We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Ranked #56 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Although the receptionist on arrival was very helpful and friendly from that point onwards it was just awful. I had a room in the 'rabbit warren' of corridors and it was not easy to find. The room smelt terrible and although it was clean the smell was still overpowering. I could not sleep as very loud music was playing because of an event happening in one of their conference rooms. I had to fly from the airport early so there was no breakfast and, anyway it was extortionately priced at £11.95. In fact all the food was very overpriced with (for example) a bog standard curry priced at £17.95!! So don't stay here. The only good thing about this place was the free shuttle service to the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Kenneth G,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. It is good to know you appreciate our helpful staff and hotel shuttle service. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered due to the unusual smell of the room and for the negative impression you had with the rates of the food encountered. We will certainly discuss your comments with the appropriate department. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,122 - 1,128 of 1,758 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

We went to a 60th party there last night and it was a mixture of parties which was good as there were about 3/4 different groups, it was a back to school night and an 80's theme. The main problem was the price of drinks, 5 quid a pint and around 20 quid for a bottle of wine that you can pay 6 quid for at an off licence which is what we did as well as vodka !! There is no justification for charging these prices. And as for the food, well, where do you start. €20 a head, for , cold chips, that tasted like cardboard, masses of sheperds pie, cold pizza, and the rest looked like what you would see if you piled the lot into one serving dish, and mashed it up! Truly disgusting. And it was buffet style and most of the food was cold, holiday inn certainly know how to serve up trash. Will never go here ever again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Steve G,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant and bar you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guests in the future. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

most of the reviews are a long way out regards this hotel--yes it definately needs a refurbishment and also the food is pricey but the room we had was nice and clean and the food was good and we both had a good nights sleep--the check in was good and the bed was very comfortable and service was excellent considering the girl who was serving the bar was very busy serving food as well---she was excellent so please do not take much notice of some reviews

Room Tip: only thing i can say that we was in room 235 which was very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBirminghamAirport, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Lewform

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay with us.

It is pleasing to read such positive comments. I will ensure that your positive feedback is passed onto the member of staff serving you in the Bar.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

kind regards

Kelly Tyrrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Had a room at the front of the hotel which was noisy due to the dual carriageway yards from the entrance. I would ask for a room at the rear if stay again. Bar area seems to be a gathering place for staff to have a wag which was annoying at times. I was the only diner in the restaurant that evening which was peculiar as the chefs food was well above par ? Room was good apart from the outside noise, but I can't understand why the nice carpet was so badly fitted. It was rippled everywhere with the furniture being moved. Odd. Back to the chef ; I can only presume the breakfast version was a different chap as it was appalling. I came down at 7 which was only half an hour after it supposedly opened. The beans had a crust, the scrambled eggs were watery mush and the fried eggs were solid. More annoyingly, the bacon was stone cold. Totally unacceptable for a start to the day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alfanumeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Alfanumeric,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel overnight before flying from Birmingham airport. Unfortunately when we arrived we were told we were not booked in. However this was quickly resolved and were given a free upgrade. The room was excellent and we both had a really good night's sleep. Room service was good and the staff were most helpful. We would definitely stay over again when flying from Birmingham.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBirminghamAirport, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Sally T

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay with us.

It is pleasing to read such positive comments regarding your stay. I will ensure that your positive feedback is passed onto the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Kelly Tyrrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were travelling and needed a place to lay our heads - we were tired and ready for a break. The hotel was a good choice. The staff at 'Check In' were absolutely friendly and very efficient. The General Manager was very professional, met us at the lobby and introduced himself with a warm welcome. The room was clean and well equipped with the essentials. A little road noise and some train noise but didn't impede our stay. The breakfast the next morning was 'made to order' from the buffet and the wait staff quick to serve coffee and was very friendly; I would stay again! Pass the word . . . . . this is the place to for weary travelers to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weary_traveler611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBirminghamAirport, Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear weary_traveler611

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay with us.

It is pleasing to read such positive comments. I will ensure that your positive words are passed onto the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Kelly Tyrrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I have been to this hotel before on business, and the expensive 5* rooms are fantastic. This time we were put in the basic rooms and it wasn't a good experience.

The bed is incredibly hard and the duvet so thin it may as well be a sheet. The walls were so thin you can hear the neighbours using the toilet, and the housekeepers laugh and chat away down the corridors from 7am - not a good wake up call. I had to clean the wardrobe shelves myself in order to put my clothes on there.

Service was quick in the bar and prices ok. All food was massively over priced and bland. It is good for locations, with the city centre only a shuttle bus and train away.

Front desk receptionists have a terrible attitude and are incredibly unhelpful. It's also £8.50 per night for parking!!

Just go somewhere else :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Cassie E,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate this experience was not up to the standards of your previous stay. We were glad to see your experience at the bar was a highlight of your stay. We do take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention and improvement. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
1,237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#26 of 118 in Birmingham
2,502 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
0.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
1.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport

Address: 1270 Coventry Road, Birmingham B25 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $64 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel is located just minutes from Jct 6 of the M42, & is only 1.5 mile from Birmingham International Airport & Birmingham International Train Station with easy access to the revitalized Birmingham city centre.The hotel enjoys close proximity (1.5 mile) to National Exhibition Centre (NEC).Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport is a contemporary upscale hotel which offers modern bedrooms with High Speed Internet Access,and Wifi in public areas and conference rooms. The hotel offers a wide range of conference and meeting facilities that can accommodate up to 170 people.With a wide range of food experiences, light modern dishes from The Flight Bar and a fine dining experience in The Grill Room Restaurant created by award winning Chef 'Marcus Renzi'. Alternativley treat yourself to our In Room Dining available 24 hrs a day.Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport offers Airport Parking both onsite and offsite at very competitive rates. Either flying for business or leisure, you can benefit from our Park and Go packages which include one night's accommodation and car parking for up to 15 days with airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing