will always find a suitable solution if our guests do not want to be disturbed.

At Hotel Indigo we believe we are strong enough to sort out issues for you and we take your feedback and comments seriously. Our guests are our main priority and our inspired service is what Hotel Indigo is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,976 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
920 reviews
AC Hotel Birmingham
#17 of 117 in Birmingham
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,411 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,251 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#34 of 117 in Birmingham
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Birmingham

Property: Hotel Indigo Birmingham
Address: 200 Wharfside Street | The Cube, Birmingham B1 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Indigo Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing