We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #107 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Me and a friend stayed here when we were on a night out in Birmingham. Think it was about £45 for the room, so only £22.50 each! Great location, about a 2min taxi drive into town. The hotel also offers free parking. Inside the hotel is much more modern than the outside. Rooms are very clean and a nice size. Can get a bit cold, so make sure you're heatings on if you're staying in the winter. Staff very friendly and helpful, more than happy to order taxis for you. I missed out on using the pool and fitness suite, so can not comment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChloMae92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 520 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here twice. Found it on late rooms for £60 instead of £200 a night. Stayed in an executive room.. There was black marks on the wall by the bed, looked as if someone had kept putting their feet on the wall and it hadn't been cleaned. Visited the bar on both occasions, hotel was like a ghost town.. good for peace and quiet but not got a good atmosphere.. I dont drink and it was a let down that the coke was flat. Second time round was okay.. except for that there was hairs and marks in the bottom of the bath, and we had no hot water, it was finally found that there was a fault with the piping or something so we got moved to another room. Rooms are okay, beds are big and comfy but theres no way I'd even let someone pay for me to stay here if they was to pay £200 a night. Good location as a short drive from the city, surronded by places to eat and casinos to spend the night in. I'm easily pleased but I had a nicer experience at a holiday inn.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LStnwy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

The entrance is occupied by some plastic trees, which probably says it all. Reception floor and skirting dirty and general corridors and entrance area tired. My room was refurbished and too a good standard - quality furnishings, but mattress was tired and had a huge dip in it. Money being spent on bar and restaurant area, looking good. Usual reheated bacon and sausages etc for breakfast - you will get better quality and variety at a Premier Inn. Whole breakfast experience lacked any atmosphere and imagination and far from 4 star.
Overall, ok for a one night stay, but other local hotels do it better, for the same money.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unclebob007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed over 3 nights, nice to have free parking. Not many people in hotel, felt like a ghost town. People complaining at reception about no hot water, bar was closed, still being refurbished I think. Nice big room, bed was amazing, really comfortable and big. Bathroom poorly finished, shower not very powerful and had to call reception as there was no hot water on day 2. Towels were tiny, could barely wrap one round me and I'm only a size 10! Staff not very helpful, but overall had a good time. Probably because of the great company of my husband! With a few small changes this hotel would be great!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cobblewobble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

After our stay at the Clarion part of the Clarion Collection by choice Hotel group, I can only praise the staff at the hotel. The service within the hotel and restaurant was impeccable,even though they are decorating the front entrance and various other areas there is still a lot of building work going on.
We were in room 1116. 32" Flat screen TV on the wall, Ipod docking station, Safe, High speed WiFi 24hr Room Service.
The deluxe king size bed was perfect, room is beautifully decorated, clean, comfortable and luxurious. The housekeeping was impeccable and worthy of note as admittedly I am very particular about cleanliness.
The xpelair unit in the bathroom although noisy, just remember to switch it off when your finished. white bathrobes are in the wardrobe, they were not the softest, could have done with being washed in comfort or Lenor. Tea & Coffee making facilities, Ironing board etc all catered for

In the new restaurant the table was lovely as were the waitress.. The A al Carte menu is not really A la Carte, if your going to do this it will need fine tuning.. But the whole dinner started off as a disaster...My disappointment relates to the fact that I couldn't eat the steak that I had ordered and asked for it to be cooked medium still red in the middle, it came cooked through, it was very tuff and extremely hard to chew, there was no way I could even attempt to finish it, I sadly had to send it back and re-order the pork fillets the food was lovely and the surroundings are beautiful.

The chef needs to get a bell to ring when a service is ready to leave the kitchen, hearing him shout at the top of his voice for Patricia to collect a meal from the kitchen when it`s ready is not pleasant for the waitress she is not a dog and further more very unprofessional to the other diners.

We thank the staff especially Patricia lovely Spanish lady for making us so welcome and attentive. (She is a credit to the hotel, you really need to snap her up as she has a degree in Economics)

The bar area is still being refurbished but from what we could see this will be very nice once finished.

I found all staff that we came into contact with to be extremely approachable, both helpful and informative.
When all the work is finished it will be a very nice 4* hotel...

Room Tip: Rooms that has been refurbished ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timeoutqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Needed a hotel for a night when visiting friends. Picked the Clarion as was the cheapest best reviewed, and was not disappointed. Off a main round with plenty of hotels around, this one is pretty big. Plenty of free parking which I didn't use. The check in was efficient with friendly staff, and then we found the room - brilliant! Huge room, huge bed, tea and coffee, ironing board and iron, plenty of storage space - everything you need for a one or two night over. The bathroom was slightly worn in places but still did the job nicely. I didn't try any food but sounded like breakfast went on until 1030. Check out was speedy. Thoroughly recommended as a place to stay for a short trip at a very good price.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DrIMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed here early November for two nights room 1003..... The Bed was Huge and really comfortable and I had a great sleep. The room has a lovely feel to it and two easy chairs to sit on as you watch the flat screen TV. Bathroom was nice and a good shower. Breakfast fantastic and great staff..... and really helpful receptionists......... and pretty too!!!!.... Not that that makes a difference to this review but I wanted to say it anyhow. I would definatley stay again...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinH001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#34 of 118 in Birmingham
1,015 reviews
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#69 of 118 in Birmingham
470 reviews
Edgbaston
The Eaton Hotel
The Eaton Hotel
#12 of 118 in Birmingham
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collection Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collection Hotel Birmingham

Address: 263 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9NA, England (Formerly Clarion Collection Birmingham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $60 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Collection Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Collection Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Birmingham Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing