We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best in Birmingham!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ranked #26 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Probably the best in Birmingham!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2009

We stayed here last week as we were going to see the Pussycat Dolls at the NIA.We had stayed at all of the city centre hotels in Birmingham but not this one, we had heard excellent things about it so thought we would give it a try as we had stayed and enjoyed another City Inn.We arrived around 15:00 on a Thursday,the hotel is very easy to find, just off Broad Street. We parked in the NCP just 50meters from the hotel, as mentioned
By other TA members it costs £11 for 24 hours which is very good for central city Parking. The hotel looks chic/modern from the outside, a theme that continues Inside the hotel.
There was no line at check-in, and we were greeted by a very professional man who Ensured a quick and smooth check in. We stayed on the 2nd floor. The room was Spotless, with cream walls/carets and crisp white bed sheets, the room was not
Huge but a fair size double. My favourite feature of the room was the I-mac, I love Them and probably spent more time playing on it that I should of done - boys and There toys. The bathroom was very small, with no bath, not that it bothered me, but
Imp sure it would some people. The room was very quite and we had hardly any noise From inside or outside.
One of the main benefits of the hotel is the location. Its 5 min walk to the NIA, convention Centre and the sealife centre. There is a large choice of high end as well as affordable
Eating options, along with bars/pubs. It takes around 10/15min to get into the centre Of town and the shopaholics paradise of the Bullring. The area feels very safe and There are always plenty of people around at night. We stayed 1 night, checkout was also a very simple process. This hotel is the best
I’ve stayed at in Birmingham, better that the Raddison/Crowne Plaza/Copthone etc,It may only be 2nd to the Hyatt, (but I am yet to stay there)This hotel costs between £70-£150 a night so is priced similarly to the other 4* city
Hotels. I got a discount through my work, but if you can get a room for around 70-80Then that’s good value. We will always stay here now (unless the Hyatt decide to be Sensible with there prices) The City Inn is a great hotel, well done City Inn!!

  • Liked — Location and the I-MAC
  • Disliked — Bathrooms are a little small
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fly_cruise_stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    1,014
    348
    133
    55
See reviews for
168
951
140
771
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2009

Fantastic value - paid £61 for the room and could not have wanted more from the room. Very close to restaurants and bars so excellent for nightlife. The Bullring shopping centre is about 15 minutes walk so excellent location for shopping.
Parking was excellent value at £11 for 24 hours. Would definately recommend.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank md1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

Had a great stay here, would definitely come again. Love the in-room technology and the fact that you can borrow DVDs from reception. Really comfortable, modern feel to the rooms. Staff friendly, no probs at all.

We didn't have breakfast this time as I remember it being terrible when I came before but I'm sure its better now as everything else has improved.

  • Liked — DVD library
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank freerthanyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2009

We stayed in two fifth floor rooms for one night in December. We were in town to see "The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe" at the Rep. Our rate was 55 BPS per night per room which we got on the hotel's website.

Pros: underground parking (11 BPS per night), clean, room with lots of nice touches, comfortable bed with great linens, small but clean bathroom with a great shower, proximity to the theater and night life. Although we were near the elevator, we didn't hear any hallway noise.

Cons: the front desk clerk who checked us in didn't seem like she had the Christmas spirit.

There is a good Indian restaurant with excellent service two blocks from the hotel called Bombay Mix.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and modern look of the room
  • Disliked — Check in could have been friendlier
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ght0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2009

Everything we needed including an Apple imac in the room, Wi-Fi etc. Helpful staff, very clean, tasty cooked breakfast, in a great location too, and a good rate to cap it all. Basement parking a bonus. We'll be back...

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank Moloko65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2008

Stayed here for a weekend in December, as we were going to the NIA to see a gig on the Saturday night. Loved everything about the place - rooms were spacious, clean, bright, modern, plenty of snacks and drinks to be had in the minibar. Bathroom was compact but I'd rather have a big-ish room than a big bathroom, and anyway the shower was brilliant, very powerful. I-Mac was great touch, and bed was comfy.

Staff were very friendly. Check in was slow, but I presume that was because we arrived about 9pm on a Friday when there was a large Christmas do going on in the bar. Check out was friendly, quick and efficient.

Only had breakfast at the restaurant and although an extra expense (£12.50 for full English, £8.50 for continental) it was very tasty and plentiful. Hot food was just a smidge cold though,as it usually is when served in a self-service buffet-style.

I found the hotel to be extremly well-positioned. In a quiet setting but only yards from Broad Street, and about 10mins walk from the top end of New Street. The bars and eating places around The Water's Edge were lovely as well. Really close to the NIA too.

Found everyone in Birmingham to be really friendly and I can't wait to return for a weekend - and will probably stay at City Inn again - the only downfall for me was the cost, but you get what you pay for, and this is England's second city after all.

Everyone I spoke to while in Birmingham were very

  • Liked — All of it!
  • Disliked — Slow check in, and some noise on corridors in early hours of morning, but it was a weekend!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MidWalesSiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2008

This was our second visit here within a few months. The first was a shocking experience but the Operations Manager provided us with another chance to change our minds about our experience.

We were very satisfied the second time around. Everything was spot on. The service and environment was what we would expect from a modern hotel and the breakfast was excellent.

We would definately recommend this hotel given the genuine customer care we received the second time round. The fact that this hotel followed up our genuine concerns was great.

We had a large group stay here and all felt the same way. Thanks again to the Operations Manager.

  • Liked — Modern and location
  • Disliked — Not much
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank QualityNotQuantity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,415 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#39 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Address: 1 Brunswick Square, Birmingham B1 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish hotel in Birmingham City Centre Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace is ideally located in the Brindleyplace Development, home of great leisure, dining and entertainment venues. This Birmingham hotel is one of the closest hotels to the Barclaycard Arena and is only five minutes' walk from the International Convention Centre and the Symphony Hall. Settle in to an inviting guest room with a range of amenities for work and relaxation. Watch the 42-inch HDTV and keep in touch with complimentary WiFi. Prepare for a busy day with a delicious breakfast - choose from our extensive buffet and cooked-to-order eggs to accompany our homemade American waffles. Perfect for a relaxing meal, City Café also serves internationally inspired cuisine for lunch and dinner. Unwind after a busy day over cocktails at Brindley Lounge or pick up snacks, drinks, and travel essentials at the Pavilion Pantry. It's easy to maintain your exercise regimen with our complimentary fitness centre. Host a meeting or social event for up to 120 guests in our flexible meeting space. Our dedicated team will help plan your event and arrange tempting onsite catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace Hotel Birmingham
City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham City Hotel
City Inn Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing