We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
Nearby Hotels
$109
$105
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$98
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$61
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$65
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$93
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$88
$84
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveler rating
74
102
114
95
160
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
102
114
95
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssized bedironing boardflat screen tvmain roadvisiting birmingham
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
524 - 529 of 545 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2011

lets start with the good points...
-friendly staff, good location, free parking and internet, nice rooms and decent room rates, nice bar area, good breakfast.

We did experience some problems, but have still come to the conclusion that we will definitely be back due to the way our problems were handled by staff, the room rates and hotel cleanliness.
- we booked a queen room, but as the room was not made when we checked in, they upgraded us to a king room but warned us that the view isn't great due to next doors construction however we were told they don't work on Sundays (but we did see a few builders on the site and they were making a little noise).

- the hot water took about 1/2 hr to come on in the shower, and we also waited 2 hours for the water to get hot on one of the nights. We finally got a new room across from us (which was a little annoying after 2 hours of us thinking the whole hotel had a problem).

- it says they have 24 hour room service, but this is not true, and there are few staff at night so when we asked for some drinks to our room, we were told we would need to wait as the receptionist was the only person there so was not allowed to leave to go to the kitchen for us.

- Breakfast was meant to be served from 6.30 but we were sitting at our table for 30mins (15mins of which nobody bothered to turn the lights on!)

Other than these things, our stay was pleasant and staff said we would not have to pay for the food and drinks we had (around £40) and as we said we would still go back to the hotel, they gave us 20% off our next stay. To be fair, other than the hot water, nothing else was a really big issue as it is very rare for us to get up at 6.30 on a Sunday for breakfast, and as long as you don't get a room facing the construction you would be fine. We had a great nights sleep and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: If there is still construction going on round the back, as for a room which isn't next to this as you may find a builder standing outside your window when you open the curtains in the morning!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duckface1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasin h, General Manager at The Collection Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2011

Thanks very much for your review. Apologies for the issues with the hot water, unfortunately we did experience some problems with the boilers on the Sunday of your stay but these were rectified first thing on the Monday day. There must have been a misunderstaing regarding the breakfast start time- breakfast is only served from 7am not 6.30am, again apologies if this was not made clear at time of check-in. I'm pleased you were satisfied with the way my staff dealt with the issues and do look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

nice hotel, but service somewhat lacking attention to detail. not sure it truely deserves its 4* rating, but definitely a very good 3*+, so make sure the price you pay reflects that

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paprastai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

myself and my partner decided to have an evening away in Birmingham, after readin the reviews we chose this hotel, the reviews didn't lie. Hotel was spotlessly clean, food was amazing and drinks were very reasonable. Staff were all lovely too, very helpful and polite. An excellent hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadameTussaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasin h, General Manager at The Collection Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2011

Many thanks for your review. It's always very pleasing for us to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We were in Birmingham for a friends party and decided to stay over. We normally stay in budget hotels but decided to treat ourselves for once. The room was lovely, very clean and the service amazing. It has to be the quietest hotel I've ever stayed in. We were in a room facing the car park so didn't get any of the noise from the road. Didn't try the restaurant this time but will definitely be back to try in out!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank u8k49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasin h, General Manager at The Collection Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2011

Thank you for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Clarion and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I loved the hotel and reception was great and the room as well but breakfast was not good enough, i was waiting 10 minutes and nobody came to serve me!!! Also there's an Indian from the hotel next door served me badly becuase he was a bit rude to me. It's pity that one person ruined my good impression.

Room Tip: the rooms are new
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews