We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected find”
Review of 24 Carat Bistro

24 Carat Bistro
Ranked #20 of 2,249 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ladywood
Description: GOOD HOME COOKED FOOD AT A REASONABLE PRICE. We are a small FAMILY RUN business in the heart of the Jewelry Quarter, reached by walking down a quaint tiled walkway (at the side of Paul Green's Jewelers). Once inside you will discover a hidden part of the Jewelry Quarter's history.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An unexpected find”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This place is very easy to miss being in an alleyway behind two jewellery shops but if you are in the area and want a tasty meal, a warm fire and smiling service you should look it up. A meal for two was curry goat for me and Salmon fish cakes for my wife with a bottle of Red Stripe and a Coke. Total cost £15. Nothing more to say really.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Petestory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    66
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly scrumptious ”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch two days running and both times the welcome was warm, the food very good and the ambience relaxing. We thoroughly recommend a visit

Helpful?
Thank Newy0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My fiance and I had finished sorting our wedding rings in the Jewellery Quarter and decided to find somewhere for lunch before heading home. Being fairly unfamiliar with the area, we were unsure where to head so just had a wonder around. We then came across a corridor with an A board in the street advertising the 24 Carat Bistro, so my other half went down to have a look, I then followed! We found a little door with wonders behind!

Having a family business ourselves, we love to support others and so this was a perfect place to find for us as we understand the difficulties and rewarding times of running a family business. Husband, wife, sister and son were who we could see, friendly, hardworking and attentive! The menu is a cross of traditional English and Caribbean food that's all mainly homemade which is a real treat.

Eating out is something we do very regularly (too regularly!) and we found this food beautiful, hearty and homely. The homemade puddings and cakes are also to die for. We can't praise this place enough with its warm and welcoming atmosphere, and amazing value for money. We shall certainly be returning and it can't come soon enough!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wicktilleth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An amazing find”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

A lovely cosy little place that serves homemade food.A log fire and really friendly service contribute to a wonderful atmosphere.The food was really tasty and excellent value for money.Will definitely become a regular!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were hungry and wondering where to eat when a lady gave us a leaflet and pointed down an ally way to where her restaurant was, so we went in and it was absolutely BRILLIANT! the food was delicious - home made lasagne and chips with salad, washed down by a couple of glasses of wine. The service was friendly and efficient. We will definitely go back when we are next in Birmingham! Thanks goodness the lady was standing there or we would never have known about it! A real treasure in the Jewellery Quarter!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 24 Carat Bistro also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to 24 Carat Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing