We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steaksarethem!”

Miller and Carter Mailbox
Ranked #120 of 2,198 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $9 - $31
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Ladywood
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
156 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Steaksarethem!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Been working in Birmingham for 7 weeks now and went here tonight for the first time. All I can say is I wish I had got here sooner. It's a Tuesday night and the place is almost full. Great menu, something for everyone although steaks are their thing. Reasonable prices, great waiter and a nice buzzing atmosphere. It would take a big appetite to have a starter followed by a big steak, we went straight for the mains. Beautifully cooked steaks, great fries and very good sauces available. The steaks come with a side of ice-berg lettuce with a choice of dressings. Very American but really nice. The main has a side of onion loaf - truly historic, so moorish and it can be a starter if you wish. Service was excellent, overall experience was brilliant. Totally recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teejaybeeBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    323
    187
    85
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My worst meal ever”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This must be the worst meal I have ever had, service was unbelievable slow, the place was freezing cold, I had to wear my coat throughout the meal. My food was cold, and the puddings were small and expensive for what you got. It wasn't just me either, every table around me the customers were all complaining, from also being cold to hairs in there food to 30 mins wait to take an order for drinks. Never again will I go here, after being recommended to me by several customers of mine I can truly say I am hugely disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Pre Theatre Dinner”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

After an afternoon in B'ham and wanting to find somewhere to have a pre theatre meal we looked around the mailbox ,I have previously looked at Miller&Carter and as we both love Steak we thought we'd try it
(I'm a steak snob lol) We were told we'd have to wait 20 mins which was fine a busy restaurant is a good sign !!! Staff were very friendly and efficient , nothing was an effort
I had the Tboneand my partner the rump steak and boy were we not !! Disappointed my Tbone was cooked to perfection loved the onion bread and a good amount of fries the lettuce wedge was a refreshing change and plenty of dressing. Now to the prices more than I usually pay ,however V good value possibly the best steak meal we have had and great service nice ambient feel and the perfect pre theatre meal and will definitely !!!! be back next time we are in B'ham

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Steaks”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Ate here with a party of 8. Service was ok, though they missed 1 of the starters! food was delicious, steak cooked (rare) to perfection. I love the signature side order, lettuce with Stilton & onion loaf ... Yum yum.
You can go for the cheaper early bird menu if you arrive & order early enough.
Note that the restaurant is at the far end of the mailbox, up a lot of stairs.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baylehum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham UK
Level Contributor
151 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“At last edible steak for £20”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

So often steak looks good on the menu but disappoints when served. Not here. We both had excellent steaks and had a very enjoyable pre theatre dinner.
Good range of choices, nice atmosphere Not cheap but realistically priced. friendly and prompt service. If you're in the mood for a steak, this is the place to go.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rydeb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller and Carter Mailbox also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Miller and Carter Mailbox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing