We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Norfolk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Norfolk Hotel
Ranked #114 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Worst hotel ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I booked this hotel for me and my daughter to visit friends and as soon as I booked in I knew I wanted to walk back out. Luckily my daughter didn't end up coming along or I wouldn't have stayed, I walked up the stairs and carpet filfy walls Filfy and my room didn't even have a number on it I had to work it out. When I walked in i wanted to get straight out of there the bed looked like it had sick at the side of it so I reported it on my way out and was told it would get sorted but when I got back in it wasn't touched. The shower was awful couldn't move in it anyway I've put it down to experience and never again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    43
    39
    51
    405
See reviews for
75
111
48
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were visiting Birmingham as a family for a two-night stay and needed somewhere relatively cheap as there are 5 of us. The outside of the hotel looked fine and reception was clean and bright. Our rooms were on the 3rd floor, and the closer we got, the worse the hotel got. In the corridors the walls were dirty and had paper peeling off, and the smell wasn't great. The rooms were very basic and had a mishmash of furniture which had all seen better days. Again the walls were stained and in desperate need of some paint! The bathrooms were very small but they were clean (fortunately, or I would not have stayed on the second night!). The beds were clean and comfortable enough, and there were clean tea-making facilities. On the whole the place was just very grubby and there was some evidence that some parts are currently being refurbished. Fortunately we had not opted to have breakfast in the hotel, and there was a bar but it was not open or even looked ready to be opened. We had been looking forward to our weekend away for a long time and I was extemely disappointed. The description on the website is totally false, and I wish we had checked on Tripadvisor before we booked!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Obviously having a refit. Unable to eat at the hotel and so had to go next door. This caused a major issue when it came to my entitlement to breakfast the next day.
They didn't know how to deal with a booking through Late Rooms via a business account.
Car park way too small. Found it very hard to find a space.
Not sure if I would return although at £27 the price is hard to complain about.

Room Tip: Don'y until the refit is finished
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortboyold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed in a family room for one night, the staff on the desk were not very pleasent or helpful I must admit. There was building work going on in the reception. I didn't have very high hopes for our room, but once we got to the 4th floor (lift on takes you to 3rd floor and you must take the stairs to the 4th) we entered our room and were all pleasantly surprised. The room we stayed in was immaculate, brand new decoration. The furniture was brand new, all matching. The bathroom had also been done up, the shower wasn't the best but it was clean and the bathroom had a nice design. The family room had one room with a double bed and the other room had a single bed and a set of bunk beds (double on bottom single on top). There was plenty of tea/coffee making facilities available. We could not fault the room at all. Obviously if we stayed in a room that had not been done up it might be a completely different story, but they are trying to renovate the place, give them a chance :P

Room Tip: 4th floor are all renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentStv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolkinnhotel, Manager at Norfolk Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Thank you for submitting such a kind and honest review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. We have recently refurbished and we are very happy that our guests are now reaping the rewards. All the best, and we hopefully will see each other in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Arrived to find this hotel should have been closed by health and safety , why is Birmingham City Council allowing it to trade. Description is totally false. This dive is a complete disgrace and I am a loss to why this is has not been closed . The fire alarms are unusable, there is no breakfast available and the ripped carpets and torn wallpaper leave you to realise that the council seems to ignore the situation.Frankly the tourist board should go and stay a night they would find it should be closed immediately

Room Tip: DO not stay at this tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdwooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

On arrival I should have left at that moment .... dust sheets, bare plaster walls, wires hanging from the ceiling then as I got out of the lift ... I was met by bare plaster walls, scruffy fire doors and ALL SMOKE ALARMS COVERED IN RED PLASTIC OR IN MY ROOM COVERED IN FOIL !!!!! thank god I got out alive ...... A dirty towel. 1 curtain not a pair, the door under the sink hanging off, the drawers had no handles and some drawers were screwed on A huge OMG!!!!!! And everything john and Lorraine say is absolutely true they have got down and outs and homeless sleeping there and yes you can get high on the smell of maruana I shall never stay there again and DO NOT RECOMMEND IT ..... it should be shut down.

Room Tip: There are NO good rooms in this hotel .......
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

The reception respectable enough, there are renovations under way, and yes - the drab and dirty hall corridors look as if they are being renovated. OH MY GOD nothing prepares you for the delights of the room you are about to occupy. - After a major inspection of the bedroom I found, Poo on one side of the nasty cheap mattress, two castors missing off bed base, thick dirt/dust across covered headboard, Every piece of wall paper in the room was coming off, Broken Drawers, ripped chairs, stained carpets, thick engrained dirt/dust in corners, filthy paintwork, mould shower curtain, poo on toilet, nasty dirty/mouldy shower overflow, a hole in the ceiling over the bed, one curtain and dingy nets. Mouldy bed linen and sweat stained pillows. The smell of cannabis was overwhelming particularly late at night/early morning. Oh I nearly forgot, I found something that looked like vomit/chicken curry spilt at the side of the dressing table just before I left.

We were sent next door to the clarion hotel for our meals................interesting, This was a really nice place with great food/excellent service - it kept me sane for three days.

I would say that the hotel is used as a temporary accommodation unit, the staff appear used to the complaints/and attempt to address the issues with the lack lustre enthusiasm you may expect from such a run down establishment,

My message is to the owners if they every bother to read these reviews, Never mind refurbishment, you need to t sort out the standard of your housekeeping/your rooms are filthy and possibly a health hazard. Cleaning materials cost very little, most people will accept that hotels can be a little weary/worn, But the basics of clean bed/sheets/room cost very little. I feel very sorry for the poor people who are obviously having to live there .......

Room Tip: The Clarion suite next door was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#12 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#75 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Hotel

Property: Norfolk Hotel
Address: 267 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NA, England (Formerly Comfort Inn Edgbaston)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 100 en suite bedrooms, the 3-star Norfolk Hotel is situated on the A456 in Edgbaston, less than 10 minutes' drive from Birmingham city centre. It offers Wi-Fi access and free parking.Located next door to the hotel, the Headingley Restaurant offers international dishes for breakfast and dinner.Tea and coffee making facilities, Freeview TVs and a private bathroom feature in each modern room.The hotel is completely non-smoking, and has a stylish reception area and a well-stocked modern bar, which serves drinks until late and has Sky Sports channels.In large, peaceful gardens, the hotel is down the road from lively Broad Street, 2.5 miles from Edgbaston Cricket Ground and 1.5 miles from Birmingham New Street Station. The NIA and the ICC-Birmingham convention centre are a 10-minute drive away, with the M5 motorway less than 4 miles away and there are regular buses to the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Birmingham
Norfolk Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing