We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Ranked #41 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Wow, we have just had a lovely weekend in Birmingham to visit friends and go to the German markets. The hotel is absolutely lovely, centrally located fab rooms especially bathroom! Friendly staff welcoming.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,583 - 2,589 of 3,055 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just had 2 wonderful nights in room 501 very clean, comfortable and after reading all the other reviews my stay was absolutely fantastic for pre Christmas weekend, close to all the lovely things that Birmingham has to offer.

The staff were very friendly and all well trained in their roles. Will definitely stay here again with no hesitation my top choice for this time of year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Thanks to the receptionist Richard we had a VERY enjoyable stay, he made us feel very welcome as well as the other receptionists. The hotel was very pleasant and clean, as well as the location. The location is amazing as it is right in the heart of Birmingham where the Bull-Ring is. The noise is non-existant as well.

From the Carr's.

Room Tip: All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HomeRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

It's an excellent location in the city centre, and the decor is old-fashioned but good. The rooms are not just your standard replicated style and are of decent size. I was also made very welcome by Anna in the Restaurant.

Unfortunately there were a lot of little things that detracted from a good experience. The room wasn't prepared properly and several things, like coffee/menus, were missing so I had to ask for them. It also does not have pay per view movies, despite advertising that it does.

Although they took my card to set up a charging account they forgot to set it up so I had to explain this to staff when I first tried to charge something to my room. What was worse was when I stored my luggage with them for a few hours when I left. Despite warning them that there were fragile items in there and being assured they would be looked after, they came back damaged and broken which I was extremely annoyed by.

There are other good hotels in Birmingham and I would go back to them instead.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huntingdon1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We only wanted a quiet corner from the hustle and bustle of the shops and the German Market in the City Centre for a English cream Tea,
What a lovely surprise, nice relaxing atmosphere, comfy sofa's and chairs, Staff so friendly and charming. We did find only one coffee table free, I understand why, everybody who would like a little bit of yesterday service, visits.
Will certainly return when next in Birmingham .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel which is situated in the City Center.
Hotel was nice, very near New Street Station. Within walking distance of the Bull Ring Shopping Center and Markets. The German Christmas Market was very big with lots of shops. It is one of the largest Christmas markets in Europe.

Room Tip: This is a very good hotel iof you want to go shopping or visit the Christmas Market. Walking distan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sakodanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Arrived for business and leisure trip. Was pleasantly surprised by friendly staff , particularly Richard and was unexpectedly upgraded . Rooms are old-fashioned but quaint and bathroom was lovely with a fantastic shower . Bed was comfy if a little small. Breakfast was delicious. Didn't eat a meal at hotel but staff were very helpful with suggesting tasty restaurants . Location is perfect for station and shopping . Would definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dozadavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
996 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,555 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
2,442 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#31 of 118 in Birmingham
1,650 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Address: Burlington Arcade, Birmingham B2 4JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $96 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Burlington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Macdonald Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Burlington Birmingham
Hotel Macdonald Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing