We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HADES ON EARTH!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Norfolk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Norfolk Hotel
Ranked #114 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HADES ON EARTH!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel should not be open to the public as it needs a public health warning!!!

On arrival they just wanted us to pay for the room upfront and stressed NO SMOKING IN THE ROOMS. I told them that we do not smoke or drink. On the way to our room with each turn the carpet looked like we were descending into HADES, it was dirty and the wallpaper was mouldy and stripping also there was a very bad smell of cigarette smoke and smoke from God's tree!(work it out).

The best was yet to come when we opened the room door the linen was dirty with hair, blood, and strange marks on everything. We got out of there pretty quick got or refund and checked in another hotel. Oh did we forget it's also a knocking shop so if you were a Foley Designer this is the place to go for authentic human sounds of the night.

PLEASE HEED OUR WARNING THIS PLACE IS VERY VERY BAD FOR YOUR HEALTH!

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mymanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    43
    39
    51
    405
See reviews for
75
111
48
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is possibly the worst hotel I have ever seen.
I'm used to staying in 2 and 3 star hotels but not this bad. We checked in and checked out within half an hour. poo on the bathroom wall,the smell of smoke and food in the room,dirty shower cubicle.apart from that it was great!!
I needed to wipe my feet on the way out!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chalkyoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Arrived to find they hadn't got my booking, even though I had an email confirmation, said they couldn't do anything cause hotel was full, didn't offer to call other hotels for us, was very rude when challenged, refused to give us our deposit back sayin it was yourbooking.com that has to do that, but no call to them was made.
manager walked off half way through a conversation cause he couldnt answer us.
Very poor service and while we was tryin to sort another hotel out a group of 78 people came in and they were told exactly the same thing, they hadn't booked and no room for them!!!!!
I will never use this hotel again and I recommend others dont.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazlarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is not for those of us who like a clean safe place to stay in. The whole place stinks of spicy food, the lift will probably not work. You will hear every noise, grunt and expletive through the walls. The wall paper is rapidly joining the thredbare carpets as an indication that the whole place needs closing down. The staff are unhelpful and quite oblivious to the need for fire safety or public health. However, if you work all day on a building or demolition site you will feel completely at home. Good luck.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickybun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This place is a hovel. We were greeted by the smell of stale curry at reception and a very bored receptionist who was too busy watching the TV to speak. We were told our room was on the third floor. We headed off towards the lift but it wasn't working so made our way up a very dark, dirty, damp-smelling staircase. The wallpaper was literally falling off the walls and the carpet was in shreds. I'm not sure what had caused all of the stains on the carpet and would really rather not know! When we eventually reached our 'no smoking' room, we were overpowered by a smell of stale cigarette smoke and urine. The light in the bathroom had a foil pie dish pushed behind the bulb to act as a reflector - I guess it's a good job it didn't work! The last straw was when we discovered that the previous occupants had left us a souvenir of their visit- the thread bare towels had skid marks on them! We headed back down to reception to demand a refund and left at top speed. We didn't even get an apology! Need I say - avoid this place at all costs!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galesa374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Oh my God what a vile experience. Booked for one night with friends as we were going out to a casino. We were met by a very bored receptionist who could only keep one eye open and told us we were on the top floor but the lift was broken. We entered the stairs to an awful stink and dampness and the lights were not working. On entering the landing we found the stink worse and wallpaper peeling off the walls but could not find our room. In the end we saw a door with glue on it and wondered if it once had a number stuck to it and put the card in the door and it opened. I stepped into the room and the smell was like stale cigarettes mixed with damp.The carpet was vile. The bathroom plug had hair stuck to it and when I tried to wash it down the sink the tap came off. We checked out without staying. I was worried we may be murdered in out beds as the lock did not work. Stay away unless you want to catch a disease.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teaplz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FERNDOWN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is the worst hotel i have ever stayed the staff were not at all helpfull the the place was damp and dirty the breckfast was a joke and is need of a lot of repair the carpet was wet on the stars
and the left was not working it look like it had not worked for a long time and we were on the 3 floor

Room Tip: do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALANPINK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#12 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#75 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Hotel

Property: Norfolk Hotel
Address: 267 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NA, England (Formerly Comfort Inn Edgbaston)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 100 en suite bedrooms, the 3-star Norfolk Hotel is situated on the A456 in Edgbaston, less than 10 minutes' drive from Birmingham city centre. It offers Wi-Fi access and free parking.Located next door to the hotel, the Headingley Restaurant offers international dishes for breakfast and dinner.Tea and coffee making facilities, Freeview TVs and a private bathroom feature in each modern room.The hotel is completely non-smoking, and has a stylish reception area and a well-stocked modern bar, which serves drinks until late and has Sky Sports channels.In large, peaceful gardens, the hotel is down the road from lively Broad Street, 2.5 miles from Edgbaston Cricket Ground and 1.5 miles from Birmingham New Street Station. The NIA and the ICC-Birmingham convention centre are a 10-minute drive away, with the M5 motorway less than 4 miles away and there are regular buses to the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Birmingham
Norfolk Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing