We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice insight into the BBC”

BBC Birmingham Tours
Ranked #4 of 24 Tours in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit BBC Birmingham's state-of-the-art studios: home of The Archers, Midlands Today and BBC WM. Take a peek behind the scenes and then join in some interactive fun as you create your own radio drama complete with sound effects and music! BBC Tour guides give a fascinating insight into the many programmes originating from BBC Birmingham and tell the inside story of what it takes to get them from script to screen. They are also on hand to answer any burning questions relating to technical wizardry, famous faces that have visited the building or even where Nick Owen gets his jokes! This is your invitation to gain access to the rarely-seen world behind the famous TV and radio programmes that are broadcast and produced from BBC Birmingham. BBC Birmingham is a working building so no two tours are the same, but they will always be informative, interesting and entertaining. In 2010 the tours won the Best Tourism Experience in the Heart of England. Ticket prices range from £7 - £9.25 and tours last up to one-and-a-half hours. Tours regularly take place on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Saturdays throughout the day (with some tours in the evening). Please see website for further details. The building is wheelchair accessible. All children under 16 years old must be accompanied by an adult.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice insight into the BBC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Had an enjoyable tour led by Debbie and Jane, who were happy to answer any questions we had. The equipment was explained to us and we even got to see one of the DJs doing his show live. At the end we got to do a recording of a script as a group, with some as voice actors and others doing sound effects. Would recommend to anyone looking for a nice afternoon out or if you're interested in the behind the scenes of the BBC.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCTours, Manager at BBC Birmingham Tours, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hello - thank you for your review - looks like you got a good photo of Nick Owen too!! Oh wait... is that the cardboard cut out strategically placed?! Very funny!
Will pass on your comments to Jane and Debbie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    22
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

What a great way to spend a couple of hours. So informative. The two ladies that conducted our tour group were both entertaining and informative. Can highly recommend this tour.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1953Carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCTours, Manager at BBC Birmingham Tours, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed the tour - please tell your friends and family about us.
I will pass on your lovely message to the guides.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
269 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Interesting behind-the-scenes glimpse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Traveling through Birmingham, I was looking for something to do on a Saturday and found out tours were available through the BBC at the Mailbox. As an American, very interesting walkabout seeing what a working BBC station is like. Great tour for me, but firstly would recommend to families in the area as they would likely find the greatest value in touring their own local station, as well, there are plenty of fun, interactive things for children.

Helpful?
Thank KBeth00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCTours, Manager at BBC Birmingham Tours, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your visit to us recently and thank you for the review. How did you hear we did studio tours?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbury
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

we just managed to join the latest tour of the BBC studios in Birmingham, on Saturday. Debbie and Genna were great guides. we were shown around the radio station studios and how all the gadgets work, into a recording studio where members of the group took part in a recording of an Archers script. Paul, Bev and Janice were on sound effects Kevin and Dennis had speaking parts. very funny and informative - looking forward to seeing the recording of the broadcast?. then around the offices and into the studio where they film Midlands Today. I tried my hand at presenting the weather forecast, needless to say the currant presenters have nothing to worry about. all in all a good tour - lots of laughs along the way.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCTours, Manager at BBC Birmingham Tours, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hello, glad you managed to get tickets for our tour. Saturdays are very popular so you were lucky. It sounds like you had a giggle! ... and learnt a lot along the way. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
“BBC Birmingham Tour of the Studios and The Archers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

The prime reason for the tour was to have an insight as to how The Archers was produced. The visit was a surprise for my wife's 70th birthday, as she has been an Archers fan since her childhood. My wife found it to be a fantastic experience and to find out how it was recorded. The highlight being that she took part in a " Special" episode of The Archers which several of the tour participants took part, my wife Gill took the part of Jennifer. We have just received a copy of the " Special" recording which is a wonderful memory of a wonderful time at BBC Birmingham. Our thanks to the team and a special thanks to our guides, Jenna & Shaun, who were absolutely wonderful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCTours, Manager at BBC Birmingham Tours, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. I'm pleased you had fun and were one of the lucky ones to get into The Archers Studio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BBC Birmingham Tours also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to BBC Birmingham Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing