We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jurys Inn Birmingham
Ranked #22 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Rooms very spacious. Like that there is an iron and ironing board in room. Large bed with 3 pillows wide. JMattress just right for me being firm but not hard. good tea and coffe selection in room and topped up each day
Bar service improved since last visit in December but hampered by guests hogging the bar and not moving and turning their back on you when trying t get served. Bar staff do their best to serve and pass drinks across some ignorant people. Prices are dear tgough
Reception staff excellent and recommended free newspapers on reception desk instead of buying a separate one. Buffet breakfast is OK. Nothing special but not a waste either. Toast needs to go in twice for a good colour but is quicker than most toasters I have used in hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms numbered 29 and 30 on allfloors. Near service lift which soulds like an airplane flying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hottoddy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurysBirminghamMgmt, Manager at Jurys Inn Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear hottoddy0,

Firstly thank you for taking the time out of your day to write your review - it is very much appreciated. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Best regards
Anthony
Anthony Barrett
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,324 - 4,330 of 4,442 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

I helped run a conference here and although the rooms are nice and the location good for restaurants (a little too much nightlife outside the door as next to nightclubs), the actual conference side was a nightmare.

Firstly, I needed to print a short document. This took an hour - no printing facilities at all. Our rooms were changed after materials were printed so people spent the weekend confused about where they were going. Booked audio equipment didn't turn up and we were asked to 'work more quietly' in a workshop session despite our session simply being relatively quiet group work. The initial room bookings had also been messed up.

The staff did try to help but they were simply not working with the knowledge, support or resources they needed.

Lunch was good. Breakfast ok.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurysBirminghamMgmt, Manager at Jurys Inn Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Lisa J

I hope that you are keeping well. Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us.
I am delighted to see that you had a nice stay but sorry to read about the problems that you had encountered. I was unaware of the problems that you have noted and so if you would like to contact me direct with the hotel I would be delighted to personally look into these for you as I am very surprised to hear of such an instance. You can email me at anthony_barrett@jurysinns.com.

Kindest regards
Anthony
Anthony Barrett
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I originally booked a room through booking.com as it was the cheapest offer. I paid £29.50 for a standard double room. It was ridiculously cheap and certainly worth the money. The rooms are of a good size. We had 2 double beds, extra bedding and the shower was great. We did not eat at the hotel as there are plenty of cheaper options nearby but we were only looking for a reasonably cheap night out so that suited us. We also brought our own wine which was a good job because I paid £10 for 3 bottles of Echo Falls which the hotel was charging just over £20 for 1 bottle of the same.The lifts in the morning were rather noisy ( i think it must have been service lifts as we were far from the regular lifts ) but we were listening to the radio anyway so it didn't bother us. Staff were friendly...we didn't get the third degree when we asked for 2 empty wine glasses from the bar staff and reception were polite . We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the service lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shinny72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

this hotel was excellant rooms quite big and clean and everything you need for an overnight stay the reception staff were freindly and extremly helpful nothing was too much trouble extra towels glasses and cups were provided i would recommend this hotel without a minutes hesitation its also very close to brindley place and the nightlife on broad street is fantastic .......so well done jurys inn you made out stay very enjoyable all five of us were very happy .....amazing carnt wait for our next visit x

Room Tip: any room i would say the higher up you are the better ......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went up for the Christmas Market in December (which is well worth a visit - terrific selection of stalls and a real Christmas spirit) and picked Jury's Inn mainly for it's Broad Street location which is close to the Market. Nicely appointed rooms and as most of the rooms are well above street level you are not troubled by noise, even at the weekend. We got a rate that included breakfast but be warned that whilst the food is of reasonable quality, its complete chaos at the weekend and not even close to a leisurely experience. Fine if you are a group and just want somewhere convenient to crash after shopping or clubbing but not the sort of place you'd want to spend a special weekend break. In fact, steer clear of Broad Street full stop for a relaxing break as there are similarly priced hotels in more suitable locations around the city centre.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim&AlanCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This place is spotless, the bed was huge and it was perfect for an overnight stay in Birmingham. Although on Broad Street itself we heard no noise from the busy nightlife. We ate in the bar at lunchtime and the food was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlieharvey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I wasn't sure to expect with this stay. Jurys Inn hotel's in my past experience have always been bland, bereft of an semblance of character with average rooms and service at best. So when I was booked into this hotel as part of a lastminute secret hotel I couldn't say I was enthralled.

Check-In was frustratingly slow as the printer wasn't working but other than that the lift took us up to our room quickly. All of the public areas look like they have been refurbished recently and felt alot less drab than my stays in other Jurys Inn hotels. The room was clean with 2 doubles a clean bathroom and it was functional, even if the toileteries were fixed to the wall.

Sleep quality was affected by the paper thin walls, for instance you can hear when the next door room close their bathroom door as well as the humming of the lift.

Other than that it did what it said on the tin. It was good value, in a good location. Jurys Inn really should stop charging for wi-fi though, we are not in the 00's any more!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charliea444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,339 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#54 of 118 in Birmingham
1,533 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Birmingham

Address: 245 Broad St, Birmingham B1 2HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#31 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $76 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Birmingham is located on Broad Street in the middle of Birmingham city centre. The hotel is in close proximity (4 minute walk) to the International Convention Centre (ICC) and the National Indoor Arena (NIA), as well as a short train ride to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC). The hotel is conveniently close to Birmingham New Street (10 min walk) and other transport links making it ideal for business guests. All rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious and modern bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi throughout. During the festive season, our restaurant and bar area will be in use for private Christmas parties throughout December. Our restaurant and bar facilities will not be available for residents during the following dates: 4th December, 5th December, 10th December, 11th December, 12th December, 13th December, 18th December, 19th December, 30th December ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jurys Inn Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Jurys Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing