We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practically perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jurys Inn Birmingham
Ranked #20 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Practically perfect”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our family of 4 (2 adults 2 children) chose to stay at the Jury's inn Birmingham mainly because it was the best deal at the time price wise. However, I also had a small check list which included location, large enough room for our family, comfortable big beds and clean. The Jury's inn ticked all these boxes and made our stay practically perfect.
The only down side was that this hotel is bang in the middle of Broad street in the city which has clubs and restaurants in abundance. Perfect for groups of lads and/or girls, hen parties and stag do's. Unfortunately this meant there was quite a lot of noise which kept us awake. We made one call to the reception and this was nipped in the bud by the very assertive manager who also kept us well informed.
There were plenty of staff available who were very friendly, giving activity packs to my young daughter at breakfast and asking if we needed anything more. The buffet breakfast was the usual, cooked and continental, perfect for a hangover cure but also provides a healthy option of fruit and cereal.
Overall I would definately stay here again and may be back with the girls for a night on the town followed by shopping the next day. Both are within walking distance and the Jury's inn is the perfect location for exploring the city on foot.

Room Tip: We had two double beds and a cot for our family or two adults, a 4 yr old and a baby. Plenty of spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatW1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,357
    1,482
    634
    200
    161
See reviews for
597
1,056
124
1,198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Lets get the positives out of the way first.

This is a modern hotel in a great city centre location with the added benefit of 'on-site' car parking. The decor is up to date and cosmetically the hotel looks great.

The staff appear to genuinely care about providing great customer experience and all were friendly, cheerful and very helpful. Special praise to Paulina A (bar staff) who was a star performer! Provided great service with a cheerful disposition.

Ok now for the one negative experience. I travel extensively for work and stay in numerous hotels across the country but I have seldom experienced such a poor experience at breakfast service!!!

The breakfast is buffet style and quite frankly I have seen better organised chimps tea parties!!

I arrived in the restaurant and waited for someone to take my room number. She then smiled and said help yourself and sit where you like! Give that most tables were either occupied or waiting to be cleared there wasn't anywhere to sit! As I was travelling alone the fact that seating is not allocated meant that I had to get my breakfast first and then wonder expectantly around the restaurant looking for somewhere to sit. Eventually I sat at a table waiting to be cleared as there was no where else free! Once I had finished my fruit and yogurt I wanted some eggs and toast so I be tired back to the buffet. By the time I was served and returned to my table it had been occupied by another guest. I can't blame them but it did mean I had trawl around the restaurant again looking for a seat! This time with my luke warm eggs getting colder by the minute!!

To say the whole set up is a shambles would be an understatement!!! In the end I gave up and dumped my plate on the side grabbed a coffee (cheap and dispensed by an automated be vending machine!) and a banana and returned to my room! The food was also cheap and mass produced! Not what you'd expect in a hotel of this standard these days. I have had better experience at budget lodge type inns on the M6!

Breakfast service really needs to be sorted as it is letting what is otherwise a great experience down!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southwalesguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

On business my first room had not been made up reallocated to another quickly given free wifi for the inconvenience. Nice meal staff very helpful as a woman alone on business I felt ok not uncomfortable. Good breakfast shower did not work but I forgot to tell staff. Could do with free wifi

Room Tip: Room fine no worries
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bmartin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Clubs playing loud music until early hours and my room was on the 13th floor...
I would never had stayed there apart from my company booked me in.. I will never stay in one of these again... You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhbnnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall M, Manager at Jurys Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Jurys Inn Birmingham. All feedback is important to us so we can help improve the standard of service and customer care we deliver to all our guests.

We are very disappointed that your stay was affected by music from a nearby club. All our rooms are fitted with double glazing which is sound tested to ensure external noise does not disrupt your stay, however on this occasion it has. I would very much like the opportunity to discuss this with you further and I am contactable on the below email address.

Kindest Regards,


Niall Mitchell
Deputy General Manager
Jurys Inn Birmingham
Niall_Mitchell@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

On the plus side this is a great location for the centre of Birmingham and also the night life. The rooms are also large, clean and offer great value for money. However, it's not perfect. Check in was clumsy - big queue, no advice re timings for breakfast or offer of calls etc, and I had to ask for my credit card back after they had swiped because they forgot to return it. Car parking is an additional £14.20 per day and breakfast £10. I would agree with the previous reviewer. The lifts are very noisy and my room wasn't particularly near them. They were noisy all night and sounded more like a passing train. I would recommend that you ask for a room as far away from the lifts as you can on check in. Overall good value and I would stay again but room for improvement.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton,Uk
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

For those looking to explore birmingham at night this is the place to be. It located right in the centre of broad street with easy access to Chinese quarter and the mailbox which is a 10 minute walk around the canal. Supermarket ,cineworld ,theatre, nightclubs all are within a ten minute walk and it has its own parking though I have to say it is a bit expensive.
For those looking for a quiet walk at night, book elsewhere. The restaurant pushkar on the ground floor serves award winning indian food. I would again recommend Jimmy spices which is just two minute away from the hotel.
Book early as it can be a bit on the pricey side over the weekends.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindreadingmystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here early July for 1 night mid week. The hotel staff are very friendly and offer good service.

The room itself was large with a large bathroom & clean, comfy bed.

Small irks with the hotel:
No free wifi and the car park is not free if you drive to the hotel (£14.20/day)
Also, the lifts are loud when they move and from what I understand of some other guests in my group, they also heard it noises.

The hotel is on broad street, which in the centre if Birmingham so there is lots and lots of choice for food, drink and entertainment. The canal is only a 2 minute walk away as well.

All considered I would stay again, but would listen for lift noises earlier (rather than the dead if night)!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loungelizaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,027 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,449 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#42 of 117 in Birmingham
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Birmingham

Property: Jurys Inn Birmingham
Address: 245 Broad St, Birmingham B1 2HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#31 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jurys Inn Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Birmingham is located on Broad Street in the middle of Birmingham city centre. The hotel is in close proximity (4 minute walk) to the International Convention Centre (ICC) and the National Indoor Arena (NIA), as well as a short train ride to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC). The hotel is conveniently close to Birmingham New Street (10 min walk) and other transport links making it ideal for business guests. Jurys Inn Birmingham features all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car the hotel offers onsite paid car parking with 200 spaces available. The hotel has 445 spacious, comfortable bedrooms suitable for up to 3 adults or 2 adults/2 children sharing. All rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious and modern bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi throughout. Guests who book direct can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Birmingham at Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Jurys Inn Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Jurys Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing