We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Ranked #101 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Shropshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ok for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The room was very small and had twin beds although booked a double bed. Didn't matter though.
Cheapest hotel on hagley road, cost £36 a night no breakfast but could of paid for it.
Staff on reception friendly no real complaints , although I did ask for a glass so I could have water in the night, this request was refused from the boss I believe .. Which I thought was mean .. Still as I say good for the money.

Room Tip: Make sure you make it clear if you want a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COLEEN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    99
    89
    77
    104
See reviews for
79
114
34
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked over the internet and didn't know what to expect.

The staff were helpful and friendly, the room comfortable and spacious and the breakfast was a veritable feast. Plenty of choice and the food was well cooked and well presented.

We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 448 is self contained and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great little gem. We had a very reasonable rook 39 pounds a night. Found the hotel on laterooms.com. Our room was small but very well equipped. Beds were really comfortable and the bathroom newly renovated very tastefully. What more could you ask for? Brum is a short bus ride away with a bus stop directly opposite. For the money we were very skeptical but i would stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank joydene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

For the price we paid I can find few complaints, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the rooms while a little on the small side were spotless. There;s a small bar attached to the hotel where we had a couple of drinks before going out, contrary to some reviews I'd read online this closed at 11pm instead of staying open late.

Very good value all 'round.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank recklessro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I've booked 2 nights at this hotel and besides the poor furniture quality the Internet connection was unbelivable slow or mot working at all.
More they got electricity problems for about à hole day. You are not allowed to bring Amy fois and drinks, but the restaurant is open only between 5 - 11 pm. Another issue is that if you pass the check-out hour, you will be charged Sory 20 pounds per hour.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ionut P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

After reading a lot of reviews I was sceptical but needed something cheep and easy to find.
With chain hotels you can pretty much guarantee what your going to find, independent is more trial and error and after watching the hotel inspector I know theres more then enough duds out there.
I found no issue with staff, they were all nice and helpful when asked. The room was clean and with the exception of the fan in the bathroom, it was spotless.
it was a small room but perfect when your not spending long in the room. There were small signs of wear and tear that let it down a little, but you would find more in your own home if you looked. I would say that with a function room right across a small courtyard you would expect a lot of noise on a weekend. We stayed with no function on and with the exception of our room being right my the cleaning closet the nose level was quiet, however did have a early morning wakeup Thanks to the cleaning cupboard. The only thing that caused noise/irritation was the doors, evrything door seemed to be tight and took strenth to open and close.
All in all far to many reviews have been overly negative. You get what you pay for and while it's no premier inn, it's a perfectly acceptable hotel for its price and locations and it's free parking. Clean, tidy and fit for purpose. I would go back again and more than likely will.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed one night and I found the staff very rude and unhelpful. The Manager was very rude and up himself. The room was dirty and the sheet had blood on it, vile. I found the décor to be dated and it had a type of odour, like BO, or stale

Room Tip: Whatever you do don't go to this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolm b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
#105 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#75 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgbaston Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgbaston Palace Hotel

Property: Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Address: 198-200 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgbaston Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgbaston Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgbaston Palace Birmingham
Hotel Edgbaston Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing