We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - but let down by poor staff and management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Ranked #37 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel - but let down by poor staff and management”
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Booked the Burlington for a one-night getaway with the Wife. Paid extra for the Executive Double room - in theory providing more spacious accommodation and decor. The decor and bathroom were nice - however spacious it was not. I would say that it was not much bigger than the standard room.
The big let down was the morning - and the breakfast chaos. The hotel was obviously busy, but unfortunately the dining facilities couldn't cope with the people that were turning up. The staff unfortunaly were not very helpful at all - bordering on rude in truth as they struggled to cope. We, like other complained to the duty manager as having waited for half an hour we were still no closer to the fry-up ! We ended up having to leave in the end. The hotel wouldn't compensate us either as we had booked through Superbreaks ! The duty manager that was on was apologetic - but useless really. Still waiting for a call from the manager now, even though they took our number yesterday.

All in all - we still had a nice break - shame the hotel let itself down really..

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mevz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    991
    508
    222
    133
See reviews for
218
1,258
175
873
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

excellent little hotel clean, ideal location, staff brilliant, food good, went on half price winter break very very good value for money, will stay again. you do however need to ask for a newly refurbed room on the quiet side of the hotel still very noisy though.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

The Macdonald Burlington Hotel in Birmingham
We stayed her just for a get away from home and we were so impressed from the friendly welcome to the lovely comfortable room the whole experience was wonderful.
If you fancy a City break why not try the Burlington you really will enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spanfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2010

This the the second time I have stayed at this hotel. It was a combined business meeting/uni/shopping trip. We had one of the newly refurbished rooms which was really comfortable with all mod cons. The hotel has an air of quality and calm from the moment you step in to the reception. All staff are really friendly and helpful and the breakfast is one of the best I have had in a hotel of this nature. I really like the fact that the hot food is cooked to order rather than "buffet style" and the restaurant although busy has an air of tranquility. Location is perfect for shopping/station/other parts of the City. I'm returning for another night in April - hope I get the same experience - I'm confident I will.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieWoosie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

The best thing about this hotel is the staff. The reception staff are great - Celia was really nice. The guy in charge at breakfast was also really friendly.
We had room 232 which was nice, refurbished and overlooked New St. Everything was nice and clean, the only fault I could find was the shower head was the type you have to hold in your hand.
The breakfast is lovely and served in a grand room overlooking New Street.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank coolwater1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

The staff were kind, enthusiastic and willing to help. Our room was clean, spacious and luxurious. The food was excellent and our stay was just great . My dughter is 12 and she found the hotel and the staff magical.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstinEHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerphilly
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2010

receptionist very helpful. room one of the largest and nicesed weve ever stayed in. spotless bathroom with bath and seperate shower. large bed, every thing in the room you could possibly need. we will definetly stay there again. also very quiet. hotel in centre close to everything. v romantic. birmingham changed so much. we be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nashy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,027 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
871 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#31 of 117 in Birmingham
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Property: Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Address: Burlington Arcade, Birmingham B2 4JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Burlington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Burlington Birmingham
Hotel Macdonald Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing