We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street
Ranked #98 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed for a night midweek and after reading reviews, was pleased to find they'd made some good improvements, like blackout curtains and comfy mattress toppers. Room was good sized and clean and I liked having my car right outside. Breakfast was nice (although I didn't eat any hot food) and staff were helpful throughout. After I got home I realised I'd left my special neck pillow in the room by accident, I phoned and the hotel staff retrieved it and posted it straight back to me. Would definitely recommend for the price, some of the comments on here seem a bit harsh.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeeingHandsNepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback in TipAdvisor following your stay at ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus. I am delighted that you enjoyed the experience and look forward to welcome you again in the future.

I am also glad that the pillow was returned to you safely!

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 705 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

we came for a weekend conferance at the ICC, only a good 10 min walk, our room was at the back on the top floor, a good size bedding and bed very clean and cosy, and quiet only critisism would be the tv did not give us the normal tv freeview channels that are bog standard these days , we would have to pay to watch FREEVIEW ! also it would be good to have free wi fi also pretty standard in basic hotels, breakfast was ok and hot plenty of choice for the price, parking is a bonus £3 per day and they let us pick our car up at the end of the weekend conferance. all in all i dont know where all the negative reviews have come from, well done Ibis !

Room Tip: top floor at the back second block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for reviwing your stay at the hotel in TripAdvisor. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the stay at ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus and look forward to welcome you again in the future.

Please note that standard TV channels are free of charge by selecting "TV Channels" on the TV screen menu. We only charge via TV for on-demand movies, wired broadband and music jukebox.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princesstraveldiary
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel is well situated in the centre of Birmingham within easy walking access of the major attractions.

The rooms are chalet style rooms in 2 blocks with an upper & lower floor in each block. The room was great for one but I would think it might be crowded for 2. The bed was large and slightly hard for my liking but I had a good nights sleep.

The bathroom was clean and functional although the shower head was rather low for me.

Tea & coffee making facilities are provided and Internet access is now provided free - not WiFi though.

There is off road parking for a charge of £3 per day. Breakfast costs £7.50 and had a hot buffet as well as the usual continental choices.

I ate in one night and although it was all pre-prepared and microwaved it was tasty and good value for just under £10.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room facing the inner car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_The_Miner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your comments in TripAdvisor following your stay at the hotel. Whilst I am pleased that you enjoyed the experience, I am surprised that you mentioned we offer complimentary internet - as this is not currently the case.

I will pass on your comments to my team and look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

I paid £35 for my room and i thought it was good value.the staff very nice and helpful.parking was sercure-£3 for 24hours.
For 35pound the hotel was a bargain.brekkie was not bad either. The hotel is about 5 mins from the centre by taxi- taxi cost 5pounds.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blbg3ltu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your thoughts about the hotel in TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed the stay at the hotel and will pass on your comments to my team.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night with my partner and a couple of friends while seeing a show at at the NIA.
The hotel is located within 10 minutes walk from the city centre, although we did take a taxi back late at night, only because the subways leading to the area didn't seem very safe.
The young lady at reception was very helpul and polite and even asked if we needed a map of Birmingham. She even made sure our rooms were next to each other.
The rooms were very comfortable, clean, just what you need for a one night stay. The bathroom was also clean, with plenty of towels and even a hairdryer. Shame there was hardly any pressure in the shower.
Thanks to the convenient late check out time (12 o'clock), we were looking forward to a good night's sleep, unfortunately we got woken up around 7am by what sounded like either deliveries or bottle bins being emptied right outside our window. I have only just noticed that somebody else mentioned this in their review a couple of months ago.
We didn't choose to have breakfast here so can't comment on that, although we did have a drink in the bar early in the evening, the drinks were a bit too overpriced.
Overall, a pleasant stay, we would definitely stay again, but would make sure to stay away from rooms 117 and 118.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JZWorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus and look forward to your next stay.

We regularly pass on guests feedback to our suppliers so these can undertake corrective measure when deliveries a bit too loud. I am sorry this incident somehow marred and otherwise enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I think the 'prison camp' comments are way off, I liked the security aspect of this! Good basic accomodation, our room was clean and had all we needed for an overnight stay. Friendly staff and we could park the car right outside our room, though we were not told before hand that it would be £3 to park (didn't mind though) and it was just a 10 minute walk to city centre.
Breakfast was £5 each if paid for the night before (£7-50 on the morning) and there was a good basic breakfast on offer. cereals, fruit, yogurt, cheeses, croissants, and also hot food buffet.
If you are looking for a good basic place for a short stay I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: We had a room facing into the car park and had a space right outside the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISHOLLOWAYCIRCUS, General Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for your kind words following your stay at ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus. It is nice to read that you value parking your car near the room you occupied!

I look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Jordi Pena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
424 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#72 of 118 in Birmingham
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,652 reviews
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#97 of 118 in Birmingham
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street

Address: 55 Irving Street, Birmingham B1 1DH, England (Formerly Ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $41 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street is in the city centre, 700 m from the train station. Easily accessible from the M6, M1 and M42 motorways, it is 10 min on foot from the international convention centre, the National Indoor Arena and the Symphony Hall.30 min by car from the National Exhibition Centre, it has 51 rooms and an intimate restaurant, a bar offering snacks 24 hours 7 days, a terrace and free parking. Wireless Internet access for business guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Holloway Circus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing