We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than normal HI”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Ranked #55 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Rutland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than normal HI”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I really liked this hotel. It's a bit noisy being right by the airport and the hotel was maxed out when I got there but the room was very comfortable and quiet. All the amenities were included (especially an iron and ironing board). The restaurant and lounge are were very nice. Staff was cordially and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan Y, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Jeffrey L,

Thank you for sending through the wonderful feedback, it's great to have your opinion.

I am not sure if you have plans to return, however let us know when your next in the area as we would be delighted to look after you once again!

Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Ryan Yallop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    496
    376
    210
    171
See reviews for
222
378
91
680
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

One night stay for function at Hilton metropole. Lovely modern rooms recently refurbished. Everything we needed except heat the thermostat didn't appear to work. Didn't use facilities as at a function. Found parking easy. Breakfast was quick and plenty. Paid £100 for two people for one night (only hotel with vacancies on that night) Would stay here again if could get at better price. Very happy.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whingefreezone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan Y, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Whingefreezone,

Thank you for sending through the wonderful feedback, it's great to have your opinion.

I am not sure if you have plans to return, however let us know when your next in the area as we would be delighted to look after you once again!

Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Ryan Yallop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer in Bonnie Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Please read carefully all the terrible reviews shown for this hotel I have stayed there but never again.The different points raised are all valid but would remind readers that normally all Holiday Inns especially in Scotland are very good and should not be put off staying in them despite this poor hotel.As a Priority club member it was especially disappointing having to explain to the manager that he should close the rooms I was in, as there was no working TV and the heating system was faulty,.to his credit he did this.The comment concerning the front desk amused me,I was accused to having read a Sunday paper at early morning checkout even though I had not ordered the paper,it was added to my bill and I left it behind and asked for the item to be removed from the bill,,the receptionist in the huff tore the bill up and gave me another one..This was the first time as a member I was subjected to such treatment and would in future look carefully at Trip Advisor before booking

Room Tip: Do not use the ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polarross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Polarross,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Rewards member and taking the time to write our property a review. I am disappointed to hear about your experience regarding your recent stay with us. I want to assure you that our hotel is proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. Please accept my sincerest apology for falling short of your expectations on this day, especially with the staff service and room accommodations you received.

We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

SOUTHMINSTER
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I booked a queen double using a groupon deal for Friday / Saturday (12th/13th October 2012)
The room was spacious and clean, more than adequate for our needs. After unpacking we quickly changed into swim wear and used the very appealing pool, jacuuzzi and sauna which I would strongly recommend.
The menu was a bit dissapointing as nothing but omelette for my wife who has coeliac disorder (so no gluten wheat etc) but we used room service on the Friday as we were not sure if there were any other food options in the area and had no desire to drive again after the 3 hour trip. The Hotel offers a free courtesy transfer to the train station which ajoins the NEC (approx 5 mins drive) so we used this on Saturday morning. However the return service was not running when we were ready to go back to the Hotel so we wasted over an hour waiting at the red bus stop before calling the Hotel to find the mini bus was not running. Then had to wait another 20 minutes for a taxi to arrive which to the Hotel's credit was booked and paid for by them. Checked the internet when we got back and found a Harvester which was a 10 minute walk up the Coventry road on the same side as the Hotel and had a good meal (with choices for my wife) so all good. Incidentally breakfast was an excellent self service buffet with attentive waitress service for tea and coffee.
On the whole a very enjoyable experience and a recommended Hotel.which is very close to the airport but you do not hear any noise whatsoever.

Room Tip: Queen doubles are spacious, try and get a room facing the car park as no noise from the airport behi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHIL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan Y, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sending through the wonderful feedback, it's great to have your opinion.

I am not sure if you have plans to return, however let us know when your next in the area as we would be delighted to look after you once again!

Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Ryan Yallop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds Uk
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel is right near the airport, you can see the runway from the hotel. Front of house is a little cramped and the staff seem a little stressed.
Rooms have had a bit of modernization, but the standard is not up to the usual Holiday Inn I found generally this hotel seems a little tired around the edges. Beds were the plus point they are comfortable. The bathroom is cramped and dated but clean.

Food in the restaurant was really nice.

The car park is too small for the hotel and finding a space can be a problem plse the is a charge of £15.00 for 24 hours parking including guests.

If I was flying from Birmingham again I might consider this again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrism1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan Y, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review - I apologise we did not meet all of your expectations however happy to read that you had a comfortable stay and you found the service friendly.

Thank you for your time, if you would like to return in the future, please contact myself directly so we can try our best to accommodate any needs you require.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here recently for one night between connecting flights.
The room was in good condition and the bed comfortable. The public areas need a bit of work, they look a bit battered.
Unfortunately, I was suprised to note that on arrival at the airport, I could find no directions to the hotel, no courtesy phone etc - really not good enough for an "airport" hotel. Eventually ended up getting the phone number off the internet (the mobile site is rubbish by the way - you have to pretend to be interested in booking a room before you can get the phone number) and ringing the hotel to arrange for courtesy transport.
The hotel is a few minutes by car from the arrivals hall - don't attempt to walk it.
There is a courtesy bus at certain times of the day.
This hotel has a lot of room to improve - definitely the first step would be adequate signage and a courtesy phone at arrivals - but all in all it served me well as a quiet place to lay my head for a few hours.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfw100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan Y, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review - I apologise we did not meet all of your expectations however happy to read that you had a comfortable stay and you found the service friendly.

Thank you for your time, if you would like to return in the future, please contact myself directly so we can try our best to accommodate any needs you require.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed here for the past 3 nights (10/10/2012 to 12/10/2012) and although the staff where very helpful and friendly, the state of the room was anything but desirable! Firstly, upon checking into the room I noticed the carpet had not been hoovered for what seemed like weeks! Secondly, when it came to go to bed the mattress was so soft and bouncy that myself or my partner could not get any decent sleep!!!!! The mattresses NEED to be changed for new mattresses ASAP and the cleaning staff need to improve somewhat, especially for the prices they charge!

I can only say, I will not be staying there again! My advice is to book somewhere else!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valentina882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear valentina882,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, We’re sorry about the mattress and the poor housekeeping service. We will address this points and assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#40 of 117 in Birmingham
1,064 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#26 of 117 in Birmingham
1,825 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
0.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Address: 1270 Coventry Road, Birmingham B25 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel is located just minutes from Jct 6 of the M42, & is only 1.5 mile from Birmingham International Airport & Birmingham International Train Station with easy access to the revitalized Birmingham city centre.The hotel enjoys close proximity (1.5 mile) to National Exhibition Centre (NEC).Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport is a contemporary upscale hotel which offers modern bedrooms with High Speed Internet Access,and Wifi in public areas and conference rooms. The hotel offers a wide range of conference and meeting facilities that can accommodate up to 170 people.With a wide range of food experiences, light modern dishes from The Flight Bar and a fine dining experience in The Grill Room Restaurant created by award winning Chef 'Marcus Renzi'. Alternativley treat yourself to our In Room Dining available 24 hrs a day.Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport offers Airport Parking both onsite and offsite at very competitive rates. Either flying for business or leisure, you can benefit from our Park and Go packages which include one night's accommodation and car parking for up to 15 days with airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing