We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocking!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Ranked #55 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shocking!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We bought a deal from KGB which included a room for 2 people sharing, spa access, 3 course meal each, a movie and breakfast. 10 of us booked to go and everyone of us had one problem or another on are rooms including damp and electrical faults. We all had fridges in are rooms but only 2 of them would open. The spa was far from a spar, a small pool and a steam room, the movie facility wasn't on due to a "technical issue" the 3 course meal was not from the hotels menu but a piece of paper with a printed menu which was very basic and the food was terrible and very small portions, they charged £8 for a side dish of veg. We went to the hotel bar after and was to we couldn't use are bank cards to buy drinks and we couldn't charge drinks to are rooms, we were asked to travel to the next hotel to use there bank (which charged). So we reuenes to are rooms to find the fridges that had originally worked and we had filled, were now locked, at reception they tried to charge us to use the fridge which we refused and spent 30 minutes arguing about them opening it for us to take out are belongings. This hotel was disgusting!!!! Totally shocking. I'd never ever stay there again. Even with the deal it wasn't worth it

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauracharlie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Lauracharlie85,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    472
    355
    205
    163
See reviews for
202
353
88
646
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I held a workshop here and the events staff were outstanding. Very clean, good projector, nice lunch with several choices of hot and cold food (and a very good breakfast with a choice of full english or continental which is what I had so I was not to full to host the workshop) The attendees gave the venue a good score on our feedback forms. Conveniently located 3 minutes away from the M42 / Bristol airport. Rooms soundproofed against noise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan Y, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Michael P,

Thank you for your great comments following your workshop here at the hotel.

It is always rewarding for the team to recieve such positive feedback.

We look forward to working with you in the future.

Kind Regards
Ryan Y
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a Christmas night out with a customer.
Checkin - no issues and very friendly desk staff and speed of checkin process was great. Recognised as a gold member as well which doesn't always happen at some hotels.
Room - clean and updated as was bathroom, but very cold and air con didn't seem to warm it at all. Also no wifi which was a shock and major issue as had forgotten my Ethernet adapter for my mac book so couldn't use the Internet or do any work.
Bar - slow service as there never seemed to be anyone there and they would come running from reception area. So not sure if they were just chatting up girls on reception or if they where actually busy doing something. Also charging just short of a fiver for a beer is far too expensive for the location of this hotel. I get cheaper beer at the Radisson at Manchester airport and its a better hotel.
Night - well all was good till firealarm woke me up, but to be fair unlike a lot of hotels they actually went round every room to check.
Checkout - speedy again and an apology for the firealarm so that was nice.
Would I stay here again, not sure to be honest potentially.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan Y, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Domonic C,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us.

I apologise that not all aspects of your stay were to the standard you would expect, however am pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us.

As one of our valued Gold Priority Club members, the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Ryan Y
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

A 2 course Sunday lunch was the deal and 4 of us had booked. A friend had a starter of liver pâté served with toast and chutney. The toast was cold and rubbery but she said the pâté was quite tasty. Then we had our main course, 3 having beef while I had pork. The pork was good, well cooked and moist but the potatoes were hard and dry and the carrots and sprouts were frozen so rather tasteless. The beef was rather dry and disappointing. 3 of us then had treacle sponge and custard. They were only luke warm and there was very little custard Strangely it had a raspberry sauce drizzled across the pudding which made it excessively sweet. The sponge, however was quite light. I won't go back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank yvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear yvt,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Start on a good point - VERY close to airport with free shuttle service.

Now - check in for a 2night stay as expected- get to to room- VERY SMALL DARK AND TIRED- marks up the wall - bath tap leaking water- smelt funny- view out of window was a wall!

Complain at reception and are told we have to pay to upgrade to an execuitve room -

WE BOOKED AN EXECUITVE ROOM.

Eventually get the executive room we booked- much better room- still marks up the wall and the carpets loose fitted- my fiancèe tripped over the loose carpet and injured her toe!

Nice pool and jacuzzi - get out of pool to find the towels that should be in changing room have ran out ! !

Dont eat at the hotel- extremly poor quality food- everything VERY over cooked- all looked like microwave cooked but at resturant prices! £10.95 for a salad !!!

Resturant was closed so had to eat in bar with everyone sat watching football ! Some romantic meal that was !

Rude bar staff who pretended he had messed up our order, I didnt find this funny at all.

Breakfast average quaility -

As a regular Holiday Inn visitor this is not one that i will be returning to.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrStevens000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan Y, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear MrStevens000,

I am sorry to read your recent comments and apologise we did not meet your expectation. I always say to our customers in order for us to resolve positively its best to contact me so I can investigate into your issues and resolve these issues for you.

I have left my details below and hope to hear from you,

Best regards,
Ryan Yallop
Front Office Manager
guestrelations@hiairport.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Norwich, Norfolk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had stayed here a few years ago, prior to flying from Norwich Airport and were happy with the hotel then. However, this experience was completely different. We arrived 30 minutes early and the receptionist did not check if our room was ready, despite the hotel having plenty of available rooms, but insisted we wait in reception until the due time. Our room was downstairs and the corridor smelt very mouldy. We walked past food trays left outside rooms from the night before (which were still there that evening). Our room was compact, but clean, and the bed comfortable. There was no decent view outside. I tried to have a shower before bed, but the water was only lukewarm. It took a long time to come through the taps the next day, but was a more acceptable temperature. We chose to eat out that evening but did have breakfast at the hotel. The decor seemed very dated in the restaurant, but the chef was welcoming and the staff on duty that morning were polite.Surprised to have to pay for parking.We completed a feedback form when we left, but did not get a response, and do not intend staying here again, when there are much nicer hotels nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreabocelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan Y, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Andreabocelli,

Thank you for your review - I apologise we did not meet all of your expectations however happy to read that you had a comfortable stay and you found the service friendly.

Thank you for your time, if you would like to return in the future, please contact myself directly so we can try our best to accommodate any needs you require.

Best regards
Ryan Yallop
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Just stayed over night with breakfast, the room was very comfortable and clean, breakfast was also good value, corridor noise was a problem over the late evening but it was party time so i suppose it was expected. overall the stay and the staff was very agreeable.
Definately would stop here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan Y, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Eric T,

Thank you for your review. Its great to hear that you had a pleasent and comfortable stay.

The team and I look forward to having you back with us again soon!

Kind Regards
Ryan Yallop
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.9 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,259 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
1,730 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Address: 1270 Coventry Road, Birmingham B25 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel is located just minutes from Jct 6 of the M42, & is only 1.5 mile from Birmingham International Airport & Birmingham International Train Station with easy access to the revitalized Birmingham city centre.The hotel enjoys close proximity (1.5 mile) to National Exhibition Centre (NEC).Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport is a contemporary upscale hotel which offers modern bedrooms with High Speed Internet Access,and Wifi in public areas and conference rooms. The hotel offers a wide range of conference and meeting facilities that can accommodate up to 170 people.With a wide range of food experiences, light modern dishes from The Flight Bar and a fine dining experience in The Grill Room Restaurant created by award winning Chef 'Marcus Renzi'. Alternativley treat yourself to our In Room Dining available 24 hrs a day.Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport offers Airport Parking both onsite and offsite at very competitive rates. Either flying for business or leisure, you can benefit from our Park and Go packages which include one night's accommodation and car parking for up to 15 days with airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing