We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Ranked #38 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here last week as we were exhibiting at The NEC. We stayed for 4 nights. all the staff were more than helpful and very polite, Nothing was to much trouble for them.The rooms are large and comfy with everything you require. If its not there, just Ask and you will get what ever you want. The hot breakfast included was very good and served from early morning even on a Sunday, The free WIFI was a great added bonus. We have stayed here before and always been happy with the accommodation and service, Now its even better. Car Park fee £7 per night is quite reasonable compared to other hotels, The staff even kept under control a large number of people who were due to go to LG Arena for a concert which was cancelled at late notice,, we expected some noise or disturbance, Not a sound , Well done night staff....
We will definitely stay again when we are at The NEC.. Thank You All

Room Tip: Rooms on the side car park side of the building are very quiet and away from the front entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Gillian F
Thank you for your review. It’s lovely to hear that all the team made you feel welcome during your stay. We are so pleased that so many of our guests are appreciating the Free Breakfast and WIFI that is included in all Holiday Inn Express rates.
We hope to see you again when you next visit the NEC.
Regards
Fiona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    351
    213
    89
    60
See reviews for
178
270
41
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Positives: Excellent free WiFi. Good place to work in evening (unfortunately!). Good price (as nothing on at NEC).
Negative: Poor TV reception and very limited channel choice. (Why not just provide full Freeview?) Hefty parking charge!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WheelieSlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you took advantage of the free WIFI and you found the price competitive. We are currently reviewing our TV offering and hope to update with full freeview shortly.
Regards
Fiona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel about this time last year to attend the Motorcycle Live event at the NEC and found it to be more than adequate for the price paid. The breakfast on offer is more extensive than other hotels in the chain and there was plenty of it, even though the hotel was busy at the time. Remember, the breakfast is included in the very reasonable price. The rooms are of a standard you would expect in a commercial hotel, you are not paying the price for five star luxury and as long as the bed is comfortable, the sheets are clean and the bathroom is shiny, I think you have what you pay for.

My husband is staying at the hotel this week on business and I am going to join him this evening, along with our faithful Basset Hound, Molly. The staff were pleased to let her stay with us for no extra charge.

The pub next door, The Little Owl, is a Vintage Inn and is lovely and cosy. Prices are reasonable if you do not wish to eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Lisa O
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found the variety in the free breakfast good. We hope you enjoy your stay again this week.
Regards
Fiona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We (family of 4) stayed here after arriving back on a late flight into Birmingham airport. We booked the room with 15 days parking (dropped there before we travelled). We cannot fault this place, the room was very comfy. The bed was heaven to sleep in after our rock hard bed in Turkey and the shower was lovely and hot. Tea and coffee facilities were provided as well as free wi if and a good hearty breakfast was enjoyed the following morning. Loads to choose from, cereals, fruit, yogurts, toast as well as cooked items. I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariecb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's nice to hear that you found the beds comfortable as they have all been recently replaced. We hope to see you again when you next go away on holiday.

Regards
Fiona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I made a block booking here for business, but subsequently cancelled following my first week - opting instead for the B&B's close by.

I was given a room with an adjoining door to another room which didn't feel comfortable as I could hear all conversations and the tv from next door. Not to mention each different guest during my 4 nights attempted opened their half!

My room was also a disability room, which I found surprising as I'm not disabled. Surely this facility could have been better resourced and provided to someone more needing of this.

The bed sheets were old and tatty too, but the chamber maids did a good job make the room look as nice as possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveKerryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear SteveKerryM
I am sorry that you didn’t enjoy your recent stay and that it caused you to cancel future bookings.
I was not aware that there was a problem with sound proofing in the adjourning rooms but will investigate as a matter of urgency.
Although the rooms are accessible with specially adapted walk in showers and more space around the beds they are able to be let out for all guests
If you had contacted reception we would have changed your room as soon as we were able to make your stay more comfortable.
If you wish to discuss further please contact me on 0121 782 3222
Regards
Fiona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Northwest UK
Level Contributor
202 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here recently for one night whilst attending an event at NEC. Check in quick and troublefree even though we arrived earlier than usual check in time. Adjoining rooms. Very clean and comfortable.Reception staff helpful and called cabs to transport us to NEC. Free wifi throughout hotel which is a bonus. worked well with no signal loss. Starbucks machine broken when we arrived back from NEC but we were directed to the drinks dispenser in restaurant to get warm drinks as we were soaked waiting for a cab back from event. Details on website indicate NEC is within walking distance but road not safe as no footpaths.
Breakfast self service. Not fantastic but enough choice to fill up prior to journey home. £7 car parking charge for 4 hrs which is a bit on the steep side.Generally though an OK place to stay nd we had no issues other than the need to use cabs (£5 each way) to NEC. Would probably use again although Hilton and Crowne plaza much more convenient for events.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripsrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your candid review and we are pleased to hear that on the whole your stay was an enjoyable one.
We do advise guests to take a taxi because as you described with no footpaths it can be difficult to walk there. The car parking charge of £7 applies to any stay over 5 hours the first five hours are completely free.
We do hope to welcome you back the next time you visit the area
Regards
Fiona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed very recently and will never stay again the only thing this place has going for it is it's close to NEC
Our room had a skip/ bins beneath and items being thrown in there at all hours not good , noise is a constant problem.
The pillows in rooms are flat and will not be changed even when you ask, so my tip if you stay here would be put towels underneath to some comfort.
Breakfast!! There was a man barefoot in his pjs wandering around, no staff member told him this was inappropriate , so this is the level of clientele and management you are to expect.
We made the huge mistake of having an evening meal here, frankly no just no ! Vile food, chicken was off and meals rubbery , chips undercooked to the point of still being cold and solid in the middle, clearly a catering course would help because so far the training is not working .
Croissant heat section is broken and looks like a health and safety mine field .
On the plus side and yes there is one the.... lifts work ! And some off the staff look like they want to be there, so hang on to them.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie-so7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at the hotel. We do always try to exceed our guest expectations and it seems we fell short of yours.
I would welcome the opportunity to talk to you regarding your stay and would ask you to contact me on 0121 7823222 so that we can talk about stay in more detail.
I hope to address your issues soon.
Regards
Fiona Frawley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
1.0 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Address: Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is a modern hotel located in the grounds of the UK's largest exhibition centre, the National Exhibition Centre, 10 minutes from Birmingham International Airport and Train Station. In addition to free Wi-Fi, facilities at the hotel include evening meals, parking, meeting rooms, licensed bar and prices which always include breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing