We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Ranked #38 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed here for one night while attending a concert at the LG Arena. The hotel was exactly what I was expecting from what was shown on their website. Staff were friendly, speedy check-in and check-out, rooms were clean and modern with good facilities and breakfast was perfectly fine. I don't know what others who complain about the breakfast were expecting but this suited both myself and my husband perfectly fine. Only one disadvantage is that I think this hotel is slightly too far to walk to the LG but apart from that, I definitely wouldn't have any hesitation in staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJT123, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for the time you have taken to review your stay with us whilst visiting the LG Arena. I am pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable also that the team were friendly. I hope we will be able to welcome you and your husband back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    352
    213
    89
    60
See reviews for
180
271
41
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Magor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Holiday Inn Express is ideal for a short break or for staying overnight if going to the NEC/LG Arenas.
We've stayed here several times now - mainly as their prices are cheaper than other 'value' hotels in the area.
The rooms are starting to look a little tired and I see from their response to another review that they are due a refurb. Well if you are, please provide drawers - I really don't want my 'smalls' on a shelf or keep them in my case..oh and a power point by the bed so we can put a phone charger in overnight and use the mobile clock..
Breakfast was fine - not fine dining but good quality and plenty to be had.
The only thing I hate about the hotel is the charging for car parking...why?? When we visited the parking barrier was up and the pay station was covered up. I assumed parking was now free but was charged on checking out. They are having a new system put in for the car park but I still cannot understand why they charge..if they do it so non-guests can go to the NEC/LG then hotel guests should park for free
Another issue - they used to provide a bus service to the LG Arena but they don't do this any longer. They do provide a shuttle to Birmingham International but the last return is 8pm.. not much use when a concert finishes at 10:30pm. We were advised to get a taxi back.. bet the young lady on reception had never tried getting a taxi along with (possibly) hundreds of others..

As long as you remember that this is a 'value' brand you get what you pay for. Comfy bed and bit of brekkie. If you want more then pay double and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: If booking on the 'net see if a double with sofabed is available - usually for same price. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soosieboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJT123, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, also for choosing to stay with us on multiple occasions. I am pleased to read that in general your stay meet with your expectations. Thank you for feedback as the points you have raised do assist us in making improvements to both our product and service. The refurbishment of our bedrooms will be commencing shortly, I hope that you will be returning to the hotel in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn because we wanted to eat at the pub by the side of the hotel, which was a mistake, however, the holiday Inn Express was clean, a little dated but clean non the less. We had a comfortable stay, but missed the size of bed you get at the Premier. Overall, I would stay again, staff very polite. And as the old saying goes, you pay for what you get, and this hotel did exactly what it said on the tin.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJT123, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us, I was pleased to read that your stays with us meet your expectations. We have plans to start refurbishing our bedrooms which is very exciting; I hope that you will choose to stay with us again should your travel plans bring you back to the area to experience our new and improved bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

After reading some of the reviews here you could easliy be put off even considering staying here.
I could not fault the stay I had; clean quiet and comfortable, ideal after travelling and busy days at the NEC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJT123, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for take time to comment on your stay, I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, whilst visiting the NEC. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed over for one night when we were at crufts this year. The room was atrocious! Firstly, I booked a twin and was given a double and was then told that there was no other twin rooms available. The vents at the top of the windows were jammed open so the room was noisy and a draught came in all night.

The shower was not useable - there were two shower heads, one in the position you would expect the shower head to be and the other was attached to the wall adjacent to the taps at the tap height! The one at the top was not connected, the lower one was the only shower head that supplied water. When this shower was turned on the pipe was burst and water sprayed out from the sides.

The tissue box in the bathroom was empty

We were supplied 1 towel each!

There was no remote for the TV.

This experience could not have been any worse and I would warn everyone not to stay here

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJT123, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest, I have a concern that your review may be regarding anouther hotel, as there are no vents at the top of our windows and none of our rooms have two shower heads. However should you wish to discuss your comments please contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

For somewhere to lay your head whilst working or attending a show at the NEC, this is ideal. Nice reception, easy and quick check in,,,,no problems there. Plenty of staff,,,easy
Rooms - bit knackered, tired looking, saggy bed, thin duvet, but this isn't the £170 per night Hilton.
Breakfast....good coffee ,,,but the rest is poor, lousy cheap bacon and sausages, powdered scrambled eggs,,,so give those a miss and have cereal,,,
Best thing about this hotel...2 things...1). You can be in any hall in the NEC in 10ishminutes....and 2) is the fantastic pub next door (the little owl)but I will review that separately.

Room Tip: We booked 3 rooms for 4 nights, all were pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJT123, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for viewing your stay with us, I was pleased to read that on the whole the hotel meet your needs and your approval, my apologies that our complimentary breakfast offering did not meet your expectations, we are continually reviewing our offering and value your feedback. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again should your travel plans bring you back to the NEC in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Excellent everything, what can I say, well from start of booking to checking out the overall experience and customer service received was outstanding.
Booked for a show at the NEC and was thrilled all went to plan, as we know these things sometime dont. My room was lovely and relaxing, quiet and at a good temperature, far too many stays in other brands of hotels fail to offer a nice comfortable temp in the rooms I think.
The bar and looby area were busy but always clean, pleanty of staff around being attentive to all customer needs.
Breakfast was the same, plenty of choice, plenty of staff, comfortable and enjoyable, just what you need when your enjoying your coffee before the start of a busy day.
Check out was swift and efficient and I felt the price reflected my stay.
Overall
Excellent
Efficient
Comfortable
Just what you need when visiting the NEC
:-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJT123, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I was pleased to read that your stay was a comfortable one and our team made you welcome. I do we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
1.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,265 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Address: Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is a modern hotel located in the grounds of the UK's largest exhibition centre, the National Exhibition Centre, 10 minutes from Birmingham International Airport and Train Station. Our modern rooms feature comfy beds, en-suites with power showers and air-conditioning. The rooms are kitted out with everything you need for a relaxing stay including free Wi-Fi, 32-inch TVs with Freeview and a choice of pillows. Tasty evening meals such as pastas, curries and burgers are served in the Great Room daily and you can grab a pint or glass of wine from the bar after a busy day. Our Express Start breakfast is included for every guest. Help yourself to toast, pastries, cereals, porridge, bacon bap or a helping of scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans. The hotel has ample parking and is charged at £8 per night for residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing