We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Clean, Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Birmingham Central
Ranked #51 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient, Clean, Helpful Staff”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I have used this hotel on numerous occassions because of easy access to the NIA and value for money. It is clean, convenient and the staff have always been welcoming and happy to help.

The only downside with the location is noise from outside, even though this time we requested a quieter room, and were given one overlooking rooftops, nearby streets and pubs/clubs meant that there was a lot of significant outside noise, this wasn't helped by the fact we had to have the window open as the room was too hot. The hotel could do something with regards to temperature control in the room but if you stay at the hotel accept there will be external noise and bring earplugs!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank JW1Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    228
    117
    51
    55
See reviews for
91
176
46
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stay at Birmingham Central Travelodge for just one night as we were going to the Symphony Hall down the road. The hotel is clean, the beds clean and comfy; and the staff were pleasant. What more could you ask for a short stay. One thing which would make it better... they appear to have space for parking at the back...but it's not is use.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Suzy79_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel is on Broad Street, 230, and is very conveniently situated for the ICC, only 5-6 minutes walk, is within around 10 minutes walk of theatres, library and concert venues and there are many places to eat and drink both on Broad Street and in extensive pedestrianised areas off Broad Street. While the rooms are basic and without frills, the rooms and the hotel is clean and well maintained and in my experience, the staff were very polite and very helpful. For a business trip, which mine was, it was ideal.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank dustydave49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This Hotel is awesome and equipped with Self-Check-in hassle free. Bed and Toilet are clean!! The reason why I am not rate full because it not provides a single bed room for students or budget travelers [values for money]. Also there is no free WiFi.. :( Despite from that I have no problem.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Fais Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Having stayed here before and after refurbishment this travelodge is has a much better bed and a really comfy pillows. Very clean and the staff were very helpful. A bit noisy on a Friday and Saturday night but a great location for going out in Birmingham - noise never kept me awake. Good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Griffta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed one night with my family, in two double rooms. All was clean, neat, well ordered, with comfortable beds. Quite basic of course, with only a bar of soap in the bathroom - so remember to bring your own shampoo and toothpaste (though there is an automat in the lobby that will sell you a pack of toiletry basics if you forget). There was a TV which suffered some interference on some channels - but we were there for a graduation ceremony and a good night out (at Rodizio Rico in the Cube - excellent - check out the reviews) so we weren't going to spend much time in the room. For very little money you get a clean, dry, warm roof over you head with bathroom - what else would you need for one night? I like Travelodges!

Room Tip: Ask for one on the upper floors away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevev98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed in this Travelodge for one night. It cost me £33 for a double room on a Monday evening. The room overlooked Broad Street itself which brought some noise in the early hours but nothing that kept me awake.

So, a few quick notes. Upon entry to the hotel you enter a small, slightly tired looking Reception. It's all Travelodge corporate colours which are a bit 'out there'. The Reception didn't really feel clean, it probably was, but it was just a little tired.

The staff who assisted me were all quite helpful and were cheery in disposition. The check in seemed to take longer than you might expect. The assistant helping me did not seem 100% sure of the IT system and getting a receipt took longer than expected as she hit a wrong button at one point and this appeared to send her to another part of the system with no quick way back. No real issue, just one of those things.

The lifts do not function with any sense of urgency, and the corridor space, like reception, was tired.

The room itself has comfortable double bed, LCD TV, wardrobe area, coffee making facilities, and a bottle opener attached to a desk you can work at (as I had to in preparation for a meeting). The bathroom has a loo, sink and bath with a reasonable shower. It was all very corporate Travelodge and clean and tidy. Worth £33; what do you expect at that price?

There were at least three 13 amp power sockets available although one was used for a wall mounted heater (which as adequate to heat the room). I had a four way with me for my laptop, iPad, phone etc.

Opposite the hotel is a Sainsbury's local if you want some drinks or food. The hotel offers breakfast for £5 but it did not look very exciting. I asked for an iron at one point and after a wait of around 45mins it eventually got to my room. The staff were keen to tell me to be careful with it as another customer had told them it had marked their shirt. It worked fine for me but my confidence was not high when I plugged it in.

The manager was happy to look after my case whilst I was at my meeting. I think she could only really offer to help as it was one case and the hotel was quiet. They did not appear to have any proper space for storing luggage and she popped it into her office. Very helpful to me but I think they could not guarantee to this service all the times.

So, in summary, you get what you pay for. £33 was cheap for this central location. The staff were helpful and had a sunny disposition. If you want a no-frills, cheap room this is fine. If you want much more you're going to have to dig deeper and pay a bit more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back. It'll probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conners70_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,741 reviews
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge Birmingham Castle Bro...
#1 of 1 in Castle Bromwich
80 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#65 of 117 in Birmingham
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Central

Property: Travelodge Birmingham Central
Address: 230 Broad Street, Birmingham B15 1AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#36 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#38 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Birmingham Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Central Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing