We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel
Ranked #13 of 54 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I requested a room on the lower floor in the main bulding, our room was on the 3rd floor!
My husband has heart problems, so it was me who had to do all the carrying from the car to the 3rd floor which is quite a distance when carrying bags etc up all the stairs, this was quite exhausting.
We decided that it was not worth making a fuss (which is unusual for us) as we were only staying one night and had to be ready and out for the eve by 5.30pm.
Our room was very small with a standard double bed (room 304) and the heating is timed, so our heating went off mid afternoon on a cold/wet day.
The Sunday paper that i put on my check in sheet was overlooked so was not ordered, which was a dissapointment on Sunday morning, as sadly that is what we look forward to when we manage to escape for a break.
Breakfast was okay. Staff were lovely. Hotel was clean.
We paid £99.00 for one night, so not good value for our money.

Room Tip: Take a heater with you, as the plug in heater in the room kept switching off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 755patriciaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    140
    67
    51
    33
See reviews for
84
177
6
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were given a Groupon Voucher as a present for this hotel. You cannot fault impressive first impressions as you drive up to the hotel and as you enter it.

What they did not put on the voucher was the fact that your room is not in the main hotel but in the annexe. Although the room was nice and it had been recently renovated. It was very small. The signage to the rooms was also not clear and difficult to see in the dark. We wandered around for 5 mins before finding a door to get in.

The food was delicious the service was to a high standard. We could not fault any of that. Overall it's a beautiful place and if you want a really nice quiet rest with lovely food then this is place

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldinehulston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We booked the castle bromich hall hotel on a two night Groupon deal. We were delighted with the comfortable,clean accommodation. We had a lovely welcome. The meals were beautiful. I had the best steak I've had in a restaurant for a long time. I would heartily recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annvelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed for four nights in the Brew House and have to say that it was excellent value for money. The room was extremely clean and cosy, the breakfast was very good and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Don't waste your money on big, faceless hotels. Stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnmFaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I seem to praise most places that I stay at but I guess that's because I use Trip Advisor to find them and it works! This Grade 1 listed building seems to be trying to attract the Wedding market which is presumably far more lucrative than the profit from the extremely modest prices they charge for a room (mine was in the Brew House). The whole experience was comfortable and relaxed but two gripes: the smoked haddock for breakfast was rather dry, grilled rather than poached I suspect and the toaster is a disaster. What would it cost to put in a good quality automatic toaster which doesn't burn the toast on one side and leave it as bread on the other?

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AOB92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel as a result of a special deal, which included one-night accommodation, two-course meal and entrance to its National Trust gardens. I don't want to repeat what most reviewers have already said but I'd like to add our own thoughts about our experience.

There's no doubt that the hotel is really impressive both in size and in looks. It really has that wow factor as soon as you drive in, through the main entrance, as you see the front facade of the hotel before you turn left into the main car park.

I agree that our dinner too was delicious but that the cooked breakfast did not look particularly inviting. To be honest, toast, cheese and cooked meats or cereals, with yogurts, fruit, fruit juices and teas/coffees were simple but enough for us. The equipment was a bit old with a toaster that needed to be manually set and either burnt the toast at low settings or only toasted one side of your slice of bread.

We found that service was generally attentive bar one occasion. When we were hoping to order some drinks from the bar, the one available member of staff spent longer chatting to two other guests (or maybe workmen?) than serving us. A distinct sense of invisibility overwhelmed me for about 5-10 minutes...

The gardens were definitely well worth our time though. About these, given the deal we had, it surprised us that they were not supervised so, in fact, we didn't seem to need this as part of the voucher - no one asked us to see any booking to go in. The grounds are large and maintained by volunteers. The work that has been completed is excellent and if we do go back, I would be really keen to see what they have done to the rest, including the holly maze. Although this does need some TLC, please have a go at it because it is one of the best small mazes I have tried - pretty hard work actually!

All in all, it was a good experience. We enjoyed our stay but after first impressions, we felt that there were some gaps, some in service, some in catering, and some in the external areas you don't immediately see, which do need some refurbishment work, particularly near the Brewery House, where we stayed. I mention this because the main building is beautiful and it would be amazing to see the entire 'hamlet' in full splendour! It'll be about money, though, I guess.

On a final note, and through no fault of the hotel, it's difficult to ignore the loud air traffic noise that comes from the nearby airport. Sadly there's little the hotel can do but it is a shame. If you think it may trouble you, speak to reception. I'm sure they'd be able to help or move you somewhere quieter.

Room Tip: I've heard that the rooms in the main hotel are quieter. I would try to choose those if they blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnalisaCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel offers all the luxuries of an expensive hotel in fantastic surroundings without breaking the bank. On arrival the hall is presented beautifully, staff on the front desk are very helpful and gave us the low down on the area, and ammenities. Although we have stayed in Birmingham before this is slightly further out of town, but is only a 10min drive to the center. Our room (superior) was spacious and clean and offered scenic garden views. En suit walk in shower is modern and finished to a high standard. A real bonus that many hotels seem to lack was the tea and coffee facilities within our room. We were advised of a full english breakfast and were very pleased with the variety of food and service. There are many reasons why this hotel would fulfill a visit to Birmingham, we will be returning.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenfamontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Genting Hotel
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#37 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel

Property: Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel
Address: Chester Road, Birmingham B36 9DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17Th Century Splendour Today Set in 10 acres of beautiful mature walled gardens, Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel is a unique Grade 1 star listed country house hotel that combines understated luxury with an impeccable client focused service. Offering the very finest in dining and accommodation, Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel effortlessly provides high quality hospitality with faultless attention to detail. In a delightfully rural and peaceful setting, guests at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel are taken out of the hustle and bustle of everyday life and transported back to a time where sophistication and elegance presided. Indulge in the surroundings and relax in the ambience of the beautifully restored Sixteenth century building, enjoying the many remaining original features including exposed wooden floors, intricate stone carvings and roaring log fires sympathetically combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. Guests at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel can enjoy both the grace of the past and the pleasures of the present in the Hotel's subtle fusion of the conventional and contemporary. The perfect retreat or the magnificent backdrop. Whether planning a wedding, a business conference, a family occasion or organising a special meal - whatever the reason - a stay at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel will ensure you have an unforgettable time in the very finest of care. Offering a range of beautiful and unique rooms for your event, as well as the exceptional skills of the Hotel's award-winning culinary team, you can be sure that your guests or delegates will be suitably impressed with your choice of venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing