We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Terrible experience!!!”
Review of Norfolk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Norfolk Hotel
Ranked #112 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I went to this hotel with my wife and our 4 year old daughter. We were supposed to stay 2 nights and stayed less than 30minutes before demanding a full refund, and found an alternative hotel.

This place is a joke! It looked very nice when we booked in. Clean, neat in the lobby area. We got into the lift and went to the first floor. The lift doors opened and I was shocked with what confronted me, pure filth. These corridors hadn’t seen a cleaner in years. There were electric wires hanging down, paper peeling from the walls and a strange damp musty smell. Some areas the carpet had worn through to the concrete and other areas had no carpet at all. When we got to our room and opened the door we were knocked over by the smell of stale cigarette smoke, sweat and alcohol. The inside of the room was dirty. One curtain was hanging from a string, the TV didn’t work and the beds we ripped.
When I closed the door I was faced with racist graffiti scratched into the wood dated 2009. I then noticed more graffiti on the wall and the smoke alarm was covered with a plastic bag. The whole room was covered in a film of dirt. This was no place for a family. We went down to reception to complain and this time we took the stairs, which were full of litter and had no carpet on them. We were stopped by another resident who had a saucepan in their hand advising us she was trying to catch a mouse. As you can imagine we got a full refund and left in disgust.

Room Tip: Avoid the whole place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BMD482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 585 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Myself, my husband and our 3 children had to make a late booking due to an appointment I had in Birmingham. The price seemed reasonable and the hotel was advertised as 3 star, so to me this would indicate a reasonably good hotel, not luxurious, but basic. When we arrived my first eyesore were the overfull bins in the corner of their tiny carpark surrounding the hotel grounds. I just assumed 'bin day' must have been approaching. Anyway, the foyer didn't look too bad, but on further inspection I could see through to the dining area, which looked as though it was being refurbished, so I told myself as we began our walk up the stairs (as the lift was broke) that this was the reason for the mucky carpets. To our dismay, the carpets were still bad on floor 2, and cigarette smoke wafted through the air. The walls were dirty and the place seemed very depressing and dingy. Getting to our family room was much worse and I wanted to leave. All sorts of crap up the wall, the beds looked as though they'd been taken from somebodies garden skip, and there were about 20 different switches all over the walls, with lights not working, and just a general feeling of dirt and neglect. I looked out of the window to see a flat roof top and nothing more, but the roof was littered in piles of cigarette stubs and old bottles of hotel shower gel. My husband complained, and the man on reception was nice about it and asked if we wanted to see a different room, so we did, but it was just as bad and stunk. Wardrobe doors missing, bathroom doors bashed in, crap all up the walls and on the ceiling. We were planning to go out for an evening meal, but the very thought of returning to this place genuinely depressed me. We left, and got a full refund and thankfully managed to book a family room at the local premier inn, which was a dream by comparison. I am genuinely flummoxed as to why an environmental body haven't intervened yet; perhaps there is an agenda in keeping it open for the homeless, but even the streets are better! When I finally exited, I felt so glad to be out of there. Anybody who has reviewed their experience positively just leaves me scratching my head.....are you serious?! How this hotel has been classed as a 3 star I'll never know. The premier inn was cheaper too.

Room Tip: If you're unsure, find a premier inn -basic, clean and professional and good value for your mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank melanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

It looked nice from the outside and parked the car by the bins as there was not alot of parking.We went in and was greated by a nice man he told us to put the reg number of the car in as it might get clamped if we didnt. He told us how to get to our room and said the lift was broken and had to take the stairs. As soon as we got passed the main area omg what a mess the carpets didnt fit the stairs there was big holes in the middle of them the windows were boarded up there was dirt on the walls, nosiey doors and looked liked a builders yard.We booked a faimly room and had two beds in one and had an ajoining door to the other one which had a triple bunk. We wanted to charge our phones but the only sockett that worked was the kettle one in the main room. There was stains up the walls like someone had thown tea up it. The sheets we dirty and so where the pillow cases. The windows didnt lock which was a bit bad as we had a flat roof outside the windows and anyone could of got in.When we went down for breakfast at about 830 everything that was left was dried up and didnt look nice the plates were dirty and so was the knifes and forks we had some cereals which looked the best and safest thing to eat we packed our bag and left asap. I have stayed in lots of hotels but i would NEVER EVER STAY IN THIS ONE AGAIN

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claire c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolkinnhotel, Manager at Norfolk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

I’m sorry we failed to live up to your expectations. The team and I at the hotel appreciate your feedback, though, and we are addressing the issues you have raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Booked 2 nights at £62 on lastminuite.com. parked, went to the room and was horrified. Paint peeling, room stank of urine and the wall looked like it had tea or something all over a 10ft sq patch?


only good thing was i got a full refund, which STILL hasn't gone back on my card!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darrenhawkinsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

If you enjoy sleeping on stained sheets in a broken bed then this is the hotel for you .
The lift was broken so walked up to our floor . The carpets up to the rooms are dirty and worn and windows are boarded up , there was dirt on the door handles in the corridor . When we got to our room the sheets were stained , and there were stray hairs in the bed . The bed was broken , a drawer was missing and the bathroom is like something you would expect in a backpackers hostel Asia.

Would never ever return here .

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deggers81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I booked this hotel for a birthday weekend away to Birmingham for two couples after a family member had seen it advertised and was impressed by the price. I was told this was a good area to stay by friends. It wasnt til after I had booked through "Bookings.Com" that I realised you could see reviews. OMG!!! I felt sick reading them and wanted to cancel and lose my money (I had even paid for 4 breakfasts). I was reassured by family and friends that it wouldnt be that bad and to go. I telephoned the hotel and told them of my concerns and was told I had no need to worry as I would have a nice room. From now on I make my own decisions lol. We arrived and walked past a group of 4 who were smoking to the side of the entrance... only they were not smoking shop bought cigarettes. We walked into the foyer to see a couple on the settee being more than friendly! First impressions were not looking good. The foyer is the cleanest part of the hotel. As soon as they tell you what room you are in it gets worse! There was still no lift working so we walked through corridors and up the stairs and the further you walked the different fusty,damp and smoke smells you smelt. It was more like a hostel than a hotel!!! Then we entered our room... omg the smell!!!! curtains were hanging off.smashed wood around pipes, drawers hanging off,bed sloped and sheets made it look like bed had already been used,cobwebs and mold on walls, ceiling and coving,new bathroom but the ceiling was covered in mold. It was all thoroughly disgusting. We were unable to change our room. We got a taxi into the city and I did not want to come back. We even left our bags in the car as did not want our belongings to smell. We came back late after several drinks and the hotel was no better through beer goggles!!! I was not expecting a 5 star hotel but I expected it to be clean. The next morning we went down for breakfast which is served in the foyer. It looked absolutely revolting and did not smell much better. We checked out and drove to Wetherspoons on Broad Street for breakfast. If this is the type of hotel bookings.com advertise I will most definitely not book through them again. This has to be the worst experience of my life. I can not understand why this "hotel" has not been closed down yet by environmental health. I've been completely honest with you all so if you are considering booking to stay here PLEASE RE consider.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DERBYNOTTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolkinnhotel, Manager at Norfolk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

I’m sorry we failed to live up to your expectations. The team and I at the hotel appreciate your feedback, though, and we are addressing the issues you have raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I have never in my life seen anywhere so bad our whole room was dirty the place should be closed down I'm not that fussy and didn't expect 5 star but I did expect a clean room not one that had hair all over the floor a dirty microwave mouldy curtains stains on the bedding windows that didn't shut a phone that didn't work very smelly room missing draws and handles lights that didn't work holes in the Walls bed bugs can't name one good thing Just don't stay there x

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolkinnhotel, Manager at Norfolk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

I’m sorry we failed to live up to your expectations. The team and I at the hotel appreciate your feedback, though, and we are addressing the issues you have raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
#107 of 118 in Birmingham
516 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#77 of 118 in Birmingham
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
470 reviews
The Beeches
#87 of 118 in Birmingham
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Hotel

Address: 267 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NA, England (Formerly Comfort Inn Edgbaston)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $41 - $1,053 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 100 en suite bedrooms, the 3-star Norfolk Hotel is situated on the A456 in Edgbaston, less than 10 minutes' drive from Birmingham city centre. It offers Wi-Fi access and free parking.Located next door to the hotel, the Headingley Restaurant offers international dishes for breakfast and dinner.Tea and coffee making facilities, Freeview TVs and a private bathroom feature in each modern room.The hotel is completely non-smoking, and has a stylish reception area and a well-stocked modern bar, which serves drinks until late and has Sky Sports channels.In large, peaceful gardens, the hotel is down the road from lively Broad Street, 2.5 miles from Edgbaston Cricket Ground and 1.5 miles from Birmingham New Street Station. The NIA and the ICC-Birmingham convention centre are a 10-minute drive away, with the M5 motorway less than 4 miles away and there are regular buses to the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Birmingham
Norfolk Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing