We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charity Gala evening”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #31 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Staffs
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Charity Gala evening”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Husbands played golf, wives chilled by indoor pool and enjoyed Sauna and Steam room. Excellent golf course and excellent hotel. Rooms clean and spacious, beds comfortable, modern bathroom. Buffet breakfast was superb, everything you could wish for, well stocked and hot. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    518
    235
    110
    66
See reviews for
245
347
18
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The wife & myself went here with another couple for a weekend break away. THe guys played golf and the women went to the spa.

According to the wives, the spa and leisure facilities were lovely, personally I can't comment on that as I never went near them.

The rooms were large and comfortable, with the only downsides being that they were very warm overnight and we couldn't find any air-con to cool them down, plus it was a fair trek from our rooms to reception. No huge difficulty though.

Food was excellent with the usual buffet breakfast, but a full menu for the evening meal (unlike another golfing hotel about 15 mins north). All of which was extremely nice.

The golf courses were both in good condition, especially considering that they had lost a month of play over the past 3 months due to the weather. The Arden course is very nice, not many places where you get to play golf with herds of deer roaming about.

All the staff were very friendly and most helpful.

We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had an outside room with a view over the 1st tee's and one inside looking a courtyard. TBH yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel while on a course with work. Booking in was painless and pleasant staff on reception. The room was fantastic, a king size bed and views over the golf course. Food was also good, breakfast was the usual buffet, but was hot and restocked often, lunch was also very good with a good choice and the evening meals were also very good. The bars were welcoming and again the staff were friendly. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone and plan to go back with my wife for a weekend break.

Room Tip: Ask for a rook overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottBaillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I recently stayed at the Marriott and my vehicle was damaged by a gold gall. There were two witnesses who could identify the culprit along with extensive CCTV coverage which would have clearly shown the golfer recovering his ball. I reported this to the Duty Manager who said she didn't think it would be appropriate to approach the golfer whilst they were still in play and that she and the hotel's director of golf would look into it. They did nothing and despite my being at the hotel for 3 days.
Be warned.... Golf is more important than you and your property at this hotel!

P.S. the evening service in the restaurant was so poor they offered to remove puddings and a bottle of wine from our bill... Nice gesture, but they should really look at the quality and numbers of their staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I went on a spa day with a friend that we booked through spabreaks.co.uk for £80. This included a 25 min treatment and use of the spa facilities (+ 10% off further treatments).

We went on a Saturday in the morning and expected the spa to be quite busy but it was nice with just enough people for atmosphere. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the treatment I had was lovely. I had a back massage and the therapist went through a mini consultation and took note of what I said. The treatment room I was in was really big and well stocked. The massage table was sturdy and electric.
We were shown around the spa and to the pool etc by the spa receptionist and she was very smiley, really polite and friendly.
The pool was busy in the morning but by lunchtime was pretty much empty and so was the Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna.
All the facilities were really clean, the spa looked really modern and the hotel and grounds themselves are beautiful.
We will definitely be going back to the spa!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JK887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed for one night over Easter. Whilst we had a nice time and made full use of the Hotel leisure facilities, I would not call this a luxury Hotel. Great golf facilities and our boy really enjoyed the swimming pool, what lets this hotel down is the rooms. Our room seemed to have had a 'superficial' make over, whilst clean and tidy when you looked closely you could see a patched up job, especially in the bathroom.
Another problem is the noise, the walls must be paper thin because you can hear the slightest conversation as people pass your room and many many slamming doors throughout the night.
Don't get fooled by the advertised Free Wifi, this is only in the public spaces, if you require it in your room expect to pay £6 per hour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiddyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed in the Forest Of Arden on 10 April 2013.

I stayed in a twin room. A Twin room in this hotel means 2 x 5ft double beds in a lovely large room with the normal TV (but large), bath/shower room and tea/coffee making facilities.

Everyone is so friendly and if it isn't on the menu they will go and see if something can be done. Nothing is too much trouble.

When I returned home I realised I had forgotten my mobile phone charger, so called the hotel. How many times have you called a Hotel to be told they couldn't find what you had left. Not here. The receptionist talked to the House Manager who confirmed the item had been found. I offered to pay the P&P but this organisation wouldn't have it and would post it first class next day.

You won't go wrong with these people and all the better if you play golf or use the Spa.

Highly recommended and well worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trwela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#35 of 117 in Birmingham
883 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,972 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club

Property: Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Address: Maxstoke Lane | Meriden, Birmingham CV7 7HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#41 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located near Solihull in the West Midlands, the Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club is the perfect setting for business or leisure travel. Our convenient central location provides easy access to all modes of transportation making navigation seamless for all travel preferences. Ideal for a weekend getaway in Meriden, Birmingham, our hotel features a full-service spa, state-of-the-art fitness center, serene indoor pool, decadent restaurants and a picturesque golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Of Arden Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Birmingham
Marriott Coventry
Coventry Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing