We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for the Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Ranked #37 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
557 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Handy for the Airport”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

A group of 10 of us stayed before flying off to Italy. The hotel is easy to find and very close to the airport. The breakfast is good value. The rooms are good for the money. The Little Owl restaurant is next door and good value for money, with a large menu. The hotel is clean and tidy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wraxall_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    366
    221
    92
    61
See reviews for
187
278
42
350
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

A nice hotel with pub next door serving nice food (slightly pricey) plenty of parking spaces great breakfast a good variety of hot and cold food and drink and a good nights sleep room a decent size a good shower great value no problem at all will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_H_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We are regular business visitors to the NEC & always prefer the Holiday Inn Express - good value and comfortable, with wonderful showers.
This time we went to the adjacent Little Owl pub/restaurant which has been excellent, only to be bitterly disapointed with the main courses. But the calamari were excellent to start with.
The hotel itself was over-run with 2 coaches of Oriental school kids. Sadly the staff seemed un-prepared for this onslaught on breakfasts, and were out of all sausages and bacon for 30 minutes. Apparently the kids were very noisy in corridors overnight too, and the night manager was reluctant to demand that the teachers should keep them under control!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Caroline P,

Thank you for always staying with us and taking the time to post a review of our property. I am delighted that find our accommodations comfortable. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for the negative impression you may have had because of the noise by other guests. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually. Again, thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just to sleeping when on exhibition…. The rooms are ok - clean and quite (well not during exhibitions......) The bar is nice and completely full during exhibition times.... Service is ok, but I have to admit that I get a bit frustrated of the non-smooking English hotels....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OptiCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Arrived very early in the morning 2am after a flight to be greeted by a very enthusiastic and helpful employee. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. It is very close to the airport so great after a late flight or to catch an early one. Will use this again, breakfast was self service and adequate. The staff were all very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

great choice and value to stop over night before our holiday staff on reception excellent room excellent and location close to airport and would reccomend will use again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazboo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here overnight for a concert at the LG Arena.
We went to the pub next door for a meal before the concert and ate at the hotel for breakfast. Plenty of choice for breakfast,all self service in the large restaurant.
Room was fine, bed comfy, lots of hot water and a good shower. Tea/coffee facilities provided.

we caught the free shuttle to the station to get to the concert and a taxi back afterwards.

All in all a very pleasant stay, excellent location for the LG arena and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThurlbyReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
1.0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
1.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Address: Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is a modern hotel located in the grounds of the UK's largest exhibition centre, the National Exhibition Centre, 10 minutes from Birmingham International Airport and Train Station. Our modern rooms feature comfy beds, en-suites with power showers and air-conditioning. The rooms are kitted out with everything you need for a relaxing stay including free Wi-Fi, 32-inch TVs with Freeview and a choice of pillows. Tasty evening meals such as pastas, curries and burgers are served in the Great Room daily and you can grab a pint or glass of wine from the bar after a busy day. Our Express Start breakfast is included for every guest. Help yourself to toast, pastries, cereals, porridge, bacon bap or a helping of scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans. The hotel has ample parking and is charged at £8 per night for residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing