We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #33 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved this property”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at this property as we were attending the NEC bike show two years ago. Even thought it is a little, well a lot out of the city, it is wonderful.

It was also my partner and I second year anniversary at the time. We had dinner, which was amazing. We did have a long wait for the food which was I was not very impressed about, but upon mentioning this to the manager on duty we were refunded part of our bill.

Also we were also given a complimentary anniversary desert for our special occasion, which I loved.

Staff were amazing and so friendly.

The room was AMAZING and the bed was soooo comfy I didn't want to leave. The location in itself is so relaxing and, away from it all.

I loved this property and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGuerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    500
    227
    106
    63
See reviews for
230
337
17
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
314 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night work conference at the Forest of Arden Marriott. On the whole a very good stay. I believe the main reason for this being the staff going the extra mile. From the receptionists on front deck to the Oaks Bar Staff (? Alaistair in particular) who remembered your favourite drinks each night. The air conditioning in our meeting rooms was a little temperamental ie one minute you would be freezing and the next boiling. One morning it took over half an hour for my poached eggs to arrive and I had to leave without them having arrived! Room service food was good and on time if not a bit early. Rooms were ok. Lots of parking and close to the train station. Wifi was also a little slow sometimes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice and quiet hotel. Clean, good service. Stayed there Jan with tons of snow.....Loved the spa and also the restaurant/bar...would stay there again if i am in the area
Location was great for us since we had family in Nuneaton and had to go to University Hospital at Coventry a bunch. Location not too close to any major shopping areas but a beautiful facility.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosh_sang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a two day business meeting in Birmingham. The hotel is located well - in the hillside at 20 min from the international airport. While riding onto the grounds deer are roaming the golf course. Although for Marriott standards the building is ready for an overhaul, all is compensated by the great service oriented attitude of the staff. When our taxi came in too late. The receptionist actually drove us to the airport himself. What more can I say. Great stay for business meetings.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie_P0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We went to the Forest of Arden for a christmas party event. The food was of a much higher quality than I was expecting, given the "conveyor belt" style that is typical of other hotels/restaurants. If this is the standard at an event of such numbers and the pressure to serve everyone within a short space of time, the quality at any other time of year should be excellent. The entertainment (a Kylie Minogue themed night) was interesting and made a nice change, although it perhaps went on a bit too long for some. The bedrooms were clean with good views, although it was a bit of a walk to reception, particularly as the layout isn't completely straightforward - we went round in a bit of a circle initially! The breakfast was good with lots of choice. Possibly not an outstanding visit but I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed here for four nights whilst working at the NEC. I checked in each night when it was dark, and left each morning in darkness, and so didn't get to appreciate the wonderful view from my room overlooking the golf course.
The staff are one of the hotel's best assets, from the welcome at Reception, to Phil the Concierge who welcomed me by name each evening, to Alistair in the Oaks Bar who ensured that my glass was refreshed and I was happy with my (excellent) food.
A 15 minute drive from the Airport and NEC, this hotel is a peaceful oasis at the end of a hard day. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the golf course have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlislecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I attended a 3 day meeting at this hotel and I can say this is a nice hotel with very good staff.
The room was tidy and clean. I had a few bar meals and one night I had dinner in the restaurant.
Service was polite and fast. The bar staff were excellent. I was pleased with this hotel it wasn't the best in the World but was a high standard overall.
Close to Birmingham airport. A very good location for your meetings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverfox54_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#36 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club

Property: Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Address: Maxstoke Lane | Meriden, Birmingham CV7 7HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#41 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located near Solihull in the West Midlands, the Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club is the perfect setting for business or leisure travel. Our convenient central location provides easy access to all modes of transportation making navigation seamless for all travel preferences. Ideal for a weekend getaway in Meriden, Birmingham, our hotel features a full-service spa, state-of-the-art fitness center, serene indoor pool, decadent restaurants and a picturesque golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Of Arden Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Birmingham
Marriott Coventry
Coventry Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing