We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again, a great stay. Basic but clean, convenient and just fine!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Ranked #37 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Again, a great stay. Basic but clean, convenient and just fine!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I had room 309 this time and I find myself liking this hotel more and more. It's so close to the NEC and road network, the bar is perfectly fine, the breakfast ditto, but the best thing for me in the Little Owl next door - I love that place!

Room Tip: I think they're all much a much-ness!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelBrittain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    366
    221
    92
    61
See reviews for
187
278
42
350
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for one night and parked the car here for 8 days. The hotel was clean, warm and comfy and now provides a free breakfast which is adequate, the parking facilities are good and there is a great pub nearby with good food.

Room Tip: Good value parking with clean, comfy rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigjoey1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express NEC the night before we flew to Mexico, leaving the car for two weeks.

We paid less than £70 booking through HolidayExtras.com for the night, including breakfast and 15 nights parking. The room was very comfortable and although the bar and restaurant was a bit like a Motorway service station we didn't care because of the value for money.

We booked a taxi to the airport which took us door to door for £9 which although costing more than the hotel shuttle to the railway station was more convenient

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantonian57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The bed was very comfortable and it was nice to have a choice between firm and soft pillows. Breakfast was a bit pants though... not much selection and the usual luke warm food. The pub next door is nice though. Oh, and the parking arrangements suck - the barriers seem to randomly up or down and you cannot always get a ticket from the entry barrier. Free wireless would be good too. But as a place to rest your head after a day at the NEC, it's fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myriad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a return trip for me and I thought I'd do another review to see if the hotel had improved.

In essence the rooms are fine. They are clean, spacious and quite functional for a short stay if you are on business and are using the business park location. There is no free wireless.

The biggest problem I have is the breakfast. In this day and age, surely the cooked breakfast can be stretched to more than luke warm scrambled egg, an overcooked wrinkled sausage and warm beans. The rest of the option available was cereal, small croissants and juice which had never seen the inside of a fruit. Very poor.

Its a shame Holiday Inn don't read these reviews !! Some simple non expensive additions would improve this considerably

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonndJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear SimonndJulie,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I apologize you were not fully satisfied with the breakfast during your stay. We do value the comments we receive from our guests as these help us improve the quality and service that we offer. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Business meetings at Birmingham business park made this the most convenient hotel as could walk (but path takes a little finding)

Recommend the faux old pub (ie roof deliberately built crooked !) next door - excellent food and service.

In room TV a bit of a letdown (again) as not full freeview (only a selection) and no digital text.

Breakfast a little too reheated but edible no the less
Would stay there again without hesitation

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerTimUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed 2 nights whilst attending a trade show at the NEC because it is close to the venue. On the plus side the rooms are clean and functional with a comfy bed and good shower. Unfortunately some of the staff have a poor attitude and give the impression that they are doing you a favour in just serving you and as I got one of these people for my check in it was not a great start.
The breakfast selection is poor and with only a little more effort could be so much better.
Finally being charged £8 per night to park your car in the car park really confirms that they believe you are sheep waiting to be fleeced!
If you need to stay somewhere to attend a function at the NEC it is convenient but dont expect to enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Owl34,

Thank you for your feedback and choosing our hotel. It delights me that you found the rooms clean and beds comfortable. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I'm sorry the breakfast selection, parking policy and service you received from our staff did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
1.0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
1.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Address: Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is a modern hotel located in the grounds of the UK's largest exhibition centre, the National Exhibition Centre, 10 minutes from Birmingham International Airport and Train Station. Our modern rooms feature comfy beds, en-suites with power showers and air-conditioning. The rooms are kitted out with everything you need for a relaxing stay including free Wi-Fi, 32-inch TVs with Freeview and a choice of pillows. Tasty evening meals such as pastas, curries and burgers are served in the Great Room daily and you can grab a pint or glass of wine from the bar after a busy day. Our Express Start breakfast is included for every guest. Help yourself to toast, pastries, cereals, porridge, bacon bap or a helping of scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans. The hotel has ample parking and is charged at £8 per night for residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing