We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WIFI OH WIFI”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street
Ranked #91 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
whitby
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“WIFI OH WIFI”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Have stayed here a few times and would stay again, you gets what you pays for. A couple of gripes. Why can I go to a Cafe in town and get free Wifi but not in Hotel room? I am with BT so there many hospots around but as soon as you enter the Hotel they dissappear. The other thing is I booked a five night stay one year in advance and asked for a room further up the block because the water pressure is very weak and toilets don't flush easily further down, but on arrival told pre booked by contractors. Each time you ask a member of staff about either issue you get a different reply.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank whitbyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your impressions following your recent stay at ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus.

I cannot comment on why you don't have acces to BT Hotspots from the hotel. This is completely outside my knowledge and hotel control.

We, at the hotel, are currently developing a project to offer standard Free WIFI to our guests, which will be hopefuly completed within a couple of months.

Please note that due to us being an older type of ibis hotel, our water system works with gravity and not pumps. This is the only reason affecting the water pressure at the hotel.

I have checked your booking and I have not observed any remarks showing a particular preference in regard to a preferred room location. I will follow up your comments with my team.

Once again I thank you for your comments as they are invaluable to improve the services we offer.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    229
    186
    85
    98
See reviews for
52
247
91
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel was lovely the reception was the restaurant /bar as well which was 24 hour .
The room was lovely & clean, we paid extra for the buffet breakfast which was beautiful & a great choice. we paid £42 per room per night & £7.95 per breakfast. An absolute bargain for a lovely hotel.
We will use this one again & this chain of hotels around the country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank aryanwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review.

The team and I are very excited and proud to receive such positive comments following your recent stay at the hotel.

We will endeavour to provide the same high standard of service on your future visits to the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I needed a room for a stopover in Birmingham an his seemed a good option but it turned out to be a disappointment. More of a motel arrangement with bedrooms separate from the reception. Although the bed was very comfortable the rest of the room was tired. Staff were pleasant but breakfast poor quality. Certainly not as good as other Ibis hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments.

As you have described, this is an older type of ibis hotel with motel arrangements. Although we do not enjoy the latest ibis room design, our rooms are generally well mantained and cared for.

I have also noted your remarks about breakfast.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very central location with secure parking at hotel. Staff were all friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and well maintained and a comfortable bed made for a good night's sleep! Breakfast was good and plentiful. It was great value for the price and I would have no hesitiation in recomending it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joules66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your very positive comments following your stay at the hotel.

The team and I are very proud to receive such feedback and look forward to deliver the same standards upon your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice place to stay, room was very comfortable and hot breakfast not very good but paasable. Very close to the Bull ring and has a car park, it would be useful if you could book parking at the time of booking the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank chiji68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for reviewing the hotel in TripAdvisor following your recent stay at ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus.

I am dissapointed to read that breakfast was not up to your desired standards and please be assured that we have noted your comments.

Currently parking spaces are on "first come, first served" basis and cannot be pre-booked prior to arrival. This is not likely to change in the near future, however we do have plenty of spaces on site so I am confident that this does not represent a significant issue to our guests.

Once again I thank you for the feedback given and look forward to welcome you to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Just a 15 minute walk from Bullring Birmingham, this is an ideal hotel to stay in if you're visiting the city centre. With car parking available and Birmingham New Street a short walk away, access is simple.

The welcome here was friendly, in fact all staff I talked to were friendly and happy to help. The room was basic but I hadn't expected anything more for the price I'd paid. Everything was spotlessly clean and all electrical items worked properly.

Most importantly, the bed was really comfortable and I had a very peaceful night's sleep.

I'd recommend this hotel as a good value place to stay that gives great access to the O2 Academy and the city.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darranrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your recent stay at ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus.

We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We arrived by car. Very easy to find from M6. It may be a bit of a walk from the nearest train station, but not sure. Ample parking during our two day stay. We did not have any food or drink during our visit, so cannot comment on that. It is a motel style hotel. The staff were efficient and friendly. The room was clean, although the carpet was tired. The bathroom was clean and consisted of a small bath with shower, wash basin with mirror and w.c. Shower gel, soap and towels and a hair drier are supplied. There is also a full length mirror outside the bathroom. The room has a kettle, a few tea and coffee sachets supplied. There is a large shelf and a small seat under the window. There is a large and comfortable bed and a television. A small but ample wardrobe. There are three electrical sockets available in the room. Very handy. The weather was quite cold and rainy during our visit.There is a small electric heater which took a while to warm up the room. It could be a problem in the depths of winter. Otherwise everything worked ok Although check out is 12:00 we could leave our vehicle in the car park until 17:30. Great for last bits of shopping
This is a budget hotel and our opinions are based on what we would expect.
No frills, but comfortable and a great location

Room Tip: We stayed in number 25. No problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Realistics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your recent stay at ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus.

The team and I look forward to welcome you again to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#63 of 117 in Birmingham
1,069 reviews
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#97 of 117 in Birmingham
506 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#11 of 117 in Birmingham
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street

Property: ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street
Address: 55 Irving Street, Birmingham B1 1DH, England (Formerly Ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street is in the city centre, 700 m from the train station. Easily accessible from the M6, M1 and M42 motorways, it is 10 min on foot from the international convention centre, the National Indoor Arena and the Symphony Hall.30 min by car from the National Exhibition Centre, it has 51 rooms and an intimate restaurant, a bar offering snacks 24 hours 7 days, a terrace and free parking. Wireless Internet access for business guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Holloway Circus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing