We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst hotel I have ever seen”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Norfolk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Norfolk Hotel
Ranked #114 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The worst hotel I have ever seen”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is by far and away the worst hotel i have ever had the misfortune to step in. I have travelled extensively across the world and stayed in hotels for less than £4 a night, they were all significantly better than this horrendous establishment.

One room was at the very possible lowest passable standard, but the other room was akin to the set of a horror movie.

The corridors were filthy and carried an unpleasant odour. and the entire place seemed incredibly run down.

We looked at the room and immediately left. A refund was given without complaint.

Not worth the money ! Stay elsewhere!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank 788KSNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    43
    39
    51
    405
See reviews for
75
111
48
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Having read the mixed reviews on here I thought I'd add my thoughts. The hotel was excellent for what I paid. I had a room on the 4th floor and it looked modern and refurbished. The bathroom was fairly small but at least it was new and clean. The lift made it easy to get to our room and check in was easy. The bar and restaurant I am told was next door, but I didn't use it so can't comment on that. I didn't see any "so called council clients" at the hotel. And to me it just seems like a nice modernised hotel. I have already booked my next stay in September.

Room Tip: 4th floor was clean and looked new
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jollyjohal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolkinnhotel, Manager at Norfolk Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for submitting such a kind and honest review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. We have recently refurbished and we are very happy that our guests are now reaping the rewards. All the best, and we hopefully will see each other in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

we booked for 3 nights as my partner was working nearby. first impressions when we arrived were not bad for the money! reception: lovely big area with a few seats scattered about, such a waste. initially smelt liked i had walked into an indian take away. staff sat behind a wooden desk nothing around them suggested we were in a hotel. our room wasnt ready even though it had gone 2 which was checking in time. noticed as we were waiting in car park a few unsavoury looking characters hanging about smoking joints and drinking from cans (later found out the council use hotel for homeless people) talking of parking!! 2 disabled spaces of which people parked in regardless of having a badge or not, staff didnt seem bothered when i asked if they could be moved so we could park and use my badge. so we get our key, 3rd floor up in lift, which needed a good clean. the walls in corridors were flaking and carpets needed hoovering. the room: basic, tidy and reasonably clean, decor was a lot to be desired few patches of plaster repairs some tape on bottom of the door, a curtain which covered half a window. but we were only using it to sleep in so it was ok. well till bedtime that is. our room was facing the main road and as it was hot in our room we had to have the window open all night, big mistake the noise was unbearable from the traffic. so i decided to check out the info on my phone from the actual hotels website. what a load of twaddle!!!! apparently they have a restaurant, bar, snack bar and even room service!! well i must be blind or stupid as there was nothing there! how can you have room service if there was no telephone in your room? i did notice the pizza place making lots of deliveries though! there were no staff about and for a big hotel you would expect to see someone around. on the whole i suppose you could say you get what you pay for, my advice would be go somewhere else and pay a few quid more

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle Cherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Edgware, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

I went to this hotel as I was attending a concert at the nia. The price was fantastic and the hotel was very close to where I needed to go.
I had a lovely time in birmingham and this hotel was very helpful in accomodating me, ordering me a taxi when I needed one, and giving me extra towels as I requested. The room I slept in was clean and looked newly done.
I would definitely come back to this hotel again

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolkinnhotel, Manager at Norfolk Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for submitting such a kind and honest review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. We have recently refurbished and we are very happy that our guests are now reaping the rewards. All the best, and we hopefully will see each other in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

i came to birmingham on a business trip and needed somewhere to stay for a couple of nights. The hotel was only £33 per night and close to the pough and harrow where i had a few meetings. The hotel was of a decent standard and my bedroom was clean and worthy of 3 stars. Shower had hot water and was powerful enough. I got exactly what i paid for, a clean quiet room and good location for my trip.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mark f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolkinnhotel, Manager at Norfolk Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for submitting such a kind and honest review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. We have recently refurbished and we are very happy that our guests are now reaping the rewards. All the best, and we hopefully will see each other in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Went to this hotel as I was waiting to catch a train later in the evening and wanted to rest before I travelled. The hotel was dark, smelt, only one member of staff was there.. He too was watching tv. Unpleasant and unwelcoming reception. The room had no curtain and plain white bedding. Definitely would not recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Newbieyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Me and my family stayed here for 3 nights in a family room. We all had a lovely time in birmingham, visiting places such as Cadbury world,the bullring shopping mall and sea life centre. These were all in good proximity to the hotel. The hotel itself was very nice. The room we had looked new and was clean. We can't fault it at all, especially for the price! Internet was the only let down as it wasn't available in the bedrooms, but reception staff told us they would have it in the near future.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolkinnhotel, Manager at Norfolk Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for submitting such a kind and honest review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. We have recently refurbished and we are very happy that our guests are now reaping the rewards. All the best, and we hopefully will see each other in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#102 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#75 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Hotel

Property: Norfolk Hotel
Address: 267 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NA, England (Formerly Comfort Inn Edgbaston)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 100 en suite bedrooms, the 3-star Norfolk Hotel is situated on the A456 in Edgbaston, less than 10 minutes' drive from Birmingham city centre. It offers Wi-Fi access and free parking.Located next door to the hotel, the Headingley Restaurant offers international dishes for breakfast and dinner.Tea and coffee making facilities, Freeview TVs and a private bathroom feature in each modern room.The hotel is completely non-smoking, and has a stylish reception area and a well-stocked modern bar, which serves drinks until late and has Sky Sports channels.In large, peaceful gardens, the hotel is down the road from lively Broad Street, 2.5 miles from Edgbaston Cricket Ground and 1.5 miles from Birmingham New Street Station. The NIA and the ICC-Birmingham convention centre are a 10-minute drive away, with the M5 motorway less than 4 miles away and there are regular buses to the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Birmingham
Norfolk Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing