We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, Good Food”
Review of Great Stone Inn

Great Stone Inn
Ranked #639 of 2,206 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $4 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Value for money, Good Food”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I use to visit this old little pub every Friday after work. Working around the corner, the beer was always good and always good banter on a Friday evening. It does get a bit busy on an evening, with tradesmen and professionals.

My Fiancee and myself had a lovely meal Tuesday gone. The price was fantastic and the food was very good. If you are on a budget they do a day time special for two mains for £7 and Puddings at 2 for 1 with mains. That is fantastic value. We didn't have the two meals for £7 as I wanted a bigger meal, I know greedy.

But a lovely pub, with history and a great place to visit. The king among all pubs in Northfield

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cavus, Manager at Great Stone Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thankyou for your kind review, I am pleased you enjoyed your time at the stone, I will pass your comments on to all the staff, and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best value for money in Northfield”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

With a brilliant atmosphere, family focus, nice views and fantastic value, what more can I say? Had a smashing meal for 2 with a pint each for under a tenner.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Navyhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cavus, Manager at Great Stone Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are pleased you had a good time at the stone and found our meals good value, Thankyou for your good review, and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great old character pub”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

As a regular visiter to the pub I enjoy the friendly atmosphere.
Great range of beer including some wonderful Real Ales.
Food is available all day and is very reasonably priced.
A proper old pub with great history and charm .
well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Micky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cavus, Manager at Great Stone Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thankyou for your good review of the Great Stone, We are pleased you enjoy your time at the stone and enjoy our meals and drinks, I will pass your comments on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiara, Solomon Islands
Level Contributor
203 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“Where you get to drink beer by the pint, the pound and the stone.”
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Think of Birmingham and the last thing you would think of is The Great Stone Inn in "Old" Northfield. You are dining in a 16th century inn across the road from a Norman and early medieval church and next door to the 17th century village pound where stray animals were kept until their owners paid a fine to have their creatures returned to them. Inside the pound, and records show that there has been a pound in Northfield since 1399, is the oldest thing of all - the great stone, from which the inn takes its name, a huge boulder which had been deposited in Northfield after the ice age, having travelled all the way from Wales. For a long time it stood at the corner of the inn but was moved to the pound in the 1950's as it was a hazard to pedestrians. So, in a very small area, several interesting sites to see. My cousin & I had lunch at the inn. As pub food goes it was pretty acceptable. He had a good sized and enjoyable all-day breakfast and I had some nicely cooked cod with excellent crispy batter and fine chips and mushy peas. There was an excellent range of beers to choose from to drink with it. We read various flyers in the pub which highlighted a whole range of meals promotions which looked interesting and looked like good value. Our meals together came to about £10 for the two of us plus the cost of the drinks. It seemed like very good value to sit in a relaxed atmosphere in a very old inn eating a meal as good as you can expect to have at that price. The place was bright and clean having been refurbished last year and the toilets decent. Service was satisfactory. The rest of the diners looked like they were locals making the most of the good value prices to have a meal out. There is a courtyard where you can dine outside if you wish. There is a dedicated parking area shared with the church hall across the narrow road outside. "Old" Northfield is well worth a visit particularly on the last Saturday of the month when St. Laurence Church is open for visitors and that would be an ideal opportunity to combine sight-seeing of a unique and largely unknown tourist attraction in south Birmingham with a reasonable lunch in an atmospheric old inn. As the locals say, it's the pub where you not only drink beer by the pint but also by the pound and the stone.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank white_knight_and_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Stone Inn also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Sheldon, Birmingham
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Great Stone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing