We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
Ranked #38 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for work back in June. The hotel is not far from the train station and is located in a mall that has numerous restaurants and bars that are literally a stones throw away. I also loved the fact that outside was a canal and as it was summer it was nice to walk the length of it and explore. The room itself was big, bright and airy. The aveda products supplied were a nice touch as were the speakers in the bathroom. Breakfast is on the top floor and has an amazing view. The spa was was ok but the pool was quite small however I would definitely stay in a hotel Indigo again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina123_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Hello there.

Thank you for sharing your story with the world, we are extremely happy you have discovered how great our neighbourhood is. We appreciate it when we discover that our guests understand what we are about. The bright colours are only the beginning and the speaker in the bathroom, well… that’s just in case you like dancing in the shower #hazard

Next time you stay, if you fancy a swim in our pool in the Spa, just turn on the underwater jets! They are strong enough to keep even the most experienced swimmer in their place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

750 - 756 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel is a failed concept. Half the rooms on the 24th floor ( there are only two floors 23&24) are subject to massive noise disruption from the the lounge bar on the 25th floor. It renders the entire experience valueless if you are stuck in these rooms. I was aware hen I checked in that noise was a potential issue so discussed room choices with the front desk, but the reality of the noise is not to be underestimated, there is no dampening of sound.
Really disappointed, 6 monthly night off from parent duties ruined by bad choice of hotel! Never again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank omange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Hello there.

Thank you for stopping by at our Hotel, we really wanted to get it right for you. I am very disappointed that your stay was not perfect; it is our constant endeavour to ensure it is flawless. It was my pleasure to come and speak to you on the night and as you have noticed, I was very disappointed and strived to make up for it.

We always listen to feedback and we never wanted to underestimate the issues we face in regards to noise. We strive to inform all of our guests upon check in about the Champagne Bar at the top and will always find a suitable solution if our guests do not want to be disturbed.

At Hotel Indigo we believe we are strong enough to sort out issues for you and we take your feedback and comments seriously. Our guests are our main priority and our inspired service is what Hotel Indigo is all about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed in a executive room on the 23rd floor and were extremely impressed with the décor, large shower, king size bed and views. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from new street station and is based in the mailbox area so plenty of restaurants and bars as soon as you step outside the hotel. The spa was a welcome diversion after a full days shopping and the views from the Marco Pierre White bar & restaurant on the 25th floor were magnificent and for smokers like my husband the bar also has an outside balcony where you enjoy a cigarette & a drink or two :) This hotel comes well recommended and we will definitely be returning

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mojotravels175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Hello there.

Thank you for stopping by! We are very happy to ready you enjoyed our king Executive room on the 23rd floor, your comfort is very important to us. Also, thank you for the kind words, we really are incredibly grateful that the majority of our guests have such fantastic stories to share with the world!

PS – Make sure you return in the winter, we organise snow ball fights on that balcony and we have plenty of hot coco (add Vodka) to warm you up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Me & my daughter stayed at the hotel Indigo recently on a night out with friends. Strange parking arrangements in a box ! Staff were very friendly, rooms were modern & bright. Outstanding views from the restaurant & champagne bar. Can't wait to revisit, a must if visiting Birmingham .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vivienne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback, it is really important to us that our guests share their experiences with the world!

We are fortunate to be in such an iconic building and we believe in an ideal service that reflects both our neighbourhood story and the Hotel Indigo spirit. The views can only add to our mission to exceed your expectations every time you stay.

I hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business. My room was beautifully appointed, as was the bathroom. The bed was superb. However, (like some other reviewers) I really do like to be able to open the windows and get some fresh air. The aircon is just so drying. I'd also have liked a trouser press. The free mini bar, tea selection and plugs by the bed for iPhones were awesome (when you travel a lot little things really please!)

The staff at this hotel are lovely and the gym is probably the best I've ever been to in a UK hotel. However, the hotel is let down by the footballers wives type restaurant 'Marco Pierre White' upstairs. Dinner was very ordinary and the service terribly sloppy. It's over priced. Breakfast was better but I loathe the faux leather (yes, you did read that right!) table cloths. They are foul and look unhygienic as well as deeply unattractive.

I'd recommend this place but suggest you order room service breakfast and go out for dinner to one of the numerous lovely restaurants by the canal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francophileonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Hello there,

Thank you for your feedback, it is really important to us! Every time you let us know how your stay was you enable us to grow and exceed your expectations.

I am very happy you felt connected with our neighbourhood and noticed the stream of restaurants alongside the canal. On that note, I am disappointed that your experience at Marco Pierre White’s restaurant was not as fantastic as your experience at Hotel Indigo but I have personally passed on your comments to the Restaurant Manager and I do encourage you to try the restaurant again! Give us a chance to show you we have grown.

I am also happy you have tried our gym at the Club and Spa! Our Jacuzzi-style pool and lounge areas are the perfect retreat, as you have noticed. Just like the Queen has Balmoral, Hotel Indigo guests have the Club and Spa.

I hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We recently stayed at hotel indigo as a gift from our daughters.
What a fantastic time we had, room had lovely views over surrounding Birmingham, and even though we were in the centre of Birmingham there was no noise. Situated right by the mail box, we had all the amenities we needed, and the bull ring was only a 5 minute walk away- just perfect. Would highly recommend for a city break.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Hello there,

Your review is very important to us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the world! I am very pleased to read you had such a fantastic time and we got it right for you.

We are constantly thinking how we can improve the service we provide so we can grow and exceed your expectations every time you stay. It is very important to us that you feel at ease and connected with our neighbourhood!

Please do come back, we would love the opportunity to WOW you again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

A bit diff to get to as GPS does not recognize the one way street but rooms are new and fresh, staff is friendly and extremely helpful. Food was very nice too. Parking is a bit expensive but really cool in this "pod" concept garage.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICEBLUESTEEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix P, Front of House Ambassador at Hotel Indigo Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Hello there,

Thanks for your great review and for telling the world about us.

I am happy you have had the chance to try our automatic car park. We are very fortunate to be one of the few hotels in Birmingham that can offer car parking services at our door step (For readers, you can check out our car parking video on YouTube! Just search for The Cube Carpark).

I hope you come back again for another night to remember!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,301 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
2,442 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#31 of 118 in Birmingham
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
996 reviews
AC Hotel by Marriott Birmingham
#18 of 118 in Birmingham
327 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Birmingham

Address: 200 Wharfside Street | The Cube, Birmingham B1 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $102 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Indigo Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing